Zum Hauptinhalt springen
xMedica

NCT06847321ClinicalTrials.gov

Study of LHP588 in Subjects With P. Gingivalis-Positive Alzheimer's Disease

A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study of LHP588 in Subjects With P. Gingivalis-Positive Alzheimer's Disease

RekrutiertNimmt laut Registereintrag derzeit Teilnehmende auf.
Diese Studie kontaktieren

Kurz gefasst

This study is to test LHP588 in persons who have mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease (AD) who have shown progressive mental decline in the last year and who have P. gingivalis (Pg) infection. P. gingivalis infection has been linked to…

Phase 2300 Teilnehmende gesucht38 Studienzentren1 Land

Kategorien

In 1 Register registriert

Eine Studie kann in mehreren Registern registriert sein. Wir zeigen sie einmal und verlinken jeden Eintrag, den wir haben.

Die Studieninformationen werden so angezeigt, wie sie vom Register veröffentlicht wurden, in ihrer Originalsprache.

Interesse an dieser Studie?

Anmelden oder ein Konto erstellen um Ihr Interesse zu bekunden und diese Studie zu verfolgen.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Not stated: Registered after enrolment began (about 9 days after the recorded start)First posted 2025-02-26; recorded start 2025-02-17
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Not stated: No other studies from this sponsor are in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Lighthouse Pharmaceuticals, Inc.)
  • Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 2 conditions.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourDEFINITIVE

A definitive-grade design for a phase 2 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding20/20

    Quadruple-blind

  • Control arm13/15

    Placebo / sham control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 39 sites

  • Data monitoring committee7/7

    A data monitoring committee is in place

  • Prospective registration3/5

    Registered within 30 days of the study start

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleMEDIUM

A medium-sized study: 300 participants (target), run at 38 sites.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment24/40

    300 participants (target)

  • Site count19/25

    39 sites

  • Country count0/15

    Single country

  • Planned duration9/10

    Planned over about 50 months

  • Sponsor scale0/10

    Lighthouse Pharmaceuticals, Inc. has led 1 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Zusammenfassung

This study is to test LHP588 in persons who have mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease (AD) who have shown progressive mental decline in the last year and who have P. gingivalis (Pg) infection. P. gingivalis infection has been linked to the development of dementia. LHP588 is designed to target the P. gingivalis bacterium, to potentially help to halt or slow down the progression of AD and its symptoms. A saliva test will be done to determine P. gingivalis infection. Tests for AD include standard questionnaires such as MMSE and a blood test for pTau217. Treatment will be blinded, meaning the participant and the doctor will not know if the participant is receiving LHP588 or placebo. The total time for participation in the study may be up to 64 weeks. This includes a screening period (to ensure the participant is suitable for the study and the study is suitable for the participant) of up to 12 weeks, a treatment period of up to 48 weeks, and a safety follow-up period of 4 weeks after the last dose of the study drug to check the participant's overall health. Treatment is a once-a-day capsule. Caregiver participation is required. The study requires the participant to visit the study center (with the caregiver) at least 20 times within 64 weeks (this does not include any unplanned visits that may be recommended by the study doctor). In addition, the study doctor or clinic staff will contact the participant via phone at least 1 time.

This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study that will assess the efficacy and safety of LHP588 in participants with evidence of P. gingivalis \[Pg\] infection and Alzheimer's Disease (AD) according to the National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer's Association (NIA-AA) research criteria. Enrolled participants must also have evidence of P. gingivalis infection as determined by polymerase chain reaction (PCR) of saliva oral rinse and clinical evidence of progressive cognitive decline in the last year. The participant should not have other conditions or brain imaging abnormalities that can explain the symptoms of dementia based on prior imaging and the screening magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). Due to the nature of AD, participants must identify a primary caregiver prior to enrollment in the study who will assist the participant with study participation and attend clinic visits. The study will consist of the following periods: 1) screening period of up to 12 weeks, 2) double-blind treatment period of 48 weeks (including a 2 week up-titration for the high dose arm), and 3) safety follow-up period of 4 weeks. The screening period will include at least two office visits during which eligibility will be verified. The first screening visit assessments will be limited to include the Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE), saliva sample collection to assess Pg positivity, and pTau217 sample collection. The second screening visit will only be scheduled for participants with positive results of Pg infection and pTau217 test, and the rest of the screening procedures will be performed. Screening MRI will be performed as the last eligibility verification assessment. Participants who meet all eligibility criteria will be randomized in a 1:1:1 fashion to receive LHP588 25 mg, LHP588 50 mg, or placebo, orally, once daily (QD) in a fasted state (at least one hour before or two hours after a meal) for 48 weeks. Dosing should be done at approximately the same time each day. Blood samples for pharmacokinetics levels and biomarkers will be collected during selected visits. Evaluations will be conducted according to the schedule of assessments and will include: Medical history, physical examination, height, weight, saliva rinse for verification of Pg infection, blood for pharmacokinetic analysis, safely laboratory measures, electrocardiogram, and cognitive and functional scale assessments such as ADAS Cog, administered periodically. After completion of study treatment, participants will continue to be monitored for 4 weeks and will have a phone call to assess safety at Week 50 and will return for the Safety Follow-up Visit (Week 52).

Erkrankungen

  • Alzheimer Disease
  • Alzheimer Disease Due to P. Gingivalis

Eignung

Eignung
GeschlechtAlle
Alter55 Years80 Years
Gesunde FreiwilligeNein

Eignung im Wortlaut des Registers

Inclusion Criteria: * AD according to the National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer's Association criteria. * MMSE scores corresponding to mild and moderate AD. * Saliva rinse sample positive for P. gingivalis. * Plasma pTau217 above cutoff. * Subject and caregiver have provided full written informed consent. * Background symptomatic therapy with acetylcholinesterase inhibitors, and/or memantine, are allowed if the dose has been stable for 90 days and no changes are planned during the study. * Modified Hachinski score ≤4 at screening. Exclusion Criteria: * History of cancer requiring systemic therapy in last 5 years. * Evidence of a clinically significant, unstable cardiovascular, pulmonary, renal, hepatic, gastrointestinal, neurologic, or metabolic disease within 6 months prior to screening. * Unstable angina, uncompensated and/or symptomatic congestive heart failure (Grade 2 or higher on the New York Heart Association scale) or myocardial infarction within 6 months. * Acute or poorly controlled blood pressure \>180 mmHg systolic or \>100 mmHg diastolic at screening visit. * History or current evidence of major neurological or psychiatric illness such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, Parkinson's Disease, other. * Currently being treated with anti-amyloid beta antibodies or other disease-modifying treatments for dementia. * Other criteria in the Investigator's judgement that may interfere with the ability to participate in the study.

Eignung in einfachen Aussagen

Die Kriterien dieses Eintrags wurden noch nicht in einzelne Aussagen aufgeschlüsselt. Der Registertext oben ist vollständig und ist die maßgebliche Fassung.

Studiendesign

Studiendesign
StudientypInterventionell
PhasePhase 2
ZuteilungRandomisiert
InterventionsmodellPARALLEL
Primäres ZielTREATMENT
VerblindungQUADRUPLE (4)
Teilnahme300 Teilnehmende gesucht

Sponsor und Mitwirkende

  • Lighthouse Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Sponsor

Studienarme und Interventionen

  • PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR

    Two (2) placebo capsules, once daily, for 48 weeks

  • LHP588 25 mgEXPERIMENTAL

    One (1) 25 mg capsule and one (1) placebo capsule, once daily, for 48 weeks

  • LHP588 50 mgEXPERIMENTAL

    Two (2) 25 mg capsules, once daily, for 48 weeks

Interventionen

  • Arzneimittel LHP588

    25 mg, once daily

  • Arzneimittel LHP588

    50 mg, once daily

  • Arzneimittel Placebo Drug

    Placebo, once daily

Endpunkte

  1. Primärer Endpunkt

    Change in ADAS-Cog11

    ADAS-COG11 is the Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale 11

    Zeitrahmen 40 - 48 weeks

  2. Sekundärer Endpunkt

    Change in ADCS-ADL

    ADCS-ADL is the Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study Group-Activities of Daily Living

    Zeitrahmen 40 - 48 weeks

  3. Sekundärer Endpunkt

    Change in CMAI

    CMAI is the Cohen-Mansfield Agitation Inventory

    Zeitrahmen 40 - 48 weeks

  4. Sekundärer Endpunkt

    Change in CDR-SB

    CDR-SB is the Clinical Dementia Rating-Sum of Boxes

    Zeitrahmen 40 - 48 weeks

Daten

Daten
Startdatum17. Februar 2025 (tatsächlich)
Primärer Abschluss31. Januar 2029 (geschätzt)
Abschluss15. März 2029 (geschätzt)
Erstveröffentlichung26. Februar 2025 (tatsächlich)
Zuletzt aktualisiert15. September 2026
Ergebnisse veröffentlichtIm Registereintrag nicht angegeben
Status zuletzt bestätigtJuni 2026

Tatsächlich bedeutet, dass das Ereignis eingetreten ist. Geschätzt bedeutet, dass der Sponsor es erwartet. Die beiden bedeuten Unterschiedliches.

Standorte

37 Studienzentren rekrutieren

United States

United States
EinrichtungStadtBundesland oder RegionStatus
Alzheimer's Disease Research CenterAlbanyNew YorkRekrutiert
IMA EvaluationsAlbuquerqueNew MexicoRekrutiert
JEM Research InstituteAtlantisFloridaRekrutiert
Northwest Clinical Research CenterBellevueWashingtonRekrutiert
Adams Clinical BostonBostonMassachusettsRekrutiert
University of Virginia Adult NeurologyCharlottesvilleVirginiaRekrutiert
Clinical Research Professionals - HeadlandsChesterfieldMissouriRekrutiert
Columbus Memory CenterColumbusGeorgiaRekrutiert
Kerwin Research Center, LLC - Oak CliffDallasTexasRekrutiert
Kerwin Research Center, LLC in TexasDallasTexasRekrutiert
NDx Clinical ResearchDaytonOhioRekrutiert
Brain Matters ResearchDelray BeachFloridaRekrutiert
CenExel Denver, COEnglewoodColoradoRekrutiert
Re-Cognition Health FairfaxFairfaxVirginiaRekrutiert
Neuropsychiatric Research Center of Southwest FloridaFort MyersFloridaRekrutiert
Center for Advanced Research & Education Flourish-GainesvilleGainsvilleGeorgiaRekrutiert
Neurological Research Center - Hattiesburg ClinicHattiesburgMississippiRekrutiert
Tandem Clinical Research - MetairieMetairieLouisianaRekrutiert
K2 Medical Research Nashville LLCNashvilleTennesseeRekrutiert
Adams Clinic HarlemNew YorkNew YorkRekrutiert
Oakland Clinical ResearchOaklandCaliforniaRekrutiert
ATP Clinical Research, Inc.OrangeCaliforniaRekrutiert
Conquest Research - Lake NonaOrlandoFloridaRekrutiert
Anchor NeurosciencePensacolaFloridaAktiv, rekrutiert nicht
Barrow Neurological InstitutePhoenixArizonaRekrutiert
Banner Alzheimer's InstitutePhoenixArizonaRekrutiert
Headlands PharmaSitePikesvilleMarylandRekrutiert
Headlands Research-EMAPlymouthMassachusettsRekrutiert
Progressive Medical ResearchPort OrangeFloridaRekrutiert
Summitt ResearchPortlandOregonRekrutiert
Riverside Clinical ResearchRiversideCaliforniaRekrutiert
Clinical EndpointsScottsdaleArizonaRekrutiert
CenExel Sherman OaksSherman OaksCaliforniaRekrutiert
Alzheimer's Research and Treatment Center - StuartStuartFloridaRekrutiert
CenExel Research - Toms RiverToms RiverNew JerseyRekrutiert
Adams Clinical WatertownWatertownMassachusettsRekrutiert
Alzheimer's Research and Treatment Center - WellingtonWellingtonFloridaRekrutiert
Ascension via Christi ResearchWichitaKansasRekrutiert

Studiendokumente

In diesem Registereintrag sind keine Dokumente verlinkt.

Änderungen im Zeitverlauf

  1. 15. September 2026

    Studienzentrum entfernt

    1 site removed (38 total)

    3938

  2. 8. September 2026

    Studienzentrum entfernt

    1 site removed (39 total)

    4039

  3. 31. Juli 2026

    Studienzentrum hinzugefügt

    1 site added (40 total)

    3940