Zum Hauptinhalt springen
xMedica

NCT06060041ClinicalTrials.gov

IC-8 Apthera IOL New Enrollment Post Approval Study

RekrutiertNimmt laut Registereintrag derzeit Teilnehmende auf.
Diese Studie kontaktieren

Kurz gefasst

The purpose of this study is to verify the post-market safety of the IC-8 Apthera IOL after the treatment of posterior capsular opacification (PCO), an expected complication related to IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation.

Beobachtend435 Teilnehmende gesucht14 Studienzentren1 Land

Kategorien

In 1 Register registriert

Eine Studie kann in mehreren Registern registriert sein. Wir zeigen sie einmal und verlinken jeden Eintrag, den wir haben.

Die Studieninformationen werden so angezeigt, wie sie vom Register veröffentlicht wurden, in ihrer Originalsprache.

Interesse an dieser Studie?

Anmelden oder ein Konto erstellen um Ihr Interesse zu bekunden und diese Studie zu verfolgen.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Not stated: Registered after enrolment began (about 21 days after the recorded start)First posted 2023-09-29; recorded start 2023-09-08
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Not stated: Whether participants are randomly assigned is not stated in the registry recordNo allocation method is recorded
  • Not stated: A comparison group is not stated in the registry recordThe record describes a single study arm
  • Not stated: Whether the study is blinded is not stated in the registry recordNo masking information is recorded
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 26 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Bausch & Lomb Incorporated)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 3 conditions.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourEXPLORATORY

An exploratory-stage design for a study of this type, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation0/20

    Allocation not stated in the record

  • Blinding0/20

    Masking not stated in the record

  • Control arm0/15

    No comparator arm stated in the record

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 14 sites

  • Data monitoring committee0/7

    No data monitoring committee stated

  • Prospective registration3/5

    Registered within 30 days of the study start

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleMEDIUM

A medium-sized study: 435 participants (target), run at 14 sites.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment26/40

    435 participants (target)

  • Site count14/25

    14 sites

  • Country count0/15

    Single country

  • Planned duration9/10

    Planned over about 49 months

  • Sponsor scale5/10

    Bausch & Lomb Incorporated has led 26 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Zusammenfassung

The purpose of this study is to verify the post-market safety of the IC-8 Apthera IOL after the treatment of posterior capsular opacification (PCO), an expected complication related to IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation.

Prospective, multi-center, single-group, non-randomized new enrollment post approval study to assess the post-market safety of the IC-8 Apthera IOL after Nd:YAG laser capsulotomy following sufficient surgeon training of the sponsor-recommended standardized Nd:YAG laser capsulotomy technique. All subjects will undergo approximately 6 study visits and will be followed 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation. There is one study group: subjects previously implanted with the IC-8 Apthera IOL and who have developed posterior capsular opacification (PCO) which requires treatment with Nd:YAG laser capsulotomy.

Erkrankungen

  • Presbyopia
  • Posterior Capsule Opacification
  • Cataract

Eignung

Eignung
GeschlechtAlle
Alter22 YearsKein Höchstalter
Gesunde FreiwilligeNein
StichprobenverfahrenNON_PROBABILITY_SAMPLE

Studienpopulation

Potential study subjects will be recruited from patients previously implanted with the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) and who have developed posterior capsular opacification in the IC-8 Apthera IOL eye which requires treatment with Nd:YAG laser capsulotomy

Eignung im Wortlaut des Registers

Inclusion Criteria: * 22 years of age or older, any race and any gender; * Posterior capsule opacification (PCO) requiring treatment in the IC-8 Apthera IOL eye * Able to comprehend and have signed a statement of informed consent; * Availability, willingness, ability and sufficient cognitive awareness to comply with examination procedures and study visits; * Clear intraocular media in both eyes; * Preoperative corneal astigmatism ≤1.5 D in the IC-8 Apthera IOL eye prior to IC-8 Apthera implantation; * Prior IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation in one eye and a monofocal/monofocal toric IOL in the other eye in accordance with the directions for use (DFU) for each IOL. Exclusion Criteria: * Pharmacologically dilated pupil size less than 7.0 mm in the IC-8 Apthera IOL eye; * Irregular astigmatism in either eye; * History of retinal disease; * Active or recurrent anterior segment pathology; * Presence of ocular abnormalities; * Diagnosis of dry eye in which patients are unable to maintain eye comfort or adequate vision even with dry eye treatment; * Previous corneal or intraocular surgery, except cataract surgery; * History of ocular trauma or ocular conditions expected to require retinal laser treatment or other surgical intervention; * Acute, chronic or uncontrolled systemic disease that would, in the opinion of the investigator, confound the outcomes of the study; * Patient is pregnant, plans to become pregnant, is lactating or has another condition associated with hormonal fluctuation that could lead to refractive changes and dry eye; * Concurrent participation or participation in any clinical trial up to 30 days prior to the first visit in the study. * Subjects who plan to be traveling, relocating or otherwise unavailable to attend any of the visits

Eignung in einfachen Aussagen

Die Kriterien dieses Eintrags wurden noch nicht in einzelne Aussagen aufgeschlüsselt. Der Registertext oben ist vollständig und ist die maßgebliche Fassung.

Studiendesign

Studiendesign
StudientypBeobachtend
PhaseIm Registereintrag nicht angegeben
ZuteilungIm Registereintrag nicht angegeben
InterventionsmodellIm Registereintrag nicht angegeben
Primäres ZielIm Registereintrag nicht angegeben
VerblindungIm Registereintrag nicht angegeben
Teilnahme435 Teilnehmende gesucht

Sponsor und Mitwirkende

  • Bausch & Lomb Incorporated Sponsor

Studienarme und Interventionen

  • IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) Group

    Patients previously implanted with the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) and who have developed posterior capsular opacification (PCO) which requires treatment with Nd:YAG laser capsulotomy.

Endpunkte

  1. Primärer Endpunkt

    Rate of any additional Nd:YAG laser treatments beyond the initial Nd:YAG laser treatment

    Rates of additional Nd:YAG laser treatments in the eye implanted with the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) beyond the initial Nd:YAG laser treatment will be assessed through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL Implantation

  2. Primärer Endpunkt

    Nd:YAG laser treatment outcome and/or complications

    Nd:YAG laser treatment outcomes and/or complications in the eye implanted with the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) will be assessed through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation.

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL Implantation

  3. Primärer Endpunkt

    IOL related assessments

    The appearance of the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) will be assessed through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

  4. Primärer Endpunkt

    Rates of Secondary Surgical Interventions (SSIs)

    Rates of secondary surgical interventions in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes will be assessed through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

  5. Primärer Endpunkt

    Rates of other serious adverse events

    Rates of other serious adverse events in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and fellow eyes will be evaluated through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

  6. Primärer Endpunkt

    Rates of ocular adverse events

    Rates of ocular adverse events in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and fellow eyes will be evaluated through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

  7. Primärer Endpunkt

    Rates of subjective visual disturbances per the Quality of Vision (QoV) Questionnaire

    Subjective responses to the QoV Questionnaire that assess frequency of visual disturbances (from 'never' to 'very often'), severity of those disturbances (from 'not at all' to 'severe') and bothersomeness of those disturbances (from 'not at all' to 'very') in both the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes.

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

  8. Primärer Endpunkt

    Rates of subjective visual disturbances per the Small Aperture Patient Questionnaire (SAPQ)

    Subjective responses to the Small Aperture Patient Questionnaire (SAPQ) that assess frequency of visual disturbances (from 'never' to 'very often'), severity of those disturbances (from 'not at all' to 'severe') and bothersomeness of those disturbances (from 'not at all' to 'very') in both the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes.

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

  9. Sonstiger Endpunkt

    Nd:YAG laser technique details and/or settings

    Nd:YAG laser technique and/or settings during treatment in an IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eye will be evaluated

    Zeitrahmen PCO treatment visit (during the Nd:YAG laser procedure)

  10. Sonstiger Endpunkt

    Investigator opinion of ease of YAG procedure

    Difficulty performing Nd:YAG laser treatment in an IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eye will be evaluated per scale of difficulty chosen by investigator from 'No difficulty' to 'Great difficulty'

    Zeitrahmen PCO treatment visit (during the Nd:YAG laser procedure)

  11. Sonstiger Endpunkt

    Mean monocular and binocular uncorrected distance visual acuity (UCDVA), uncorrected intermediate visual acuity (UCIVA) and uncorrected near visual acuity (UCNVA)

    Mean monocular and binocular uncorrected distance visual acuity (UCDVA), uncorrected intermediate visual acuity (UCIVA) and uncorrected near visual acuity (UCNVA) will be evaluated in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes (same units of measure for all measurements)

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

  12. Sonstiger Endpunkt

    Mean monocular and binocular distance corrected distance visual acuity (DCDVA), distance corrected intermediate visual acuity (DCIVA) and distance corrected near visual acuity (DCNVA)

    Mean monocular and binocular distance corrected distance visual acuity (DCDVA), distance corrected intermediate visual acuity (DCIVA) and distance corrected near visual acuity (DCNVA) will be evaluated in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes (same units of measure for all measurements)

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

  13. Sonstiger Endpunkt

    Rates of device deficiencies

    Rates of device deficiencies in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes will be evaluated

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

  14. Sonstiger Endpunkt

    Rates of loss of 10 or more Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) letters of best corrected distance visual acuity (BCDVA)

    The rates of each event of loss of 10 or more Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) letters of best corrected distance visual acuity (BCDVA) between a study visit and a later study visit, the reason for the visual acuity loss, and the treatment/outcome of these instances will be assessed through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) implantation

    Zeitrahmen 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation

Daten

Daten
Startdatum8. September 2023 (tatsächlich)
Primärer Abschluss30. September 2027 (geschätzt)
Abschluss30. September 2027 (geschätzt)
Erstveröffentlichung29. September 2023 (tatsächlich)
Zuletzt aktualisiert12. Januar 2026
Ergebnisse veröffentlichtIm Registereintrag nicht angegeben
Status zuletzt bestätigtJanuar 2026

Tatsächlich bedeutet, dass das Ereignis eingetreten ist. Geschätzt bedeutet, dass der Sponsor es erwartet. Die beiden bedeuten Unterschiedliches.

Standorte

14 Studienzentren rekrutieren

United States

United States
EinrichtungStadtBundesland oder RegionStatus
Ophthalmic Partners, PCBala-CynwydPennsylvaniaRekrutiert
Oakland EyeBirminghamMichiganRekrutiert
Utah Eye CentersBountifulUtahRekrutiert
Argus Research CenterCape CoralFloridaRekrutiert
Trinity Research Group, LLCDothanAlabamaRekrutiert
Eye Associates of New JerseyDoverNew JerseyRekrutiert
Price Vision GroupIndianapolisIndianaRekrutiert
Feinerman Vision CenterNewport BeachCaliforniaRekrutiert
Vance Thompson Vision - OmahaOmahaNebraskaRekrutiert
Virdi Eye Clinic and Laser Vision CenterRock IslandIllinoisRekrutiert
Northern New Jersey Eye InstituteSouth OrangeNew JerseyRekrutiert
Berkeley Eye CenterSugar LandTexasRekrutiert
Stephenson Eye AssociatesVeniceFloridaRekrutiert
Grene Vision GroupWichitaKansasRekrutiert

Studiendokumente

In diesem Registereintrag sind keine Dokumente verlinkt.

Änderungen im Zeitverlauf

Seit wir diesen Eintrag erstmals eingelesen haben, wurden keine Änderungen erfasst.

Eine Änderung wird jedes Mal erfasst, wenn der Sponsor den Registereintrag aktualisiert. Status, Daten, Teilnahme und Studienzentren erscheinen hier, sobald sie sich ändern.