NCT07466316ClinicalTrials.gov
A Study Comparing Higher Dose Chemotherapy Over a Shorter Amount of Time to Lower Dose Chemotherapy Plus Maintenance Over a Longer Amount of Time in Patients With Newly Diagnosed Intermediate-Risk Rhabdomyosarcoma (IR RMS)
A Randomized Phase 3 Study to Compare VAC (Higher Cyclophosphamide Dose and Intensity) Versus VAC/VI (Lower Cyclophosphamide Dose and Intensity) Plus Maintenance Therapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed Intermediate-Risk Rhabdomyosarcoma
En bref
This phase III trial compares higher dose chemotherapy, with vincristine, dactinomycin and cyclophosphamide, over a shorter amount of time to lower dose chemotherapy plus maintenance, with vincristine, dactinomycin, cyclophosphamide, irinotecan and vinorelbine, over a longer amount of time, along with…
Phase 3342 participants recherchés87 sites2 pays
Catégories
Enregistré dans 1 registre
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07466316Ouvrir cette fiche sur ClinicalTrials.govSynchronisé il y a 4 semaines
Une même étude peut être enregistrée dans plusieurs registres. Nous l'affichons une seule fois et renvoyons vers chaque fiche que nous détenons.
Les informations de l'essai sont affichées telles que publiées par le registre, dans leur langue d'origine.
Cette étude vous intéresse ?
Se connecter ou créez un compte pour manifester votre intérêt et suivre cette étude.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-03-12; recorded start 2026-07-14
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 183 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Children's Oncology Group)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: research network.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A moderately rigorous design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 65 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 342 participants (target), run at 87 sites, across 2 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment25/40
342 participants (target)
- Site count21/25
65 sites
- Country count0/15
Single country
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 57 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Children's Oncology Group has led 182 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Résumé
This phase III trial compares higher dose chemotherapy, with vincristine, dactinomycin and cyclophosphamide, over a shorter amount of time to lower dose chemotherapy plus maintenance, with vincristine, dactinomycin, cyclophosphamide, irinotecan and vinorelbine, over a longer amount of time, along with standard of care surgery and radiation, in patients with newly diagnosed intermediate risk rhabdomyosarcoma. Vincristine and vinorelbine are in a class of medications called vinca alkaloids. They work by stopping tumor cells from growing and dividing and may kill them. Dactinomycin is a type of antibiotic that is only used in cancer chemotherapy (antineoplastic antibiotic). It works by damaging the cell's DNA and may kill tumor cells. Cyclophosphamide is in a class of medications called alkylating agents. It works by damaging the cell's DNA and may kill tumor cells. It may also lower the body's immune response. Irinotecan is in a class of antineoplastic medications called topoisomerase I inhibitors. It blocks a certain enzyme needed for cell division and DNA repair and may kill tumor cells. It is not yet known if the higher dose chemotherapy over a shorter amount of time or the lower dose chemotherapy with maintenance over a longer amount of time is more effective in the treatment of patient with newly diagnosed, intermediate risk rhabdomyosarcoma.
Affections
- Rhabdomyosarcoma
Éligibilité
| Sexe | Tous |
|---|---|
| Âges | Aucun minimum – 50 Years |
| Volontaires sains | Non |
Éligibilité telle qu'elle figure dans le registre
Éligibilité en énoncés simples
Les critères de cette fiche n'ont pas encore été décomposés en énoncés distincts. Le texte du registre ci-dessus est complet et fait foi.
Conception de l'étude
| Type d'étude | Interventionnelle |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Répartition | Randomisée |
| Modèle d'intervention | PARALLEL |
| Objectif principal | TREATMENT |
| Insu | NONE (0) |
| Recrutement | 342 participants recherchés |
Promoteur et collaborateurs
- Children's Oncology Group Promoteur
Groupes et interventions
- Regimen A (Higher cyclophosphamide dose regimenEXPERIMENTAL
See Detailed Description for Regimen A.
- Regimen B (Lower cyclophosphamide dose, maintenance)EXPERIMENTAL
See Detailed Description for Regimen B.
Interventions
- Intervention Biospecimen Collection
Undergo blood and cerebrospinal fluid sample collection
- Intervention Bone Marrow Aspiration
Undergo bone marrow aspiration
- Intervention Bone Marrow Biopsy
Undergo bone marrow biopsy
- Intervention Bone Scan
Undergo bone scan
- Intervention Computed Tomography
Undergo CT scan
- Médicament Cyclophosphamide
Given IV and PO
- Produit biologique Dactinomycin
Given IV
- Médicament Irinotecan Hydrochloride
Given IV
- Intervention Lumbar Puncture
Undergo lumbar puncture
- Intervention Lymph Node Biopsy
Undergo lymph node biopsy
- Intervention Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Undergo MRI
- Intervention Positron Emission Tomography
Undergo FDG PET scan
- Radiothérapie Radiation Therapy
Undergo radiation therapy
- Intervention Resection
Undergo resection surgery
- Autre Survey Administration
Ancillary studies
- Médicament Vincristine Sulfate
Given IV
- Médicament Vinorelbine Tartrate
Given IV
Critères de jugement
Critère de jugement principal
Event free survival (EFS)
Will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method and will be compared between the randomized treatment groups using the stratified log-rank test.
Délai From randomization until the first occurrence of progression or relapse, second malignancy, or death, assessed up to 5 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Overall survival (OS)
Will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method and will be compared between the randomized treatment groups using the stratified log-rank test.
Délai From randomization to death from any cause, assessed up to 4 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Clinician-reported adverse events (AEs)
Clinician-reported treatment-related grade 3 or higher AEs will be reported using Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0. Comparison of toxicities will be conducted using Fisher's exact test. The maximum grade for each toxicity will be recorded for each patient. Averages and confidence intervals for these toxicity frequencies will be provided.
Délai Up to 5 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Proportion of patients undergoing delayed primary excision (DPE) among patients deemed to be DPE eligible on retrospective central review
Eligibility for DPE will be established through a retrospective central review of diagnostic and pre-local control imaging. Among the patients deemed eligible for DPE, the proportion of those who undergo DPE will be determined along with 95% confidence interval. Cohen's kappa will be used to assess the concordance between site reviews and central reviews. 95% confidence of kappa statistics will be provided.
Délai Up to week 12 of treatment
Critère de jugement secondaire
Local failure rate for patients deemed eligible for DPE
Cumulative incidence curves will be used to present the local failure rates over time.
Délai Up to 5 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Percentage of molecular biomarker testing that is resulted within the 6-week timeframe
Assessing the feasibility of reporting diagnostic tumor molecular features in patients with clinical group III intermediate risk rhabdomyosarcoma via the molecular characterization initiative (MCI) among the first 50 Clinical Group III patients who initiated treatment and consent to MCI. If 14 or more patients cannot have diagnostic tumor molecular features identified via MCI within 6 weeks of treatment, this aim will be considered not feasible.
Délai Up to cycle 3 (each cycle is 21 days)
Autre critère de jugement
Somatic molecular features TP53 mutation
Binary (1 = Mutation present, 0 = Mutation absent) no unit. Assessed via MCI to determine association with EFS and OS. EFS and OS will be estimated using KM method. The distribution will be compared by molecular features using log-rank test
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
Somatic molecular features MYCN amplification
Binary (1 = Amplified, 0 = Not amplified) no unit. Assessed via MCI to determine association with EFS and OS. EFS and OS will be estimated using KM method. The distribution will be compared by molecular features using log-rank test.
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
Somatic molecular features MYOD1 mutation
Binary (1 = Mutation present, 0 = Mutation absent) no unit. Assessed via MCI to determine association with EFS and OS. EFS and OS will be estimated using KM method. The distribution will be compared by molecular features using log-rank test.
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
Somatic molecular features CDK4 amplification
Binary (1 = Not amplified, 0 = Amplified) no unit. Assessed via MCI to determine association with EFS and OS. EFS and OS will be estimated using KM method. The distribution will be compared by molecular features using log-rank test.
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
Methylation patterns: EFS
Deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) methylation data from rhabdomyosarcoma tumors collected during the conduct of ARST2531 will be analyzed. This data will be collected by array-based methods as part of MCI. The clinical significance of the rhabdomyosarcoma subsets determined in our DNA methylation studies will be analyzed. The association of DNA methylation subsets to EFS will be analyzed using the log-rank test and Cox model.
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
Methylation patterns: OS
DNA methylation data from rhabdomyosarcoma tumors collected during the conduct of ARST2531 will be analyzed. This data will be collected by array-based methods as part of MCI. The clinical significance of the rhabdomyosarcoma subsets determined in our DNA methylation studies will be analyzed. The association of DNA methylation subsets to OS will be analyzed using the log-rank test and Cox model.
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
Use of digital pathology/artificial intelligence: Risk predictions compared to EFS
Risk predictions will be recorded and ultimately compared to clinical outcomes, specifically 4-year EFS.
Délai 4 years from study enrollment
Autre critère de jugement
Use of digital pathology/artificial intelligence: Risk predictions compared to OS
Risk predictions will be recorded and ultimately compared to clinical outcomes, specifically 4-year OS.
Délai 4 years from study enrollment
Autre critère de jugement
Clinical practices of fertility discussions/procedures
Fertility consultation information (risk assessment, available fertility preservation options) will be collected and summarized using frequency and percentage. Frequency and percentage of eligible patients undergoing fertility preservation procedures will be summarized.
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
Patient derived xenograft rhabdomyosarcoma model generation
Will viably collect tumor samples for generation of patient-derived xenograft models that can be used in future research studies to advance the understanding of rhabdomyosarcoma biology.
Délai Pre-treatment and cycle 3 (each cycle is 21 days)
Autre critère de jugement
Household material hardship (HMH)
HMH will be analyzed first as a binary variable (present/absent) and then as an ordinal (0-4) variable. Cox proportional hazard model will be used to assess the association between the binary HMH variable with EFS and OS. Then association between the ordinal measure and EFS and OS will be assessed using COX model.
Délai At time of survey completion, from enrollment until start of cycle 3 (each cycle is 21 days)
Autre critère de jugement
EFS by treatment arm within racial subgroups
Will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The corresponding 95% confidence interval (CI) will be estimated using Peto-peto method.
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
EFS by treatment arm within ethnicity subgroups
Will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The corresponding 95% CI will be estimated using Peto-peto method.
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
EFS by treatment arm within sex subgroups
Will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The corresponding 95% CI will be estimated using Peto-peto method.
Délai Up to 5 years
Dates
| Date de début | 14 juillet 2026 (réelle) |
|---|---|
| Achèvement principal | 31 mars 2031 (estimée) |
| Achèvement | 31 mars 2031 (estimée) |
| Première publication | 12 mars 2026 (réelle) |
| Dernière mise à jour | 25 août 2026 |
| Résultats publiés | Non précisé dans la fiche du registre |
| Statut vérifié pour la dernière fois | août 2026 |
Réelle signifie que l'événement a eu lieu. Estimée signifie que le promoteur s'y attend. Les deux ont un sens différent.
Lieux
85 sites sont en recrutement
Canada
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Sainte-Justine | Montreal | Quebec | En recrutement |
United States
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Children's Hospital Medical Center of Akron | Akron | Ohio | En recrutement |
| Albany Medical Center | Albany | New York | En recrutement |
| Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar Crest | Allentown | Pennsylvania | En recrutement |
| Mission Hospital | Asheville | North Carolina | En recrutement |
| Children's Healthcare of Atlanta - Arthur M Blank Hospital | Atlanta | Georgia | En recrutement |
| Children's Hospital Colorado | Aurora | Colorado | En recrutement |
| Dell Children's Medical Center of Central Texas | Austin | Texas | En recrutement |
| Sinai Hospital of Baltimore | Baltimore | Maryland | En recrutement |
| MaineHealth Coastal Cancer Treatment Center | Bath | Maine | En recrutement |
| Bronson Battle Creek | Battle Creek | Michigan | En recrutement |
| Children's Hospital of Alabama | Birmingham | Alabama | En recrutement |
| Dana-Farber Cancer Institute | Boston | Massachusetts | En recrutement |
| University of Virginia Cancer Center | Charlottesville | Virginia | En recrutement |
| University of Illinois | Chicago | Illinois | En recrutement |
| Lurie Children's Hospital-Chicago | Chicago | Illinois | En recrutement |
| Driscoll Children's Hospital | Corpus Christi | Texas | En recrutement |
| UT Southwestern/Simmons Cancer Center-Dallas | Dallas | Texas | En recrutement |
| Rocky Mountain Hospital for Children-Presbyterian Saint Luke's Medical Center | Denver | Colorado | En recrutement |
| Blank Children's Hospital | Des Moines | Iowa | En recrutement |
| City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center | Duarte | California | En recrutement |
| Inova Fairfax Hospital | Falls Church | Virginia | En recrutement |
| Golisano Children's Hospital of Southwest Florida | Fort Myers | Florida | En recrutement |
| Corewell Health Grand Rapids Hospitals - Helen DeVos Children's Hospital | Grand Rapids | Michigan | En recrutement |
| Trinity Health Grand Rapids Hospital | Grand Rapids | Michigan | En recrutement |
| Corewell Health Grand Rapids Hospitals - Butterworth Hospital | Grand Rapids | Michigan | En recrutement |
| Connecticut Children's Medical Center | Hartford | Connecticut | En recrutement |
| Memorial Regional Hospital/Joe DiMaggio Children's Hospital | Hollywood | Florida | En recrutement |
| Riley Hospital for Children | Indianapolis | Indiana | En recrutement |
| University of Mississippi Medical Center | Jackson | Mississippi | En recrutement |
| Nemours Children's Clinic-Jacksonville | Jacksonville | Florida | En recrutement |
| Bronson Methodist Hospital | Kalamazoo | Michigan | En recrutement |
| West Michigan Cancer Center | Kalamazoo | Michigan | En recrutement |
| Beacon Kalamazoo | Kalamazoo | Michigan | En recrutement |
| Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics | Kansas City | Missouri | En recrutement |
| East Tennessee Childrens Hospital | Knoxville | Tennessee | En recrutement |
| University of Kentucky/Markey Cancer Center | Lexington | Kentucky | Pas encore en recrutement |
| Arkansas Children's Hospital | Little Rock | Arkansas | En recrutement |
| Loma Linda University Medical Center | Loma Linda | California | En recrutement |
| Cedars-Sinai Medical Center | Los Angeles | California | En recrutement |
| Mattel Children's Hospital UCLA | Los Angeles | California | En recrutement |
| Norton Children's Hospital | Louisville | Kentucky | En recrutement |
| Valley Children's Hospital | Madera | California | En recrutement |
| University of Wisconsin Carbone Cancer Center - University Hospital | Madison | Wisconsin | En recrutement |
| University of Wisconsin Carbone Cancer Center - Eastpark Medical Center | Madison | Wisconsin | En recrutement |
| Children's Hospital of Wisconsin | Milwaukee | Wisconsin | En recrutement |
| USA Health Strada Patient Care Center | Mobile | Alabama | En recrutement |
| Trinity Health Muskegon Hospital | Muskegon | Michigan | En recrutement |
| The Children's Hospital at TriStar Centennial | Nashville | Tennessee | En recrutement |
| Corewell Health Lakeland Hospitals - Niles Hospital | Niles | Michigan | En recrutement |
37 sites supplémentaires sont indiqués dans la fiche du registre.
Documents de l'étude
Aucun document n'est lié dans cette fiche du registre.
Évolution au fil du temps
- 25 août 2026
Site ajouté
2 sites added (87 total)
8587
- 21 août 2026
Site ajouté
20 sites added (85 total)
6585
- 30 juillet 2026
Statut modifié
Status changed from Not yet recruiting to Recruiting
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- 30 juillet 2026
Recrutement ouvert
Recruitment opened
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- 30 juillet 2026
Site ajouté
65 sites added (65 total)
065