Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT06581328ClinicalTrials.gov

A Study of Vedolizumab in Adults With Ulcerative Colitis (UC) or Crohn's Disease (CD) in the Community Setting

A Phase 4 Study Evaluating Moderate to Severely Active Ulcerative Colitis or Crohn's Disease and the Use of Vedolizumab Subcutaneous Within a Community Setting

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

Ulcerative Colitis (UC) and Crohn's Disease (CD) are long-term conditions in the gut that can cause diarrhea, swelling (inflammation), bleeding from the anus, and belly pain. The main aim of this study is to check for how many participants with…

Phase 4200 participants sought101 sites1 country

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-09-03; recorded start 2025-03-27
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Not stated: Participants are not randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as non-randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 194 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Takeda)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 2 conditions.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourEXPLORATORY

An exploratory-stage design for a phase 4 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation0/20

    Non-randomised allocation

  • Blinding0/20

    Open-label

  • Control arm0/15

    No comparator arm stated in the record

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 101 sites

  • Data monitoring committee0/7

    No data monitoring committee stated

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleMEDIUM

A medium-sized study: 200 participants (target), run at 101 sites.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment25/40

    400 participants (target)

  • Site count23/25

    101 sites

  • Country count0/15

    Single country

  • Planned duration8/10

    Planned over about 39 months

  • Sponsor scale9/10

    Takeda has led 192 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

Ulcerative Colitis (UC) and Crohn's Disease (CD) are long-term conditions in the gut that can cause diarrhea, swelling (inflammation), bleeding from the anus, and belly pain. The main aim of this study is to check for how many participants with UC and CD signs and symptoms disappear after 3.5 months (14 weeks) of treatment with Vedolizumab (this is called remission). Participants will be treated with Vedolizumab for approximately 1 year (50 weeks). During the first 1.5 months (6 weeks), participants will receive Vedolizumab as an infusion in the vein (called intravenously). After this, participants will receive Vedolizumab as an injection under the skin (called subcutaneously) for the rest of the treatment. Participants for whom the treatment does not seem to work well after 3.5 months (14 weeks) will stop treatment with Vedolizumab and can change to another treatment and also there will be additional required visits at 6 months (26 weeks) and at 1 year (52 weeks). All participants will be checked again 4.5 months (18 weeks) after their last treatment with Vedolizumab. During the study, participants will visit their study clinic several times.

Conditions

  • Ulcerative Colitis
  • Crohn's Disease

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 Years80 Years
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria To be eligible to participate in this study, participants must meet all the following criteria: 1. In the investigator's opinion, the participant can understand and comply with protocol requirements. 2. The participant signs and dates an electronic informed consent form (ICF) and any required privacy authorization prior to any study procedures. 3. The participant is 18 to 80 years of age at the time of signing the ICF. 4. The participant's immunization is up to date per vedolizumab US prescribing information (USPI). 5. Participants must meet the contraception recommendations. 6. The participant has a diagnosis of moderate to severely active UC or CD defined by the following: 1. CD: A Crohn's Disease Activity Index (CDAI) score of 220 to 450 and a SES-CD \>=6 (\>=4 if isolated ileal disease) at screening OR 2. UC: A complete Mayo score (MS) of 6 to 12 with endoscopy sub-score of 2 to 3 at screening. 7. UC or CD diagnosis established prior to screening by clinical and endoscopic evidence and corroborated by a histopathology report. 8. Demonstrated an inadequate response to, loss of response to, or intolerance of at least one of the following agents: corticosteroids, immunomodulators, and/or advanced therapy. Exclusion Criteria Participants who meet any of the following exclusion criteria will be excluded from participation in this study: 1. Received approved or investigational anti-integrin antibodies (i.e., vedolizumab, natalizumab, efalizumab, etrolizumab, abrilumab \[AMG 181\]) at any time prior to screening. 2. Failed (primary or secondary nonresponse) on more than 2 prior advanced treatments. 3. Use of corticosteroid enemas/suppositories within 2 weeks prior to screening (for UC and CD). 4. In the investigator's opinion, the participant meets any contraindication, warnings and precautions, drug interactions, or special population considerations per the vedolizumab USPI, or has a medical history or known allergy, hypersensitivity, or intolerance to vedolizumab or its excipients. 5. Received any investigational biologic therapy \<= 6 months prior to screening. 6. The participant has received an advanced treatment for an approved indication other than CD or UC within 60 days prior to screening. a. Advanced therapies include tumor necrosis factor (TNF) inhibitors, 12/23 antagonists, janus kinase (JAK) inhibitors, and sphingosine-1-phosphate (S1P) receptor modulators. 7. The participant has any evidence of an active infection during screening. 8. Ileostomy, colostomy, severe or symptomatic stenosis of the intestine, or short bowel syndrome. 9. A surgical procedure requiring general anesthesia within 30 days prior to screening or planned or possible major surgery during the study period. 10. History of malignancy, except for adequately treated nonmetastatic basal cell skin cancer; adequately treated squamous cell skin cancer that has not recurred for at least 1 year before screening; and adequately treated cervical carcinoma in situ that has not recurred for at least 3 years before screening. Participants with a remote history of malignancy (e.g., \>10 years since completion of curative therapy without recurrence) will be considered based on the nature of the malignancy and therapy received; this must be discussed with the sponsor on a case-by-case basis before enrollment. 11. Participants with any unstable or uncontrolled cardiovascular conditions, moderate to severe heart failure (New York Heart Association Class III or IV), pulmonary, hepatic, renal, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, hematological, coagulation, immunological, endocrine/metabolic, neurological, or other medical disorders that, in the investigator's opinion, would confound the study results or compromise participant safety. 12. Participants with active cerebral or meningeal disease, signs or symptoms or a history of progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML), or any other major neurological disorder, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, brain tumor, or neurodegenerative disease. 13. Participant is not on a stable dose of corticosteroid. 14. Has any of the following laboratory abnormalities during the screening period: (a) hemoglobin \<8 grams per deciliter (g/dL); (b) white blood cell (WBC) count \<3.0 × 10\^9 per liter (L); (c) lymphocyte count \<0.5 × 10\^9/L; (d) platelet count \<100 × 10\^9/L or \>1200 × 10\^9/L; (e) alanine aminotransferase (ALT) or aspartate aminotransferase (AST) \>3.0 × the upper limit of normal (ULN); or (f) alkaline phosphatase (ALP) \>1.5 × ULN. Historical laboratory data may be used for screening if available in the participant's electronic health record (EHR) within 6 weeks before screening.

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 4
AllocationNon-randomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingNONE (0)
Enrolment200 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • Takeda Sponsor

Arms and interventions

  • UC Participants: VedolizumabEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants with moderate to severely active UC will receive vedolizumab 300 milligrams (mg), intravenous (IV) infusion at Weeks 0 and 2. Following the first 2 vedolizumab IV doses, participant may be switched to vedolizumab 108 mg subcutaneous (SC) injection at Week 6, to be administered every 2 weeks until Week 50. Treating health care practitioner (HCP) may give an additional dose of vedolizumab IV at Week 6 with mandatory transition by Week 14.

  • CD Participants: VedolizumabEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants with moderate to severely active CD will receive vedolizumab 300 mg, IV infusion at Weeks 0 and 2. Following the first 2 vedolizumab IV doses, participant may be switched to vedolizumab 108 mg SC injection at Week 6, to be administered every 2 weeks until Week 50. Treating HCP may give an additional dose of vedolizumab IV at Week 6 with mandatory transition by Week 14.

Interventions

  • Drug Vedolizumab IV

    Vedolizumab IV infusion

  • Drug Vedolizumab SC

    Vedolizumab SC injection

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Percentage of CD Participants With 2-item Patient-reported Outcome Measure (PRO-2) Remission at Week 14

    PRO-2 remission is defined as 7-day average of very soft or liquid stool frequency (SF) less than and equal to (\<=) 2.8, 7-day average of abdominal pain (AP) score \<= 1.0, and neither worse than baseline.

    Time frame At Week 14

  2. Primary outcome

    Percentage of UC Participants With PRO-2 Remission at Week 14

    PRO-2 remission is defined as Mayo rectal bleeding sub-score of 0 and stool frequency sub-score \<=1.

    Time frame At Week 14

  3. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of CD and UC Participants With PRO-2 Remission at Weeks 6 and 52

    PRO-2 remission for CD participants is defined as 7-day average of very soft or liquid SF \<= 2.8, 7-day average of AP score \<= 1.0, and neither worse than baseline. PRO-2 remission for UC participants is defined as Mayo rectal bleeding sub-score of 0 and stool frequency sub-score \<=1.

    Time frame At Weeks 6 and 52

  4. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Clinical Response at Weeks 6, 14, and 52

    CD clinical response is defined as greater than and equal to (\>=) 100 points decrease from baseline in CDAI score. UC clinical response is defined as reduction in complete Mayo score of \>=3 points and \>=30 percent (%) from baseline with an accompanying decrease in rectal bleeding sub-score of \>=1 point or absolute rectal bleeding sub-score of \<=1 point or an absolute rectal bleeding sub-score of \<=1 point, or a reduction in partial Mayo score of \>=2 points and \>=25% from baseline, if complete Mayo score was not performed at visit.

    Time frame At Weeks 6, 14, and 52

  5. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of CD Participants With Endoscopic Response at Week 52

    Endoscopic response is defined as a \>=50% reduction from baseline in Simple Endoscopic Score for Crohn's Disease (SES-CD) score. SES-CD evaluates 4 endoscopic variables: the intestinal surface affected by ulcers, the intestinal surface affected by other inflammatory lesions, the presence of ulcers, and the presence of narrowing.

    Time frame At Week 52

  6. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of CD Participants Achieving Endoscopic Remission at Week 52

    Endoscopic remission as per SES-CD is defined as a SES-CD score of 0 to 4, with no individual sub-score greater than 1. SES-CD evaluates 4 endoscopic variables: the intestinal surface affected by ulcers, the intestinal surface affected by other inflammatory lesions, the presence of ulcers, and the presence of narrowing.

    Time frame At Week 52

  7. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of UC Participants With Improvement of Endoscopic Appearance of the Mucosa at Week 52

    Improvement of endoscopic appearance of the mucosa is defined as Modified Mayo endoscopic sub-score (MMES) of 0 or 1.

    Time frame At Week 52

  8. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of UC Participants With Endoscopic Remission at Week 52

    Endoscopic remission is defined as a centrally read complete Mayo endoscopy sub-score of 0.

    Time frame At Week 52

  9. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Clinical Remission at Weeks 6, 14, and 52

    Clinical Remission for CD is defined as a CDAI \<150 point. Clinical remission for UC is defined as complete MS of \<=2 points and no participant sub-score greater than (\>) 1 point or defined as a partial Mayo score (stool frequency, rectal bleeding, physician's global assessment \[PGA\]) score of \<=2 and no individual sub-score \>1.

    Time frame At Weeks 6, 14, and 52

  10. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Clinical Remission at Week 52

    Clinical remission for CD is defined as a CDAI \<150 point. Clinical remission for UC is defined as complete MS of \<=2 points and no participant sub-score \>1 point or defined as a partial Mayo score (stool frequency, rectal bleeding, PGA) score of \<=2 and no individual sub-score \>1. Percentage of CD and UC participants with clinical remission at Week 52, among those participants who achieved clinical remission at Week 6 and 14 will be reported.

    Time frame At Week 52

  11. Secondary outcome

    Change From Baseline in C-reactive Protein (CRP) levels of CD and UC Participants at Weeks 6, 14, 26, and 52

    Change from baseline in CRP levels of CD and UC participants at Weeks 6, 14, 26, and 52 will be reported.

    Time frame Baseline, Weeks 6, 14, 26, and 52

  12. Secondary outcome

    Change From Baseline in Fecal Calprotectin Concentrations of CD and UC participants at Weeks 6, 14, and 52

    Change from baseline in fecal calprotectin concentrations of CD and UC participants at Weeks 6, 14, and 52 will be reported.

    Time frame Baseline, Weeks 6, 14, and 52

  13. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Serious Infections

    Percentage of CD and UC participants with serious infections will be reported.

    Time frame Up to end of study (up to 72 weeks)

Dates

Dates
Start dateMarch 27, 2025 (actual)
Primary completionMay 1, 2027 (estimated)
CompletionJune 1, 2028 (estimated)
First postedSeptember 3, 2024 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 15, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedSeptember 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

78 sites are recruiting

United States

United States
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Presbyterian Health care servicesAlbuquerqueNew MexicoWithdrawn
Digestive Healthcare of GeorgiaAtlantaGeorgiaRecruiting
AGA GA Research LLCAtlantaGeorgiaRecruiting
Baton Rouge General Medical Center - Bluebonnet CampusBaton RougeLouisianaRecruiting
GI AllianceBellevueWashingtonRecruiting
Gastro HealthBirminghamAlabamaRecruiting
SSM Health Medical GroupBridgetonMissouriRecruiting
Access Research InstituteBrooksvilleFloridaRecruiting
Westchester Putnam Gastroenterology PCCarmelNew YorkRecruiting
Five Towns GastroenterologyCedarhurstNew YorkRecruiting
AZ Gastro CareChandlerArizonaRecruiting
Charlotte Gastroenterology and Hepatology, P.L.L.CCharlotteNorth CarolinaRecruiting
Capital Digestive CareChevy ChaseMarylandRecruiting
Gastro Health Research - CincinnatiCincinnatiOhioRecruiting
Gastro FloridaClearwaterFloridaRecruiting
Peak Gastroenterology AssociatesColorado SpringsColoradoRecruiting
GI Associates Research, LLCColumbiaMissouriRecruiting
Tri-State Gastroenterology AssociatesCrestview HillsKentuckyRecruiting
DSI Research Northridge LLCDaytonOhioRecruiting
Atlanta Center for Gastroenterology, P.C.DecaturGeorgiaWithdrawn
Yapp, Rockford M.D. (Private Practice)Downers GroveIllinoisRecruiting
The Clinical Trials Network CTNX LLCEl PasoTexasRecruiting
IMIDeologyElmhurstNew YorkRecruiting
Gastroenterology and Liver InstituteEscondidoCaliforniaRecruiting
Gastro Health Research - FraminghamFraminghamMassachusettsRecruiting
Intercity GastroenterologyFresh MeadowsNew YorkRecruiting
Amel Med LLCGeorgetownTexasRecruiting
Spectrum Research Institute LLCGilbertArizonaRecruiting
Woodholme GastroenterologyGlen BurnieMarylandRecruiting
GI Alliance - GlenviewGlenviewIllinoisRecruiting
Carolina Digestive DiseasesGreenvilleNorth CarolinaRecruiting
Doral Medical Research, LLCHialeahFloridaWithdrawn
Integrity Advanced TherapeuticsHoustonTexasWithdrawn
Kelsey Research FoundationHoustonTexasRecruiting
MedCare Pharma LLCHoustonTexasRecruiting
Spring Clinical ResearchHoustonTexasRecruiting
Hutchinson ClinicHutchinsonKansasRecruiting
Mid America Gastro Intestinal ConsultantsKansas CityMissouriRecruiting
Gastro Health & NutritionKatyTexasRecruiting
Tri-Cities GastroenterologyKingsportTennesseeRecruiting
One of a Kind Clinical Research Center LLCKingwoodTexasRecruiting
Digestive and Liver Center of Florida, P.A.KissimmeeFloridaRecruiting
Combined Gastro LLCLafayetteLouisianaRecruiting
Gastroenterology and Internal Medicine Specialists, SCLake BarringtonIllinoisRecruiting
NYU Langone Long Island Clinical Research AssociatesLake SuccessNew YorkWithdrawn
Gastro Health Research - Liberty TownshipLiberty TownshipOhioRecruiting
UAMS Health Gastroenterology ClinicLittle RockArkansasWithdrawn
Rocky Mountain Endocopy Centers LLCLittletonColoradoRecruiting
West Texas Research InstituteLubbockTexasRecruiting
Great Lakes Gastroenterology Research, LLCMentorOhioRecruiting

51 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 15, 2026

    Completion date moved earlier

    Primary completion advanced 153 days

    2027-10-012027-05-01

  2. September 15, 2026

    Enrolment target changed

    Enrollment target revised down from 400 to 200

    400200