NCT07609108ClinicalTrials.gov
Pridopidine Phase 3 Study in Huntington's Disease
A Phase 3, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Pridopidine in Participants With Huntington's Disease (HD)
Kurz gefasst
The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if pridopidine can slow the clinical decline of Huntington's Disease (HD) in adult participants. It will also inform about the safety of pridopidine. The main questions the study aims to answer…
Phase 3400 Teilnehmende gesucht66 Studienzentren12 Länder
Kategorien
In 1 Register registriert
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07609108Diesen Eintrag bei ClinicalTrials.gov öffnenSynchronisiert vor 3 Tagen
Eine Studie kann in mehreren Registern registriert sein. Wir zeigen sie einmal und verlinken jeden Eintrag, den wir haben.
Die Studieninformationen werden so angezeigt, wie sie vom Register veröffentlicht wurden, in ihrer Originalsprache.
Interesse an dieser Studie?
Anmelden oder ein Konto erstellen um Ihr Interesse zu bekunden und diese Studie zu verfolgen.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-05-27; recorded start 2026-07-01
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 2 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Prilenia)
- Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre0/8
Single site, or site count not stated
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 400 participants (target), run at 66 sites, across 12 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment25/40
400 participants (target)
- Site count0/25
Site count not stated in the record
- Country count0/15
Country count not stated in the record
- Planned duration9/10
Planned over about 49 months
- Sponsor scale1/10
Prilenia has led 3 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Zusammenfassung
The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if pridopidine can slow the clinical decline of Huntington's Disease (HD) in adult participants. It will also inform about the safety of pridopidine. The main questions the study aims to answer are: Does pridopidine slow the overall worsening of HD over 1 year? Does pridopidine slow the worsening of specific aspects of HD over 1 year, namely the clinical progression, the ability to perform daily life activities (functional capacity), the mind's ability to process information (cognition), working of the muscles (motor function), and quality of life? Researchers will compare the drug pridopidine to a placebo (a look-alike substance that contains no drug) to see if pridopidine works better than placebo to treat HD. During the first year of the study, participants will have the same chance to receive either pridopidine or placebo. Participants will: Take 1 pridopidine or placebo capsule twice daily for 12 months. Visit the clinic 6 times within 1 year for checkups and tests. All participants who complete this 1-year placebo-controlled study period will roll over into an additional 2-year study period during which all participants will receive pridopidine treatment, including participants who had received placebo during the first year. During this additional 2-year treatment period participants will visit the clinic a total of 6 times for checkups and tests.
Erkrankungen
- Huntington Disease
Eignung
| Geschlecht | Alle |
|---|---|
| Alter | 23 Years – 65 Years |
| Gesunde Freiwillige | Nein |
Eignung im Wortlaut des Registers
Eignung in einfachen Aussagen
Die Kriterien dieses Eintrags wurden noch nicht in einzelne Aussagen aufgeschlüsselt. Der Registertext oben ist vollständig und ist die maßgebliche Fassung.
Studiendesign
| Studientyp | Interventionell |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Zuteilung | Randomisiert |
| Interventionsmodell | PARALLEL |
| Primäres Ziel | TREATMENT |
| Verblindung | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Teilnahme | 400 Teilnehmende gesucht |
Sponsor und Mitwirkende
- Prilenia Sponsor
- Ferrer Internacional S.A. Mitwirkende
Studienarme und Interventionen
- PridopidineEXPERIMENTAL
During the titration period (2 weeks), pridopidine 45 mg capsules will be taken orally once daily (in the morning) for 2 weeks. Afterwards, pridopidine 45 mg capsules will be taken orally twice daily (in the morning and in the afternoon; 7-10 hours apart) for 50 weeks.
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
During the titration period (2 weeks), matched placebo hard gelatin capsules will be taken once daily (in the morning) for 2 weeks. Afterwards, placebo capsules will be taken twice daily (in the morning and in the afternoon; 7-10 hours apart) for 50 weeks.
Interventionen
- Arzneimittel Placebo
Matched placebo hard gelatin capsule
- Arzneimittel Pridopidine
Pridopidine hard gelatin capsule
Endpunkte
Primärer Endpunkt
Change in Composite Unified Huntington's Disease Rating Scale (cUHDRS)
cUHDRS is a combined score to assess disease progression in HD. It includes TFC, TMS, SDMT, and SWR: Total Functional Capacity (TFC) tests the capacity to maintain daily living, finances, care level, occupation. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=13. Worst score=0. Total Motor Score (TMS) assesses motor features (oculomotor, dysarthria, chorea, dystonia, gait, postural stability). Higher score = worse outcome. Best score=0. Worst score= 124. Stroop Word Reading (SWR) measures attention and mental flexibility. Participant reads names of colors printed in black ink. Scores reflect correct responses in 45 sec. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=100. Worst score=0. Symbol Digit Modalities Test (SDMT) tests psychomotor speed and working memory. Participant has 90 sec to match numbers with symbols. Scores = correct answers in 90 sec. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=120. Worst score=0. Total integrated cUHDRS scale range: -7.6 to 24.8. The higher, the better.
Zeitrahmen Change from Baseline to Week 52
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Change in Total Functional Capacity (TFC) score
Total Functional Capacity (TFC) tests the capacity to maintain domestic chores, activities of daily living, finances, care level, and occupation. Scores from 0 - 13. Higher score = better outcome.
Zeitrahmen Change from Baseline to Week 52
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Change in Quantitative Motor (Q-Motor) Finger Tapping Inter-Onset Interval (FT-IOI) mean
Quantitative (Q)-motor is a clinical assessment of fine motor skills that are crucial for daily activities. It is based on the application of pre-calibrated and temperature-controlled force transducers and 3-dimensional position sensors. Higher score = worse outcome.
Zeitrahmen Change from Baseline to Week 52
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Change in Stroop Word Reading (SWR) score
Stroop Word Reading (SWR) measures attention and mental flexibility. Participant reads names of colors printed in black ink. Scores reflect correct responses in 45 sec. Higher score = better outcome.
Zeitrahmen Change from Baseline to Week 52
Daten
| Startdatum | 1. Juli 2026 (tatsächlich) |
|---|---|
| Primärer Abschluss | 1. Juni 2028 (geschätzt) |
| Abschluss | 1. Juni 2030 (geschätzt) |
| Erstveröffentlichung | 27. Mai 2026 (tatsächlich) |
| Zuletzt aktualisiert | 17. September 2026 |
| Ergebnisse veröffentlicht | Im Registereintrag nicht angegeben |
| Status zuletzt bestätigt | Mai 2026 |
Tatsächlich bedeutet, dass das Ereignis eingetreten ist. Geschätzt bedeutet, dass der Sponsor es erwartet. Die beiden bedeuten Unterschiedliches.
Standorte
5 Studienzentren rekrutieren
Belgium
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hopital Erasme | Anderlecht | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc | Woluwe-Saint-Lambert | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
Canada
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Calgary | Calgary | Alberta | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| University of Alberta | Edmonton | Alberta | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| Centre Hospitalier de l'Universite de Montreal (CHUM) | Montreal | Quebec | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| North York General Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| University of British Columbia | Vancouver | British Columbia | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
Czechia
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vseobecna Fakultni Nemocnice V Praze | Prague | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
France
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire D'Angers | Angers | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| CHU Henri Mondor (APHP) | Créteil | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Grenoble Alpes | La Tronche | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Centre Hospitalier Regional De Marseille | Marseille | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
Germany
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Universitaetsklinikum Aachen AöR | Aachen | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Katholisches Klinikum Bochum gGmbH | Bochum | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Universitätsklinikum Erlangen | Erlangen | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| George-Huntington-Institut GmbH | Münster | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Isar Amper Klinikum | Taufkirchen | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Universitaetsklinikum Ulm AöR | Ulm | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
Italy
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Azienda Unita Sanitaria Locale Di Bologna | Bologna | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| IRCCS Istituto Auxologico Italiano | Milan | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Federico II Di Napoli | Naples | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Azienda Ospedale Università di Padova | Padova | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS | Roma | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Casa Sollievo Della Sofferenza | San Giovanni Rotondo | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
Netherlands
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leids Universitair Medisch Centrum (LUMC) | Leiden | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
Poland
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krakowska Akademia Neurologii Sp. z o.o. | Krakow | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Wojskowy Instytut Medycyny Lotniczej | Warsaw | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
Portugal
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unidade Local De Saude De Coimbra E.P.E | Coimbra | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Unidade Local De Saude De Santa Maria E.P.E. | Lisbon | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Unidade Local De Saude De Santo Antonio E.P.E. | Porto | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| CNS Saude Lda. | Torres Vedras | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
Spain
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital Universitario De Cruces | Barakaldo | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Hospital De La Santa Creu I Sant Pau | Barcelona | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Hospital Universitario Ramon Y Cajal | Madrid | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Hospital Universitario Central De Asturias | Oviedo | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Hospital Universitario Virgen del Rocío | Seville | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
United Kingdom
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| NHS Grampian | Aberdeen | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation NHS Trust | Birmingham | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Cardiff University | Cardiff | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust | Liverpool | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| CNTW NHS Foundation Trust | Newcastle upon Tyne | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
United States
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Johns Hopkins University | Baltimore | Maryland | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| The University of Alabama at Birmingham | Birmingham | Alabama | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| University of Miami-U Health Boca Raton | Boca Raton | Florida | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| University of Vermont Medical Center | Burlington | Vermont | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| Massachusetts General Hospital | Charlestown | Massachusetts | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| Rush University Medical Center | Chicago | Illinois | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| Northwestern University | Chicago | Illinois | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| University of Cincinnati | Cincinnati | Ohio | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
| Cleveland Clinic | Cleveland | Ohio | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen |
16 weitere Studienzentren sind im Registereintrag aufgeführt.
Studiendokumente
In diesem Registereintrag sind keine Dokumente verlinkt.
Änderungen im Zeitverlauf
- 7. August 2026
Status geändert
Status changed from Not yet recruiting to Recruiting
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- 7. August 2026
Rekrutierung eröffnet
Recruitment opened
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- 7. August 2026
Studienzentrum hinzugefügt
66 sites added (66 total)
066