NCT06060041ClinicalTrials.gov
IC-8 Apthera IOL New Enrollment Post Approval Study
In brief
The purpose of this study is to verify the post-market safety of the IC-8 Apthera IOL after the treatment of posterior capsular opacification (PCO), an expected complication related to IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation.
Observational435 participants sought14 sites1 country
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06060041Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 months ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Not stated: Registered after enrolment began (about 21 days after the recorded start)First posted 2023-09-29; recorded start 2023-09-08
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Not stated: Whether participants are randomly assigned is not stated in the registry recordNo allocation method is recorded
- Not stated: A comparison group is not stated in the registry recordThe record describes a single study arm
- Not stated: Whether the study is blinded is not stated in the registry recordNo masking information is recorded
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 26 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Bausch & Lomb Incorporated)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 3 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
An exploratory-stage design for a study of this type, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation0/20
Allocation not stated in the record
- Blinding0/20
Masking not stated in the record
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 14 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration3/5
Registered within 30 days of the study start
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study: 435 participants (target), run at 14 sites.
How this score is built
- Enrolment26/40
435 participants (target)
- Site count14/25
14 sites
- Country count0/15
Single country
- Planned duration9/10
Planned over about 49 months
- Sponsor scale5/10
Bausch & Lomb Incorporated has led 26 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
The purpose of this study is to verify the post-market safety of the IC-8 Apthera IOL after the treatment of posterior capsular opacification (PCO), an expected complication related to IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation.
Conditions
- Presbyopia
- Posterior Capsule Opacification
- Cataract
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 22 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
| Sampling method | NON_PROBABILITY_SAMPLE |
Study population
Potential study subjects will be recruited from patients previously implanted with the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) and who have developed posterior capsular opacification in the IC-8 Apthera IOL eye which requires treatment with Nd:YAG laser capsulotomy
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Observational |
|---|---|
| Phase | Not stated in the registry record |
| Allocation | Not stated in the registry record |
| Intervention model | Not stated in the registry record |
| Primary purpose | Not stated in the registry record |
| Masking | Not stated in the registry record |
| Enrolment | 435 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Bausch & Lomb Incorporated Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) Group
Patients previously implanted with the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) and who have developed posterior capsular opacification (PCO) which requires treatment with Nd:YAG laser capsulotomy.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Rate of any additional Nd:YAG laser treatments beyond the initial Nd:YAG laser treatment
Rates of additional Nd:YAG laser treatments in the eye implanted with the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) beyond the initial Nd:YAG laser treatment will be assessed through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL Implantation
Primary outcome
Nd:YAG laser treatment outcome and/or complications
Nd:YAG laser treatment outcomes and/or complications in the eye implanted with the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) will be assessed through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation.
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL Implantation
Primary outcome
IOL related assessments
The appearance of the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) will be assessed through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Primary outcome
Rates of Secondary Surgical Interventions (SSIs)
Rates of secondary surgical interventions in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes will be assessed through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Primary outcome
Rates of other serious adverse events
Rates of other serious adverse events in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and fellow eyes will be evaluated through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Primary outcome
Rates of ocular adverse events
Rates of ocular adverse events in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and fellow eyes will be evaluated through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Primary outcome
Rates of subjective visual disturbances per the Quality of Vision (QoV) Questionnaire
Subjective responses to the QoV Questionnaire that assess frequency of visual disturbances (from 'never' to 'very often'), severity of those disturbances (from 'not at all' to 'severe') and bothersomeness of those disturbances (from 'not at all' to 'very') in both the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes.
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Primary outcome
Rates of subjective visual disturbances per the Small Aperture Patient Questionnaire (SAPQ)
Subjective responses to the Small Aperture Patient Questionnaire (SAPQ) that assess frequency of visual disturbances (from 'never' to 'very often'), severity of those disturbances (from 'not at all' to 'severe') and bothersomeness of those disturbances (from 'not at all' to 'very') in both the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes.
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Other outcome
Nd:YAG laser technique details and/or settings
Nd:YAG laser technique and/or settings during treatment in an IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eye will be evaluated
Time frame PCO treatment visit (during the Nd:YAG laser procedure)
Other outcome
Investigator opinion of ease of YAG procedure
Difficulty performing Nd:YAG laser treatment in an IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eye will be evaluated per scale of difficulty chosen by investigator from 'No difficulty' to 'Great difficulty'
Time frame PCO treatment visit (during the Nd:YAG laser procedure)
Other outcome
Mean monocular and binocular uncorrected distance visual acuity (UCDVA), uncorrected intermediate visual acuity (UCIVA) and uncorrected near visual acuity (UCNVA)
Mean monocular and binocular uncorrected distance visual acuity (UCDVA), uncorrected intermediate visual acuity (UCIVA) and uncorrected near visual acuity (UCNVA) will be evaluated in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes (same units of measure for all measurements)
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Other outcome
Mean monocular and binocular distance corrected distance visual acuity (DCDVA), distance corrected intermediate visual acuity (DCIVA) and distance corrected near visual acuity (DCNVA)
Mean monocular and binocular distance corrected distance visual acuity (DCDVA), distance corrected intermediate visual acuity (DCIVA) and distance corrected near visual acuity (DCNVA) will be evaluated in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes (same units of measure for all measurements)
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Other outcome
Rates of device deficiencies
Rates of device deficiencies in the IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) eyes and the fellow eyes will be evaluated
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Other outcome
Rates of loss of 10 or more Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) letters of best corrected distance visual acuity (BCDVA)
The rates of each event of loss of 10 or more Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) letters of best corrected distance visual acuity (BCDVA) between a study visit and a later study visit, the reason for the visual acuity loss, and the treatment/outcome of these instances will be assessed through 24 months post IC-8 Apthera intraocular lens (IOL) implantation
Time frame 24 Months post IC-8 Apthera IOL implantation
Dates
| Start date | September 8, 2023 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | September 30, 2027 (estimated) |
| Completion | September 30, 2027 (estimated) |
| First posted | September 29, 2023 (actual) |
| Last updated | January 12, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | January 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
14 sites are recruiting
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ophthalmic Partners, PC | Bala-Cynwyd | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| Oakland Eye | Birmingham | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Utah Eye Centers | Bountiful | Utah | Recruiting |
| Argus Research Center | Cape Coral | Florida | Recruiting |
| Trinity Research Group, LLC | Dothan | Alabama | Recruiting |
| Eye Associates of New Jersey | Dover | New Jersey | Recruiting |
| Price Vision Group | Indianapolis | Indiana | Recruiting |
| Feinerman Vision Center | Newport Beach | California | Recruiting |
| Vance Thompson Vision - Omaha | Omaha | Nebraska | Recruiting |
| Virdi Eye Clinic and Laser Vision Center | Rock Island | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Northern New Jersey Eye Institute | South Orange | New Jersey | Recruiting |
| Berkeley Eye Center | Sugar Land | Texas | Recruiting |
| Stephenson Eye Associates | Venice | Florida | Recruiting |
| Grene Vision Group | Wichita | Kansas | Recruiting |
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.