NCT04553770ClinicalTrials.gov
Trastuzumab Deruxtecan Alone or in Combination With Anastrozole for the Treatment of Early Stage HER2 Low, Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
A Phase II, Multicenter, Open-Label Trial to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of Trastuzumab Deruxtecan (DS-8201a) With or Without Anastrozole for HER2 Low Hormone Receptor Positive (HR+) Breast Cancer in the Neoadjuvant Setting
Kurz gefasst
This phase II trial investigates how well trastuzumab deruxtecan works alone or in combination with anastrozole in treating patients with HER2 low, hormone receptor positive breast cancer. Trastuzumab deruxtecan is a monoclonal antibody, called trastuzumab, linked to a chemotherapy drug…
Phase 288 Teilnehmende gesucht9 Studienzentren1 Land
Kategorien
In 1 Register registriert
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT04553770Diesen Eintrag bei ClinicalTrials.gov öffnenSynchronisiert vor 2 Monaten
Eine Studie kann in mehreren Registern registriert sein. Wir zeigen sie einmal und verlinken jeden Eintrag, den wir haben.
Die Studieninformationen werden so angezeigt, wie sie vom Register veröffentlicht wurden, in ihrer Originalsprache.
Interesse an dieser Studie?
Anmelden oder ein Konto erstellen um Ihr Interesse zu bekunden und diese Studie zu verfolgen.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2020-09-17; recorded start 2020-10-09
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 209 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 7 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: other.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 2 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre5/8
Multi-centre: 9 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A small study: 88 participants (target), run at 9 sites.
How this score is built
- Enrolment18/40
88 participants (target)
- Site count11/25
9 sites
- Country count0/15
Single country
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 76 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center has led 210 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Zusammenfassung
This phase II trial investigates how well trastuzumab deruxtecan works alone or in combination with anastrozole in treating patients with HER2 low, hormone receptor positive breast cancer. Trastuzumab deruxtecan is a monoclonal antibody, called trastuzumab, linked to a chemotherapy drug called deruxtecan. Trastuzumab attaches to HER2 expressed at low levels on cancer cells in a targeted way and delivers deruxtecan to kill them. Anastrozole works by decreasing estrogen production and suppressing the growth of tumors that need estrogen to grow. This study is evaluating how effective trastuzumab deruxtecan is at treating hormone receptor positive cancer cells that have low levels of HER2 expressed on them when given alone or in combination with anastrozole.
Erkrankungen
- Early-stage Breast Cancer
- Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Carcinoma
- Stage II Breast Cancer
- Stage IIA Breast Cancer
- Stage IIB Breast Cancer
- Stage III Breast Cancer
- Invasive Breast Cancer
Eignung
| Geschlecht | Alle |
|---|---|
| Alter | 18 Years – Kein Höchstalter |
| Gesunde Freiwillige | Nein |
Eignung im Wortlaut des Registers
Eignung in einfachen Aussagen
Die Kriterien dieses Eintrags wurden noch nicht in einzelne Aussagen aufgeschlüsselt. Der Registertext oben ist vollständig und ist die maßgebliche Fassung.
Studiendesign
| Studientyp | Interventionell |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 2 |
| Zuteilung | Randomisiert |
| Interventionsmodell | PARALLEL |
| Primäres Ziel | TREATMENT |
| Verblindung | NONE (0) |
| Teilnahme | 88 Teilnehmende gesucht |
Sponsor und Mitwirkende
- Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center Sponsor
- Translational Research in Oncology Mitwirkende
- Daiichi Sankyo Co., Ltd. Mitwirkende
Studienarme und Interventionen
- Arm A (trastuzumab deruxtecan)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Patients receive trastuzumab deruxtecan IV over 90 minutes on cycle 1 day 1 and 30 minutes on day 1 of each subsequent cycle. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then undergo surgery.
- Arm B (trastuzumab deruxtecan, anastrozole)EXPERIMENTAL
Patients receive trastuzumab deruxtecan IV over 90 minutes on cycle 1 day 1 and 30 minutes on day 1 of each subsequent cycle and anastrozole PO QD on days 1-21. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then undergo surgery.
Interventionen
- Arzneimittel Anastrozole
Given PO
- Eingriff Therapeutic Conventional Surgery
Undergo surgery
- Biologikum Trastuzumab Deruxtecan
Given IV
Endpunkte
Primärer Endpunkt
Pathologic complete response (pCR) rate
pCR is defined as the absence of invasive cancer in the breast and sampled regional lymph nodes. pCR will be calculated along with the corresponding exact 95% Clopper-Pearson confidence interval (CI).
Zeitrahmen Baseline to surgery
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Biomarker analyses
Gene expression and biomarker assay results are exploratory and will be summarized (e.g. mean change in from baseline to during treatment and to prior to surgery) and correlated with clinical outcomes as appropriate.
Zeitrahmen Baseline to surgery
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Incidence of adverse events
Overall exposure to study drug, the numbers of participants completing each cycle, and the dose intensity will be summarized using descriptive statistics. The number of participants with any dose adjustment will be presented for entire treatment period as well as for each cycle. The number of participants with dose reductions, dose delays, or dose omissions will also be summarized, as will the reasons for dose adjustments. Adverse events and serious adverse events will be reported using a Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0 terminology and severity.
Zeitrahmen Starting cycle 1 day 1 (each cycle is 21 days), through study completion, an average of 6 months.
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Molecular changes in tumor biomarkers including Ki67 expression
Percent change in Ki67 expression from baseline to the core biopsy obtained between cycle 1 day 17 and cycle 1 day 21, and surgery.
Zeitrahmen Baseline to surgery
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Clinical objective response
Clinical objective response rate will be estimated and 95% exact Clopper-Pearson CIs will be provided.
Zeitrahmen Baseline to surgery
Sonstiger Endpunkt
Quality of life assessment: questionnaire
Will assess quality of life by evaluating toxicity burden using a quality of life/patient reported outcome questionnaire- the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality-of-Life Questionnaire-Core 30 instrument.
Zeitrahmen Baseline, day 1 of each cycle (each cycle is 21 days) , at study completion, an average of 6 months.
Daten
| Startdatum | 9. Oktober 2020 (tatsächlich) |
|---|---|
| Primärer Abschluss | 31. Dezember 2026 (geschätzt) |
| Abschluss | 31. Dezember 2026 (geschätzt) |
| Erstveröffentlichung | 17. September 2020 (tatsächlich) |
| Zuletzt aktualisiert | 10. November 2025 |
| Ergebnisse veröffentlicht | Im Registereintrag nicht angegeben |
| Status zuletzt bestätigt | November 2025 |
Tatsächlich bedeutet, dass das Ereignis eingetreten ist. Geschätzt bedeutet, dass der Sponsor es erwartet. Die beiden bedeuten Unterschiedliches.
Standorte
7 Studienzentren rekrutieren
United States
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Massachusetts General Hospital | Boston | Massachusetts | Rekrutiert |
| Ft. Wayne Medical Oncology and Hematology, Inc. | Fort Wayne | Indiana | Zurückgezogen |
| St. Joseph Heritage Healthcare | Fullerton | California | Rekrutiert |
| Cancer Blood and Specialty Clinic | Los Alamitos | California | Rekrutiert |
| UCLA / Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center | Los Angeles | California | Rekrutiert |
| Orlando Health, Inc. d/b/a Orlando Health UF Health Center | Orlando | Florida | Zurückgezogen |
| Torrance Memorial Physician Network / Cancer Care | Torrance | California | Rekrutiert |
| PIH Health | Whittier | California | Rekrutiert |
| Cancer Center of Kansas | Wichita | Kansas | Rekrutiert |
Studiendokumente
In diesem Registereintrag sind keine Dokumente verlinkt.
Änderungen im Zeitverlauf
Seit wir diesen Eintrag erstmals eingelesen haben, wurden keine Änderungen erfasst.
Eine Änderung wird jedes Mal erfasst, wenn der Sponsor den Registereintrag aktualisiert. Status, Daten, Teilnahme und Studienzentren erscheinen hier, sobald sie sich ändern.