Aller au contenu principal
xMedica

NCT06581328ClinicalTrials.gov

A Study of Vedolizumab in Adults With Ulcerative Colitis (UC) or Crohn's Disease (CD) in the Community Setting

A Phase 4 Study Evaluating Moderate to Severely Active Ulcerative Colitis or Crohn's Disease and the Use of Vedolizumab Subcutaneous Within a Community Setting

En recrutementAccepte des participants actuellement, selon la fiche du registre.
Contacter cette étude

En bref

Ulcerative Colitis (UC) and Crohn's Disease (CD) are long-term conditions in the gut that can cause diarrhea, swelling (inflammation), bleeding from the anus, and belly pain. The main aim of this study is to check for how many participants with…

Phase 4200 participants recherchés101 sites1 pays

Catégories

Enregistré dans 1 registre

Une même étude peut être enregistrée dans plusieurs registres. Nous l'affichons une seule fois et renvoyons vers chaque fiche que nous détenons.

Les informations de l'essai sont affichées telles que publiées par le registre, dans leur langue d'origine.

Cette étude vous intéresse ?

Se connecter ou créez un compte pour manifester votre intérêt et suivre cette étude.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-09-03; recorded start 2025-03-27
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Not stated: Participants are not randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as non-randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 194 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Takeda)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 2 conditions.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourEXPLORATORY

An exploratory-stage design for a phase 4 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation0/20

    Non-randomised allocation

  • Blinding0/20

    Open-label

  • Control arm0/15

    No comparator arm stated in the record

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 101 sites

  • Data monitoring committee0/7

    No data monitoring committee stated

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleMEDIUM

A medium-sized study: 200 participants (target), run at 101 sites.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment25/40

    400 participants (target)

  • Site count23/25

    101 sites

  • Country count0/15

    Single country

  • Planned duration8/10

    Planned over about 39 months

  • Sponsor scale9/10

    Takeda has led 192 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Résumé

Ulcerative Colitis (UC) and Crohn's Disease (CD) are long-term conditions in the gut that can cause diarrhea, swelling (inflammation), bleeding from the anus, and belly pain. The main aim of this study is to check for how many participants with UC and CD signs and symptoms disappear after 3.5 months (14 weeks) of treatment with Vedolizumab (this is called remission). Participants will be treated with Vedolizumab for approximately 1 year (50 weeks). During the first 1.5 months (6 weeks), participants will receive Vedolizumab as an infusion in the vein (called intravenously). After this, participants will receive Vedolizumab as an injection under the skin (called subcutaneously) for the rest of the treatment. Participants for whom the treatment does not seem to work well after 3.5 months (14 weeks) will stop treatment with Vedolizumab and can change to another treatment and also there will be additional required visits at 6 months (26 weeks) and at 1 year (52 weeks). All participants will be checked again 4.5 months (18 weeks) after their last treatment with Vedolizumab. During the study, participants will visit their study clinic several times.

Affections

  • Ulcerative Colitis
  • Crohn's Disease

Éligibilité

Éligibilité
SexeTous
Âges18 Years80 Years
Volontaires sainsNon

Éligibilité telle qu'elle figure dans le registre

Inclusion Criteria To be eligible to participate in this study, participants must meet all the following criteria: 1. In the investigator's opinion, the participant can understand and comply with protocol requirements. 2. The participant signs and dates an electronic informed consent form (ICF) and any required privacy authorization prior to any study procedures. 3. The participant is 18 to 80 years of age at the time of signing the ICF. 4. The participant's immunization is up to date per vedolizumab US prescribing information (USPI). 5. Participants must meet the contraception recommendations. 6. The participant has a diagnosis of moderate to severely active UC or CD defined by the following: 1. CD: A Crohn's Disease Activity Index (CDAI) score of 220 to 450 and a SES-CD \>=6 (\>=4 if isolated ileal disease) at screening OR 2. UC: A complete Mayo score (MS) of 6 to 12 with endoscopy sub-score of 2 to 3 at screening. 7. UC or CD diagnosis established prior to screening by clinical and endoscopic evidence and corroborated by a histopathology report. 8. Demonstrated an inadequate response to, loss of response to, or intolerance of at least one of the following agents: corticosteroids, immunomodulators, and/or advanced therapy. Exclusion Criteria Participants who meet any of the following exclusion criteria will be excluded from participation in this study: 1. Received approved or investigational anti-integrin antibodies (i.e., vedolizumab, natalizumab, efalizumab, etrolizumab, abrilumab \[AMG 181\]) at any time prior to screening. 2. Failed (primary or secondary nonresponse) on more than 2 prior advanced treatments. 3. Use of corticosteroid enemas/suppositories within 2 weeks prior to screening (for UC and CD). 4. In the investigator's opinion, the participant meets any contraindication, warnings and precautions, drug interactions, or special population considerations per the vedolizumab USPI, or has a medical history or known allergy, hypersensitivity, or intolerance to vedolizumab or its excipients. 5. Received any investigational biologic therapy \<= 6 months prior to screening. 6. The participant has received an advanced treatment for an approved indication other than CD or UC within 60 days prior to screening. a. Advanced therapies include tumor necrosis factor (TNF) inhibitors, 12/23 antagonists, janus kinase (JAK) inhibitors, and sphingosine-1-phosphate (S1P) receptor modulators. 7. The participant has any evidence of an active infection during screening. 8. Ileostomy, colostomy, severe or symptomatic stenosis of the intestine, or short bowel syndrome. 9. A surgical procedure requiring general anesthesia within 30 days prior to screening or planned or possible major surgery during the study period. 10. History of malignancy, except for adequately treated nonmetastatic basal cell skin cancer; adequately treated squamous cell skin cancer that has not recurred for at least 1 year before screening; and adequately treated cervical carcinoma in situ that has not recurred for at least 3 years before screening. Participants with a remote history of malignancy (e.g., \>10 years since completion of curative therapy without recurrence) will be considered based on the nature of the malignancy and therapy received; this must be discussed with the sponsor on a case-by-case basis before enrollment. 11. Participants with any unstable or uncontrolled cardiovascular conditions, moderate to severe heart failure (New York Heart Association Class III or IV), pulmonary, hepatic, renal, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, hematological, coagulation, immunological, endocrine/metabolic, neurological, or other medical disorders that, in the investigator's opinion, would confound the study results or compromise participant safety. 12. Participants with active cerebral or meningeal disease, signs or symptoms or a history of progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML), or any other major neurological disorder, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, brain tumor, or neurodegenerative disease. 13. Participant is not on a stable dose of corticosteroid. 14. Has any of the following laboratory abnormalities during the screening period: (a) hemoglobin \<8 grams per deciliter (g/dL); (b) white blood cell (WBC) count \<3.0 × 10\^9 per liter (L); (c) lymphocyte count \<0.5 × 10\^9/L; (d) platelet count \<100 × 10\^9/L or \>1200 × 10\^9/L; (e) alanine aminotransferase (ALT) or aspartate aminotransferase (AST) \>3.0 × the upper limit of normal (ULN); or (f) alkaline phosphatase (ALP) \>1.5 × ULN. Historical laboratory data may be used for screening if available in the participant's electronic health record (EHR) within 6 weeks before screening.

Éligibilité en énoncés simples

Les critères de cette fiche n'ont pas encore été décomposés en énoncés distincts. Le texte du registre ci-dessus est complet et fait foi.

Conception de l'étude

Conception de l'étude
Type d'étudeInterventionnelle
PhasePhase 4
RépartitionNon randomisée
Modèle d'interventionPARALLEL
Objectif principalTREATMENT
InsuNONE (0)
Recrutement200 participants recherchés

Promoteur et collaborateurs

  • Takeda Promoteur

Groupes et interventions

  • UC Participants: VedolizumabEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants with moderate to severely active UC will receive vedolizumab 300 milligrams (mg), intravenous (IV) infusion at Weeks 0 and 2. Following the first 2 vedolizumab IV doses, participant may be switched to vedolizumab 108 mg subcutaneous (SC) injection at Week 6, to be administered every 2 weeks until Week 50. Treating health care practitioner (HCP) may give an additional dose of vedolizumab IV at Week 6 with mandatory transition by Week 14.

  • CD Participants: VedolizumabEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants with moderate to severely active CD will receive vedolizumab 300 mg, IV infusion at Weeks 0 and 2. Following the first 2 vedolizumab IV doses, participant may be switched to vedolizumab 108 mg SC injection at Week 6, to be administered every 2 weeks until Week 50. Treating HCP may give an additional dose of vedolizumab IV at Week 6 with mandatory transition by Week 14.

Interventions

  • Médicament Vedolizumab IV

    Vedolizumab IV infusion

  • Médicament Vedolizumab SC

    Vedolizumab SC injection

Critères de jugement

  1. Critère de jugement principal

    Percentage of CD Participants With 2-item Patient-reported Outcome Measure (PRO-2) Remission at Week 14

    PRO-2 remission is defined as 7-day average of very soft or liquid stool frequency (SF) less than and equal to (\<=) 2.8, 7-day average of abdominal pain (AP) score \<= 1.0, and neither worse than baseline.

    Délai At Week 14

  2. Critère de jugement principal

    Percentage of UC Participants With PRO-2 Remission at Week 14

    PRO-2 remission is defined as Mayo rectal bleeding sub-score of 0 and stool frequency sub-score \<=1.

    Délai At Week 14

  3. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Percentage of CD and UC Participants With PRO-2 Remission at Weeks 6 and 52

    PRO-2 remission for CD participants is defined as 7-day average of very soft or liquid SF \<= 2.8, 7-day average of AP score \<= 1.0, and neither worse than baseline. PRO-2 remission for UC participants is defined as Mayo rectal bleeding sub-score of 0 and stool frequency sub-score \<=1.

    Délai At Weeks 6 and 52

  4. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Clinical Response at Weeks 6, 14, and 52

    CD clinical response is defined as greater than and equal to (\>=) 100 points decrease from baseline in CDAI score. UC clinical response is defined as reduction in complete Mayo score of \>=3 points and \>=30 percent (%) from baseline with an accompanying decrease in rectal bleeding sub-score of \>=1 point or absolute rectal bleeding sub-score of \<=1 point or an absolute rectal bleeding sub-score of \<=1 point, or a reduction in partial Mayo score of \>=2 points and \>=25% from baseline, if complete Mayo score was not performed at visit.

    Délai At Weeks 6, 14, and 52

  5. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Percentage of CD Participants With Endoscopic Response at Week 52

    Endoscopic response is defined as a \>=50% reduction from baseline in Simple Endoscopic Score for Crohn's Disease (SES-CD) score. SES-CD evaluates 4 endoscopic variables: the intestinal surface affected by ulcers, the intestinal surface affected by other inflammatory lesions, the presence of ulcers, and the presence of narrowing.

    Délai At Week 52

  6. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Percentage of CD Participants Achieving Endoscopic Remission at Week 52

    Endoscopic remission as per SES-CD is defined as a SES-CD score of 0 to 4, with no individual sub-score greater than 1. SES-CD evaluates 4 endoscopic variables: the intestinal surface affected by ulcers, the intestinal surface affected by other inflammatory lesions, the presence of ulcers, and the presence of narrowing.

    Délai At Week 52

  7. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Percentage of UC Participants With Improvement of Endoscopic Appearance of the Mucosa at Week 52

    Improvement of endoscopic appearance of the mucosa is defined as Modified Mayo endoscopic sub-score (MMES) of 0 or 1.

    Délai At Week 52

  8. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Percentage of UC Participants With Endoscopic Remission at Week 52

    Endoscopic remission is defined as a centrally read complete Mayo endoscopy sub-score of 0.

    Délai At Week 52

  9. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Clinical Remission at Weeks 6, 14, and 52

    Clinical Remission for CD is defined as a CDAI \<150 point. Clinical remission for UC is defined as complete MS of \<=2 points and no participant sub-score greater than (\>) 1 point or defined as a partial Mayo score (stool frequency, rectal bleeding, physician's global assessment \[PGA\]) score of \<=2 and no individual sub-score \>1.

    Délai At Weeks 6, 14, and 52

  10. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Clinical Remission at Week 52

    Clinical remission for CD is defined as a CDAI \<150 point. Clinical remission for UC is defined as complete MS of \<=2 points and no participant sub-score \>1 point or defined as a partial Mayo score (stool frequency, rectal bleeding, PGA) score of \<=2 and no individual sub-score \>1. Percentage of CD and UC participants with clinical remission at Week 52, among those participants who achieved clinical remission at Week 6 and 14 will be reported.

    Délai At Week 52

  11. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Change From Baseline in C-reactive Protein (CRP) levels of CD and UC Participants at Weeks 6, 14, 26, and 52

    Change from baseline in CRP levels of CD and UC participants at Weeks 6, 14, 26, and 52 will be reported.

    Délai Baseline, Weeks 6, 14, 26, and 52

  12. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Change From Baseline in Fecal Calprotectin Concentrations of CD and UC participants at Weeks 6, 14, and 52

    Change from baseline in fecal calprotectin concentrations of CD and UC participants at Weeks 6, 14, and 52 will be reported.

    Délai Baseline, Weeks 6, 14, and 52

  13. Critère de jugement secondaire

    Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Serious Infections

    Percentage of CD and UC participants with serious infections will be reported.

    Délai Up to end of study (up to 72 weeks)

Dates

Dates
Date de début27 mars 2025 (réelle)
Achèvement principal1 mai 2027 (estimée)
Achèvement1 juin 2028 (estimée)
Première publication3 septembre 2024 (réelle)
Dernière mise à jour15 septembre 2026
Résultats publiésNon précisé dans la fiche du registre
Statut vérifié pour la dernière foisseptembre 2026

Réelle signifie que l'événement a eu lieu. Estimée signifie que le promoteur s'y attend. Les deux ont un sens différent.

Lieux

78 sites sont en recrutement

United States

United States
ÉtablissementVilleÉtat ou régionStatut
Presbyterian Health care servicesAlbuquerqueNew MexicoRetiré
Digestive Healthcare of GeorgiaAtlantaGeorgiaEn recrutement
AGA GA Research LLCAtlantaGeorgiaEn recrutement
Baton Rouge General Medical Center - Bluebonnet CampusBaton RougeLouisianaEn recrutement
GI AllianceBellevueWashingtonEn recrutement
Gastro HealthBirminghamAlabamaEn recrutement
SSM Health Medical GroupBridgetonMissouriEn recrutement
Access Research InstituteBrooksvilleFloridaEn recrutement
Westchester Putnam Gastroenterology PCCarmelNew YorkEn recrutement
Five Towns GastroenterologyCedarhurstNew YorkEn recrutement
AZ Gastro CareChandlerArizonaEn recrutement
Charlotte Gastroenterology and Hepatology, P.L.L.CCharlotteNorth CarolinaEn recrutement
Capital Digestive CareChevy ChaseMarylandEn recrutement
Gastro Health Research - CincinnatiCincinnatiOhioEn recrutement
Gastro FloridaClearwaterFloridaEn recrutement
Peak Gastroenterology AssociatesColorado SpringsColoradoEn recrutement
GI Associates Research, LLCColumbiaMissouriEn recrutement
Tri-State Gastroenterology AssociatesCrestview HillsKentuckyEn recrutement
DSI Research Northridge LLCDaytonOhioEn recrutement
Atlanta Center for Gastroenterology, P.C.DecaturGeorgiaRetiré
Yapp, Rockford M.D. (Private Practice)Downers GroveIllinoisEn recrutement
The Clinical Trials Network CTNX LLCEl PasoTexasEn recrutement
IMIDeologyElmhurstNew YorkEn recrutement
Gastroenterology and Liver InstituteEscondidoCaliforniaEn recrutement
Gastro Health Research - FraminghamFraminghamMassachusettsEn recrutement
Intercity GastroenterologyFresh MeadowsNew YorkEn recrutement
Amel Med LLCGeorgetownTexasEn recrutement
Spectrum Research Institute LLCGilbertArizonaEn recrutement
Woodholme GastroenterologyGlen BurnieMarylandEn recrutement
GI Alliance - GlenviewGlenviewIllinoisEn recrutement
Carolina Digestive DiseasesGreenvilleNorth CarolinaEn recrutement
Doral Medical Research, LLCHialeahFloridaRetiré
Integrity Advanced TherapeuticsHoustonTexasRetiré
Kelsey Research FoundationHoustonTexasEn recrutement
MedCare Pharma LLCHoustonTexasEn recrutement
Spring Clinical ResearchHoustonTexasEn recrutement
Hutchinson ClinicHutchinsonKansasEn recrutement
Mid America Gastro Intestinal ConsultantsKansas CityMissouriEn recrutement
Gastro Health & NutritionKatyTexasEn recrutement
Tri-Cities GastroenterologyKingsportTennesseeEn recrutement
One of a Kind Clinical Research Center LLCKingwoodTexasEn recrutement
Digestive and Liver Center of Florida, P.A.KissimmeeFloridaEn recrutement
Combined Gastro LLCLafayetteLouisianaEn recrutement
Gastroenterology and Internal Medicine Specialists, SCLake BarringtonIllinoisEn recrutement
NYU Langone Long Island Clinical Research AssociatesLake SuccessNew YorkRetiré
Gastro Health Research - Liberty TownshipLiberty TownshipOhioEn recrutement
UAMS Health Gastroenterology ClinicLittle RockArkansasRetiré
Rocky Mountain Endocopy Centers LLCLittletonColoradoEn recrutement
West Texas Research InstituteLubbockTexasEn recrutement
Great Lakes Gastroenterology Research, LLCMentorOhioEn recrutement

51 sites supplémentaires sont indiqués dans la fiche du registre.

Documents de l'étude

Aucun document n'est lié dans cette fiche du registre.

Évolution au fil du temps

  1. 15 septembre 2026

    Date d'achèvement avancée

    Primary completion advanced 153 days

    2027-10-012027-05-01

  2. 15 septembre 2026

    Objectif de recrutement modifié

    Enrollment target revised down from 400 to 200

    400200