NCT06915233ClinicalTrials.gov
A Study of MACI in Patients Aged 17 to 65 Years With Symptomatic Chondral or Osteochondral Defects of the Ankle
A Prospective, Open-label, Randomized, Concurrent Active-controlled, Longitudinal, Multicenter, Phase 3 Clinical Study of the Safety and Efficacy of MACI in Patients With Symptomatic Chondral or Osteochondral Lesions of the Talus (MASCOT)
En resumen
The objective of this study is to demonstrate the superiority of MACI (autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane) versus Bone Marrow Stimulation in the treatment of patients aged 17 to 65 years with symptomatic articular chondral or osteochondral defects…
Fase 3309 participantes buscados7 centros1 país
Categorías
Registrado en 1 registro
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06915233Abrir este registro en ClinicalTrials.govSincronizado hace 2 meses
Un mismo estudio puede estar registrado en varios registros. Lo mostramos una sola vez y enlazamos con todos los registros que tenemos.
La información del ensayo se muestra tal como la publicó el registro, en su idioma original.
¿Le interesa este estudio?
Iniciar sesión o cree una cuenta para registrar su interés y seguir este estudio.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2025-04-08; recorded start 2026-05-28
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 1 other study in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Vericel Corporation)
- Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 2 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A moderately rigorous design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre5/8
Multi-centre: 7 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study: 309 participants (target), run at 7 sites.
How this score is built
- Enrolment24/40
309 participants (target)
- Site count10/25
7 sites
- Country count0/15
Single country
- Planned duration9/10
Planned over about 50 months
- Sponsor scale1/10
Vericel Corporation has led 2 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Resumen
The objective of this study is to demonstrate the superiority of MACI (autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane) versus Bone Marrow Stimulation in the treatment of patients aged 17 to 65 years with symptomatic articular chondral or osteochondral defects of the talus.
Afecciones
- Chondral Defect
- Articular Cartilage Defect
Elegibilidad
| Sexo | Todos |
|---|---|
| Edades | 17 Years – 65 Years |
| Voluntarios sanos | No |
Elegibilidad tal como figura en el registro
Elegibilidad en frases sencillas
Los criterios de este registro aún no se han desglosado en frases separadas. El texto del registro anterior está completo y es la versión autorizada.
Diseño del estudio
| Tipo de estudio | De intervención |
|---|---|
| Fase | Fase 3 |
| Asignación | Aleatorizado |
| Modelo de intervención | PARALLEL |
| Propósito principal | TREATMENT |
| Enmascaramiento | NONE (0) |
| Inscripción | 309 participantes buscados |
Patrocinador y colaboradores
- Vericel Corporation Patrocinador
Grupos e intervenciones
- MACIEXPERIMENTAL
autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane
- Bone Marrow StimulationOTHER
Surgical procedure
Intervenciones
- Procedimiento Bone Marrow Stimulation
A surgical awl or microdrill will be used to make multiple holes in the exposed base of the lesion. The microfracture procedure should result in holes that are approximately 3 to 4 mm apart. When fat droplets can be seen coming from the marrow cavity, the appropriate depth (approximately 2 to 4 mm) has been reached. The released marrow elements (including mesenchymal stem cells, growth factors, and other healing proteins) form a surgically induced clot that provides an enriched environment for new tissue formation.
- Biológico autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane
An autologous cellularized scaffold combination product being studied for the repair of symptomatic, single or multiple full-thickness cartilage defects of the talus with or without bone involvement in adults.
Variables de resultado
Variable de resultado principal
Change from Baseline to Week 104 in the FAOS Pain and Function (SRA) subscale scores
The FAOS is a 42-item, patient-reported outcome measure that assesses foot and ankle health in the past week. There are five FAOS subscales: Pain, Symptoms, Function (Daily Living), Function (SRA), and Foot and Ankle Related Quality of Life. The FAOS has been validated for a variety of foot and ankle conditions, including OLT. Responses to each question on the FAOS are recorded on a 5-point Likert scale. A normalized score out of 100 is calculated for each subscale, with 0 indicating extreme symptoms and 100 no symptoms. Selection of this composite primary endpoint is consistent with FDA guidance recommending selection of primary endpoints that evaluate changes in Pain and Function (SRA) subscale scores as they represent clinically meaningful outcomes for participants who receive products intended to repair or replace damaged cartilage in the knee.
Plazo Baseline to Week 104
Variable de resultado secundaria
Percentage of participants who respond to study treatment after 2 years, i.e., participants who have ≥ 10-point improvement on both the FAOS Pain and Function (SRA) subscale scores from Baseline to Week 104.
The FAOS is a 42-item, patient-reported outcome measure that assesses foot and ankle health in the past week. There are five FAOS subscales: Pain, Symptoms, Function (Daily Living), Function (SRA), and Foot and Ankle Related Quality of Life. The FAOS has been validated for a variety of foot and ankle conditions, including OLT. Responses to each question on the FAOS are recorded on a 5-point Likert scale. A normalized score out of 100 is calculated for each subscale, with 0 indicating extreme symptoms and 100 no symptoms.
Plazo Baseline to Week 104
Variable de resultado secundaria
Change from Baseline to Week 104 in the remaining FAOS subscales scores [Symptoms, Function (Daily Living) and Quality of Life]
The FAOS is a 42-item, patient-reported outcome measure that assesses foot and ankle health in the past week. There are five FAOS subscales: Pain, Symptoms, Function (Daily Living), Function (SRA), and Foot and Ankle Related Quality of Life. The FAOS has been validated for a variety of foot and ankle conditions, including OLT. Responses to each question on the FAOS are recorded on a 5-point Likert scale. A normalized score out of 100 is calculated for each subscale, with 0 indicating extreme symptoms and 100 no symptoms.
Plazo Baseline to Week 104
Fechas
| Fecha de inicio | 28 de mayo de 2026 (real) |
|---|---|
| Finalización principal | 1 de julio de 2030 (estimada) |
| Finalización | 1 de julio de 2030 (estimada) |
| Primera publicación | 8 de abril de 2025 (real) |
| Última actualización | 23 de julio de 2026 |
| Resultados publicados | No indicado en el registro |
| Estado verificado por última vez | julio de 2026 |
Real significa que el evento ocurrió. Estimada significa que el patrocinador lo prevé. Ambas cosas significan algo distinto.
Ubicaciones
7 centros están en reclutamiento
United States
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Virginia | Charlottesville | Virginia | En reclutamiento |
| Duke Orthopaedic Surgery | Durham | North Carolina | En reclutamiento |
| Elevate Clinical Research | Houston | Texas | En reclutamiento |
| UC Davis Foot and Ankle Clinic | Sacramento | California | En reclutamiento |
| Rodaro, LLC | San Antonio | Texas | En reclutamiento |
| MedStar Georgetown University Hospital | Washington D.C. | District of Columbia | En reclutamiento |
| Elevate Clinical Research Wichita | Wichita | Kansas | En reclutamiento |
Documentos del estudio
No hay documentos enlazados en este registro.
Cambios a lo largo del tiempo
No se han registrado cambios desde que incorporamos este registro por primera vez.
Se registra un cambio cada vez que el patrocinador actualiza el registro. El estado, las fechas, la inscripción y los centros aparecen aquí a medida que cambian.