NCT07609108ClinicalTrials.gov
Pridopidine Phase 3 Study in Huntington's Disease
A Phase 3, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Pridopidine in Participants With Huntington's Disease (HD)
En resumen
The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if pridopidine can slow the clinical decline of Huntington's Disease (HD) in adult participants. It will also inform about the safety of pridopidine. The main questions the study aims to answer…
Fase 3400 participantes buscados66 centros12 países
Categorías
Registrado en 1 registro
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07609108Abrir este registro en ClinicalTrials.govSincronizado hace 3 días
Un mismo estudio puede estar registrado en varios registros. Lo mostramos una sola vez y enlazamos con todos los registros que tenemos.
La información del ensayo se muestra tal como la publicó el registro, en su idioma original.
¿Le interesa este estudio?
Iniciar sesión o cree una cuenta para registrar su interés y seguir este estudio.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-05-27; recorded start 2026-07-01
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 2 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Prilenia)
- Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre0/8
Single site, or site count not stated
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 400 participants (target), run at 66 sites, across 12 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment25/40
400 participants (target)
- Site count0/25
Site count not stated in the record
- Country count0/15
Country count not stated in the record
- Planned duration9/10
Planned over about 49 months
- Sponsor scale1/10
Prilenia has led 3 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Resumen
The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if pridopidine can slow the clinical decline of Huntington's Disease (HD) in adult participants. It will also inform about the safety of pridopidine. The main questions the study aims to answer are: Does pridopidine slow the overall worsening of HD over 1 year? Does pridopidine slow the worsening of specific aspects of HD over 1 year, namely the clinical progression, the ability to perform daily life activities (functional capacity), the mind's ability to process information (cognition), working of the muscles (motor function), and quality of life? Researchers will compare the drug pridopidine to a placebo (a look-alike substance that contains no drug) to see if pridopidine works better than placebo to treat HD. During the first year of the study, participants will have the same chance to receive either pridopidine or placebo. Participants will: Take 1 pridopidine or placebo capsule twice daily for 12 months. Visit the clinic 6 times within 1 year for checkups and tests. All participants who complete this 1-year placebo-controlled study period will roll over into an additional 2-year study period during which all participants will receive pridopidine treatment, including participants who had received placebo during the first year. During this additional 2-year treatment period participants will visit the clinic a total of 6 times for checkups and tests.
Afecciones
- Huntington Disease
Elegibilidad
| Sexo | Todos |
|---|---|
| Edades | 23 Years – 65 Years |
| Voluntarios sanos | No |
Elegibilidad tal como figura en el registro
Elegibilidad en frases sencillas
Los criterios de este registro aún no se han desglosado en frases separadas. El texto del registro anterior está completo y es la versión autorizada.
Diseño del estudio
| Tipo de estudio | De intervención |
|---|---|
| Fase | Fase 3 |
| Asignación | Aleatorizado |
| Modelo de intervención | PARALLEL |
| Propósito principal | TREATMENT |
| Enmascaramiento | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Inscripción | 400 participantes buscados |
Patrocinador y colaboradores
- Prilenia Patrocinador
- Ferrer Internacional S.A. Colaboradores
Grupos e intervenciones
- PridopidineEXPERIMENTAL
During the titration period (2 weeks), pridopidine 45 mg capsules will be taken orally once daily (in the morning) for 2 weeks. Afterwards, pridopidine 45 mg capsules will be taken orally twice daily (in the morning and in the afternoon; 7-10 hours apart) for 50 weeks.
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
During the titration period (2 weeks), matched placebo hard gelatin capsules will be taken once daily (in the morning) for 2 weeks. Afterwards, placebo capsules will be taken twice daily (in the morning and in the afternoon; 7-10 hours apart) for 50 weeks.
Intervenciones
- Fármaco Placebo
Matched placebo hard gelatin capsule
- Fármaco Pridopidine
Pridopidine hard gelatin capsule
Variables de resultado
Variable de resultado principal
Change in Composite Unified Huntington's Disease Rating Scale (cUHDRS)
cUHDRS is a combined score to assess disease progression in HD. It includes TFC, TMS, SDMT, and SWR: Total Functional Capacity (TFC) tests the capacity to maintain daily living, finances, care level, occupation. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=13. Worst score=0. Total Motor Score (TMS) assesses motor features (oculomotor, dysarthria, chorea, dystonia, gait, postural stability). Higher score = worse outcome. Best score=0. Worst score= 124. Stroop Word Reading (SWR) measures attention and mental flexibility. Participant reads names of colors printed in black ink. Scores reflect correct responses in 45 sec. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=100. Worst score=0. Symbol Digit Modalities Test (SDMT) tests psychomotor speed and working memory. Participant has 90 sec to match numbers with symbols. Scores = correct answers in 90 sec. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=120. Worst score=0. Total integrated cUHDRS scale range: -7.6 to 24.8. The higher, the better.
Plazo Change from Baseline to Week 52
Variable de resultado secundaria
Change in Total Functional Capacity (TFC) score
Total Functional Capacity (TFC) tests the capacity to maintain domestic chores, activities of daily living, finances, care level, and occupation. Scores from 0 - 13. Higher score = better outcome.
Plazo Change from Baseline to Week 52
Variable de resultado secundaria
Change in Quantitative Motor (Q-Motor) Finger Tapping Inter-Onset Interval (FT-IOI) mean
Quantitative (Q)-motor is a clinical assessment of fine motor skills that are crucial for daily activities. It is based on the application of pre-calibrated and temperature-controlled force transducers and 3-dimensional position sensors. Higher score = worse outcome.
Plazo Change from Baseline to Week 52
Variable de resultado secundaria
Change in Stroop Word Reading (SWR) score
Stroop Word Reading (SWR) measures attention and mental flexibility. Participant reads names of colors printed in black ink. Scores reflect correct responses in 45 sec. Higher score = better outcome.
Plazo Change from Baseline to Week 52
Fechas
| Fecha de inicio | 1 de julio de 2026 (real) |
|---|---|
| Finalización principal | 1 de junio de 2028 (estimada) |
| Finalización | 1 de junio de 2030 (estimada) |
| Primera publicación | 27 de mayo de 2026 (real) |
| Última actualización | 17 de septiembre de 2026 |
| Resultados publicados | No indicado en el registro |
| Estado verificado por última vez | mayo de 2026 |
Real significa que el evento ocurrió. Estimada significa que el patrocinador lo prevé. Ambas cosas significan algo distinto.
Ubicaciones
5 centros están en reclutamiento
Belgium
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hopital Erasme | Anderlecht | Aún no recluta | |
| Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc | Woluwe-Saint-Lambert | Aún no recluta |
Canada
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Calgary | Calgary | Alberta | Aún no recluta |
| University of Alberta | Edmonton | Alberta | Aún no recluta |
| Centre Hospitalier de l'Universite de Montreal (CHUM) | Montreal | Quebec | Aún no recluta |
| North York General Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | Aún no recluta |
| University of British Columbia | Vancouver | British Columbia | Aún no recluta |
Czechia
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vseobecna Fakultni Nemocnice V Praze | Prague | Aún no recluta |
France
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire D'Angers | Angers | Aún no recluta | |
| CHU Henri Mondor (APHP) | Créteil | Aún no recluta | |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Grenoble Alpes | La Tronche | Aún no recluta | |
| Centre Hospitalier Regional De Marseille | Marseille | Aún no recluta |
Germany
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| Universitaetsklinikum Aachen AöR | Aachen | Aún no recluta | |
| Katholisches Klinikum Bochum gGmbH | Bochum | Aún no recluta | |
| Universitätsklinikum Erlangen | Erlangen | Aún no recluta | |
| George-Huntington-Institut GmbH | Münster | Aún no recluta | |
| Isar Amper Klinikum | Taufkirchen | Aún no recluta | |
| Universitaetsklinikum Ulm AöR | Ulm | Aún no recluta |
Italy
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| Azienda Unita Sanitaria Locale Di Bologna | Bologna | Aún no recluta | |
| IRCCS Istituto Auxologico Italiano | Milan | Aún no recluta | |
| Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Federico II Di Napoli | Naples | Aún no recluta | |
| Azienda Ospedale Università di Padova | Padova | Aún no recluta | |
| Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS | Roma | Aún no recluta | |
| Casa Sollievo Della Sofferenza | San Giovanni Rotondo | Aún no recluta |
Netherlands
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leids Universitair Medisch Centrum (LUMC) | Leiden | Aún no recluta |
Poland
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krakowska Akademia Neurologii Sp. z o.o. | Krakow | Aún no recluta | |
| Wojskowy Instytut Medycyny Lotniczej | Warsaw | Aún no recluta |
Portugal
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unidade Local De Saude De Coimbra E.P.E | Coimbra | Aún no recluta | |
| Unidade Local De Saude De Santa Maria E.P.E. | Lisbon | Aún no recluta | |
| Unidade Local De Saude De Santo Antonio E.P.E. | Porto | Aún no recluta | |
| CNS Saude Lda. | Torres Vedras | Aún no recluta |
Spain
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital Universitario De Cruces | Barakaldo | Aún no recluta | |
| Hospital De La Santa Creu I Sant Pau | Barcelona | Aún no recluta | |
| Hospital Universitario Ramon Y Cajal | Madrid | Aún no recluta | |
| Hospital Universitario Central De Asturias | Oviedo | Aún no recluta | |
| Hospital Universitario Virgen del Rocío | Seville | Aún no recluta |
United Kingdom
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| NHS Grampian | Aberdeen | Aún no recluta | |
| Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation NHS Trust | Birmingham | Aún no recluta | |
| Cardiff University | Cardiff | Aún no recluta | |
| The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust | Liverpool | Aún no recluta | |
| CNTW NHS Foundation Trust | Newcastle upon Tyne | Aún no recluta |
United States
| Centro | Ciudad | Estado o región | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| Johns Hopkins University | Baltimore | Maryland | Aún no recluta |
| The University of Alabama at Birmingham | Birmingham | Alabama | Aún no recluta |
| University of Miami-U Health Boca Raton | Boca Raton | Florida | Aún no recluta |
| University of Vermont Medical Center | Burlington | Vermont | Aún no recluta |
| Massachusetts General Hospital | Charlestown | Massachusetts | Aún no recluta |
| Rush University Medical Center | Chicago | Illinois | Aún no recluta |
| Northwestern University | Chicago | Illinois | Aún no recluta |
| University of Cincinnati | Cincinnati | Ohio | Aún no recluta |
| Cleveland Clinic | Cleveland | Ohio | Aún no recluta |
En el registro figuran 16 centros más.
Documentos del estudio
No hay documentos enlazados en este registro.
Cambios a lo largo del tiempo
- 7 de agosto de 2026
Estado modificado
Status changed from Not yet recruiting to Recruiting
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- 7 de agosto de 2026
Reclutamiento abierto
Recruitment opened
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- 7 de agosto de 2026
Centro añadido
66 sites added (66 total)
066