Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT07779408ClinicalTrials.gov

Study to Assess Safety and Immunogenicity of an Egg-based H5N8 Influenza Vaccine at Multiple Dose Levels Adjuvanted With Matrix-M in Healthy Participants 18 Years of Age and Above.

A Phase 1/2, Parallel, Observer-blind Study to Assess the Safety and Immunogenicity of an Egg-based H5N8 Influenza Vaccine at Multiple Dose Levels Adjuvanted With Matrix-M in Healthy Participants 18 Years of Age and Above.

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

The study aims to evaluate an egg-based H5N8 influenza vaccine up to 3 dose levels (low, medium, and high dose) given with or without adjuvant to see if the adjuvant improves vaccine effectiveness. The study will enroll healthy adults aged…

Phase 1 / Phase 2640 participants sought16 sites1 country

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Not stated: Registered after enrolment began (about 18 days after the recorded start)First posted 2026-08-21; recorded start 2026-08-03
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 351 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Sanofi)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 2 conditions.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourMODERATE

A moderately rigorous design for a phase 2 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding13/20

    Double-blind

  • Control arm0/15

    No comparator arm stated in the record

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre0/8

    Single site, or site count not stated

  • Data monitoring committee0/7

    No data monitoring committee stated

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleMEDIUM

A medium-sized study: 640 participants (target), run at 16 sites.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment28/40

    640 participants (target)

  • Site count0/25

    Site count not stated in the record

  • Country count0/15

    Country count not stated in the record

  • Planned duration6/10

    Planned over about 19 months

  • Sponsor scale9/10

    Sanofi has led 348 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

The study aims to evaluate an egg-based H5N8 influenza vaccine up to 3 dose levels (low, medium, and high dose) given with or without adjuvant to see if the adjuvant improves vaccine effectiveness. The study will enroll healthy adults aged 18 years and over. Participants will receive 2 injections in their arm of either one of the 3 dose levels of the study vaccine (low, medium, or high dose) with the adjuvant or the unadjuvanted vaccine (high dose). Study duration per participant: approximately 14 months (including screening visit).

Conditions

  • Healthy Volunteers
  • Influenza

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 YearsNo maximum
Healthy volunteersYes

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria: * Aged 18 years or above on the day of inclusion * Participants who are healthy as determined by medical evaluation including medical history * Not pregnant/breastfeeding; non-childbearing potential or uses effective contraception/abstinence from ≥4 weeks before the first study intervention dose to ≥8 weeks after the last dose * Informed consent form has been signed and dated * Able to attend all scheduled visits and to comply with all study procedures * Covered by health insurance, if required by local regulations Exclusion Criteria: * Known or suspected immunodeficiency; immunosuppressive therapy in past 6 months; or long-term systemic corticosteroid (eg, prednisone for more than 2 weeks in the past 3 months) * Known hepatitis B or hepatitis C infection (based on medical history) * Known personal or family history of previous episodes of Guillan-Barré syndrome (GBS), neuritis (including Bell's palsy), convulsions, encephalitis, transverse myelitis, and vasculitis * Known systemic hypersensitivity to any of the study intervention components or history of life-threatening reaction to the study interventions or products with same substances * Self-reported thrombocytopenia contraindicating intramuscular (IM) injection based on investigator's judgment * Bleeding disorder, or receipt of anticoagulants in the 3 weeks preceding inclusion, contraindicating IM injection based on investigator's judgment * Chronic illness that, in the opinion of the investigator, is at a stage where it might interfere with study conduct or completion * History of A/H5 infection prior to the study participation * Moderate or severe acute illness/infection (per investigator judgment)/fever (≥ 38.0°C \[≥ 100.4°F\]) on study intervention day. Include participant only after the condition or fever has resolved * Alcohol, prescription drug, or substance abuse that, in the opinion of the investigator, might interfere with the study conduct or completion * Any vaccine given 4 weeks before first study intervention or any planned vaccination to be given prior to Day 43 (ie, approximately 21 days after the second study intervention) * Previous vaccination against A(H5) with an investigational or marketed vaccine. This includes, but is not limited to, influenza subtypes A(H5N1), A(H5N8), and A(H5N6) * Has received a blood transfusion or blood-derived products, including immunoglobulins in the past 3 months * Participation in another clinical study for a vaccine, drug, medical device, or medical procedure within 4 weeks before enrollment or planned participation during the present study period * Deprived of freedom by an administrative or court order, or in an emergency setting, or hospitalized involuntarily * Is an investigator, investigator/study center employee, or immediate family member (parent, spouse, natural/adopted child) of the investigator/employee with direct involvement in the study * Any screening safety laboratory parameters out of normal ranges and assessed as \> Grade 2 The above information is not intended to contain all considerations relevant to a participant's potential participation in a clinical trial.

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 1 / Phase 2
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposePREVENTION
MaskingDOUBLE (2)
Enrolment640 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • Sanofi Sponsor

Arms and interventions

  • Group 4: Flu H5 Egg Pandemic high dose vaccine, without adjuvantEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants receive 2 intramuscular injections of flu H5 egg pandemic high dose vaccine, without adjuvant

  • Group 1: Flu H5 egg pandemic low dose vaccine, with adjuvantEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants receive 2 intramuscular injections of flu H5 egg pandemic low dose vaccine, with adjuvant

  • Group 2: Flu H5 Egg Pandemic medium dose vaccine, with adjuvantEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants receive 2 intramuscular injections of flu H5 egg pandemic medium dose vaccine, with adjuvant

  • Group 3: Flu H5 Egg Pandemic high dose vaccine, with adjuvantEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants receive 2 intramuscular injections of flu H5 egg pandemic high dose vaccine, with adjuvant

Interventions

  • Biological Flu H5 Egg Pandemic high dose vaccine, with adjuvant

    Pharmaceutical form: Suspension for injection Route of administration: Intramuscular (IM)

  • Biological Flu H5 Egg Pandemic high dose vaccine, without adjuvant

    Pharmaceutical form: Suspension for injection Route of administration: Intramuscular (IM)

  • Biological Flu H5 Egg Pandemic medium dose vaccine, with adjuvant

    Pharmaceutical form: Suspension for injection Route of administration: Intramuscular (IM)

  • Biological Flu H5 egg pandemic low dose vaccine, with adjuvant

    Pharmaceutical form: Suspension for injection Route of administration: Intramuscular (IM)

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Number of participants with immediate Adverse Events (AEs)

    Immediate adverse events are medically relevant unsolicited systemic adverse events reported in the 30 minutes after vaccination

    Time frame Within 30 minutes after each vaccination

  2. Primary outcome

    Number of participants experiencing solicited administration site reactions (pre-listed in the participant diary and case report form [CRF])

    A solicited reaction is an adverse reaction (sign or symptom) observed and reported under the conditions pre-listed (for example: injection site pain or headache). Solicited administration site reactions are reactions at and around the injection/administration site

    Time frame Within 8 days of each vaccination, including the day of vaccination

  3. Primary outcome

    Number of participants experiencing solicited systemic reactions (pre-listed in the participant diary and CRF)

    All solicited reactions that are not solicited injection or administration site reactions

    Time frame Within 8 days of each vaccination, including the day of vaccination

  4. Primary outcome

    Number of participants experiencing unsolicited AEs

    Unsolicited AE: an observed AE that does not fulfill the conditions of solicited reactions

    Time frame Within 21 days after the first vaccination, including the day of the first vaccination, and within 28 days after the second vaccination, including the day of the second vaccination

  5. Primary outcome

    Number of participants experiencing Medically Attended Adverse Events (MAAEs)

    MAAEs are collected throughout the study

    Time frame From Day 01 until the end of the study, approximately 14 months

  6. Primary outcome

    Number of participants experiencing Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESIs)

    AESIs are collected throughout the study

    Time frame From Day 01 until the end of the study, approximately 14 months

  7. Primary outcome

    Number of participants experiencing Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

    SAEs are collected throughout the study

    Time frame From Day 01 until the end of the study, approximately 14 months

  8. Primary outcome

    Number of participants experiencing out-of-range biological test results (including shift from baseline values)

    Safety laboratory assessments will include clinical chemistry and hematology

    Time frame Up to 8 days after each vaccination

  9. Primary outcome

    Number of participants experiencing AEs leading to discontinuation

    AEs leading to discontinuation are collected throughout the study

    Time frame From Day 01 until the end of the study, approximately 14 months

  10. Primary outcome

    Geometric mean titer of hemagglutination inhibition (HAI) assay antibody (Ab) titer

    Influenza vaccine antibody titers are measured by HAI assay

    Time frame Day 01 and Day 43

  11. Primary outcome

    Number of participants with HAI Ab titer ≥ 40 (1 dilution [dil]; ie, seroprotection)

    Influenza vaccine antibody titers are measured by HAI assay

    Time frame Day 43

  12. Primary outcome

    Number of participants with seroconversion

    Seroconversion is defined as HAI Ab titer \< 10 (1/dil) on Day 01 and post-injection titer ≥ 40 (1/dil) on Day 43; or defined as HAI Ab titer ≥ 10 (1/dil) on Day 01 and a ≥ 4-fold increase in titer (1/dil) on Day 43

    Time frame Day 01 and Day 43

  13. Primary outcome

    Geometric mean titer ratio of individual HAI Ab titer ratio Day 43/Day 01

    Influenza vaccine antibody titers are measured by HAI assay

    Time frame Day 01 and Day 43

  14. Secondary outcome

    Geometric mean titer of hemagglutination inhibition (HAI) assay antibody (Ab) titer obtained on Day 01, Day 22, Day 43, Day 202

    Influenza vaccine antibody titers are measured by HAI assay

    Time frame Day 01, Day 22, Day 43, Day 202

  15. Secondary outcome

    Geometric mean titer ratio of individual HAI Ab titer ratios Day 22/Day 01, Day 43/Day 01, Day 202/Day 43

    Individual HAI Ab titer ratios are calculated for the following time points: Day 22/Day 01, Day 43/Day 01 and Day 202/Day 43

    Time frame Day 01, Day 22, Day 43, Day 202

  16. Secondary outcome

    Number of participants with individual HAI Ab titer ≥ 40 (1/dil) on Day 01, Day 22, Day 43, Day 202

    Influenza vaccine antibody titers are measured by HAI assay

    Time frame Day 01, Day 22, Day 43, Day 202

  17. Secondary outcome

    Number of participants with seroconversion on Day 22 compared to Day 01 (baseline)

    Seroconversion is defined as titer \< 10 (1/dil) on Day 01 and post-injection titer ≥ 40 (1/dil) on Day 22; or defined as titer ≥ 10 (1/dil) on Day 01 and a ≥ 4 fold increase in titer (1/dil) on Day 22

    Time frame Day 01, Day 22

  18. Secondary outcome

    Number of participants with detectable HAI Ab titer

    Detectable HAI Ab titer: a titer ≥ 10 (1/dil)

    Time frame Day 01, Day 22, Day 43, Day 202

  19. Secondary outcome

    Geometric mean titer of neutralization (NT) Ab titer

    Influenza vaccine antibody titers are measured by serum neutralization (SN) assay

    Time frame Day 01, Day 22, Day 43, Day 202

  20. Secondary outcome

    Geometric mean titer ratio of individual NT Ab titer ratio

    Individual NT Ab titer ratios are calculated for the following time points: Day 22/Day 01, Day 43/Day 01 and Day 202/Day 43

    Time frame Day 01, Day 22, Day 43, Day 202

  21. Secondary outcome

    Number of participants with NT Ab titer ≥ 20 (1/dil)

    NT Ab titer ≥ 20 (1/dil) on Day 43; compared to Day 01 and Day 202

    Time frame Day 01, Day 43, Day 202

  22. Secondary outcome

    Number of participants with NT Ab titer ≥ 40 (1/dil)

    NT Ab titer ≥ 40 (1/dil) on Day 43; compared to Day 01 and Day 202

    Time frame Day 01, Day 43, Day 202

  23. Secondary outcome

    Number of participants with NT Ab titer ≥ 80 (1/dil)

    NT Ab titer ≥ 80 (1/dil) on Day 43; compared to Day 01 and Day 202

    Time frame Day 01, Day 43, Day 202

  24. Secondary outcome

    Geometric mean fold-rise of fold increase in NT Ab titer [post/pre] ≥ 2 and ≥ 4

    Influenza vaccine antibody titers are measured by serum neutralization (SN) assay

    Time frame Day 43

  25. Secondary outcome

    Number of participants with detectable NT Ab titer

    Detectable NT Ab titer: a titer ≥ 10 (1/dil) on Day 01, Day 22, Day 43, Day 202

    Time frame Day 01, Day 22, Day 43, Day 202

Dates

Dates
Start dateAugust 3, 2026 (actual)
Primary completionFebruary 22, 2028 (estimated)
CompletionFebruary 22, 2028 (estimated)
First postedAugust 21, 2026 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 15, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedSeptember 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

16 sites are recruiting

United States

United States
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Charlottesville Medical Research- Site Number : 8400016CharlottesvilleVirginiaRecruiting
Alliance for Multispeciality Research - Coral Gables- Site Number : 8400003Coral GablesFloridaRecruiting
Accel Research Sites Network - DeLand Clinical Research Unit- Site Number : 8400017DeLandFloridaRecruiting
iResearch Atlanta- Site Number : 8400008DecaturGeorgiaRecruiting
Accel Research Sites - NeuroStudies- Site Number : 8400014DecaturGeorgiaRecruiting
Alliance for Multispeciality Research - Fort Myers- Site Number : 8400001Fort MyersFloridaRecruiting
Alliance for Multispecialty Research - Weisgarber Medical Park- Site Number : 8400002KnoxvilleTennesseeRecruiting
Indago Research & Health Center- Site Number : 8400010Miami LakesFloridaRecruiting
AMR Clinical Newton, Kansas- Site Number : 8400006NewtonKansasRecruiting
Coastal Carolina Research Center - North Charleston- Site Number : 8400018North CharlestonSouth CarolinaRecruiting
AMR Chicago- Site Number : 8400005Oak BrookIllinoisRecruiting
Rochester Clinical Research- Site Number : 8400012RochesterNew YorkRecruiting
Peninsula Research Associates- Site Number : 8400011Rolling Hills EstatesCaliforniaRecruiting
CenExel JRB - Salth Lake City- Site Number : 8400009Salt Lake CityUtahRecruiting
California Research Foundation- Site Number : 8400007San DiegoCaliforniaRecruiting
AMR Clinical Phoenix, Arizona- Site Number : 8400004TempeArizonaRecruiting

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 15, 2026

    Status changed

    Status changed from Not yet recruiting to Recruiting

    NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING

  2. September 15, 2026

    Recruitment opened

    Recruitment opened

    NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING

  3. September 15, 2026

    Site added

    16 sites added (16 total)

    016