NCT07609108ClinicalTrials.gov
Pridopidine Phase 3 Study in Huntington's Disease
A Phase 3, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Pridopidine in Participants With Huntington's Disease (HD)
En bref
The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if pridopidine can slow the clinical decline of Huntington's Disease (HD) in adult participants. It will also inform about the safety of pridopidine. The main questions the study aims to answer…
Phase 3400 participants recherchés66 sites12 pays
Catégories
Enregistré dans 1 registre
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07609108Ouvrir cette fiche sur ClinicalTrials.govSynchronisé il y a 3 jours
Une même étude peut être enregistrée dans plusieurs registres. Nous l'affichons une seule fois et renvoyons vers chaque fiche que nous détenons.
Les informations de l'essai sont affichées telles que publiées par le registre, dans leur langue d'origine.
Cette étude vous intéresse ?
Se connecter ou créez un compte pour manifester votre intérêt et suivre cette étude.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-05-27; recorded start 2026-07-01
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 2 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Prilenia)
- Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre0/8
Single site, or site count not stated
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 400 participants (target), run at 66 sites, across 12 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment25/40
400 participants (target)
- Site count0/25
Site count not stated in the record
- Country count0/15
Country count not stated in the record
- Planned duration9/10
Planned over about 49 months
- Sponsor scale1/10
Prilenia has led 3 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Résumé
The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if pridopidine can slow the clinical decline of Huntington's Disease (HD) in adult participants. It will also inform about the safety of pridopidine. The main questions the study aims to answer are: Does pridopidine slow the overall worsening of HD over 1 year? Does pridopidine slow the worsening of specific aspects of HD over 1 year, namely the clinical progression, the ability to perform daily life activities (functional capacity), the mind's ability to process information (cognition), working of the muscles (motor function), and quality of life? Researchers will compare the drug pridopidine to a placebo (a look-alike substance that contains no drug) to see if pridopidine works better than placebo to treat HD. During the first year of the study, participants will have the same chance to receive either pridopidine or placebo. Participants will: Take 1 pridopidine or placebo capsule twice daily for 12 months. Visit the clinic 6 times within 1 year for checkups and tests. All participants who complete this 1-year placebo-controlled study period will roll over into an additional 2-year study period during which all participants will receive pridopidine treatment, including participants who had received placebo during the first year. During this additional 2-year treatment period participants will visit the clinic a total of 6 times for checkups and tests.
Affections
- Huntington Disease
Éligibilité
| Sexe | Tous |
|---|---|
| Âges | 23 Years – 65 Years |
| Volontaires sains | Non |
Éligibilité telle qu'elle figure dans le registre
Éligibilité en énoncés simples
Les critères de cette fiche n'ont pas encore été décomposés en énoncés distincts. Le texte du registre ci-dessus est complet et fait foi.
Conception de l'étude
| Type d'étude | Interventionnelle |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Répartition | Randomisée |
| Modèle d'intervention | PARALLEL |
| Objectif principal | TREATMENT |
| Insu | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Recrutement | 400 participants recherchés |
Promoteur et collaborateurs
- Prilenia Promoteur
- Ferrer Internacional S.A. Collaborateurs
Groupes et interventions
- PridopidineEXPERIMENTAL
During the titration period (2 weeks), pridopidine 45 mg capsules will be taken orally once daily (in the morning) for 2 weeks. Afterwards, pridopidine 45 mg capsules will be taken orally twice daily (in the morning and in the afternoon; 7-10 hours apart) for 50 weeks.
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
During the titration period (2 weeks), matched placebo hard gelatin capsules will be taken once daily (in the morning) for 2 weeks. Afterwards, placebo capsules will be taken twice daily (in the morning and in the afternoon; 7-10 hours apart) for 50 weeks.
Interventions
- Médicament Placebo
Matched placebo hard gelatin capsule
- Médicament Pridopidine
Pridopidine hard gelatin capsule
Critères de jugement
Critère de jugement principal
Change in Composite Unified Huntington's Disease Rating Scale (cUHDRS)
cUHDRS is a combined score to assess disease progression in HD. It includes TFC, TMS, SDMT, and SWR: Total Functional Capacity (TFC) tests the capacity to maintain daily living, finances, care level, occupation. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=13. Worst score=0. Total Motor Score (TMS) assesses motor features (oculomotor, dysarthria, chorea, dystonia, gait, postural stability). Higher score = worse outcome. Best score=0. Worst score= 124. Stroop Word Reading (SWR) measures attention and mental flexibility. Participant reads names of colors printed in black ink. Scores reflect correct responses in 45 sec. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=100. Worst score=0. Symbol Digit Modalities Test (SDMT) tests psychomotor speed and working memory. Participant has 90 sec to match numbers with symbols. Scores = correct answers in 90 sec. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=120. Worst score=0. Total integrated cUHDRS scale range: -7.6 to 24.8. The higher, the better.
Délai Change from Baseline to Week 52
Critère de jugement secondaire
Change in Total Functional Capacity (TFC) score
Total Functional Capacity (TFC) tests the capacity to maintain domestic chores, activities of daily living, finances, care level, and occupation. Scores from 0 - 13. Higher score = better outcome.
Délai Change from Baseline to Week 52
Critère de jugement secondaire
Change in Quantitative Motor (Q-Motor) Finger Tapping Inter-Onset Interval (FT-IOI) mean
Quantitative (Q)-motor is a clinical assessment of fine motor skills that are crucial for daily activities. It is based on the application of pre-calibrated and temperature-controlled force transducers and 3-dimensional position sensors. Higher score = worse outcome.
Délai Change from Baseline to Week 52
Critère de jugement secondaire
Change in Stroop Word Reading (SWR) score
Stroop Word Reading (SWR) measures attention and mental flexibility. Participant reads names of colors printed in black ink. Scores reflect correct responses in 45 sec. Higher score = better outcome.
Délai Change from Baseline to Week 52
Dates
| Date de début | 1 juillet 2026 (réelle) |
|---|---|
| Achèvement principal | 1 juin 2028 (estimée) |
| Achèvement | 1 juin 2030 (estimée) |
| Première publication | 27 mai 2026 (réelle) |
| Dernière mise à jour | 17 septembre 2026 |
| Résultats publiés | Non précisé dans la fiche du registre |
| Statut vérifié pour la dernière fois | mai 2026 |
Réelle signifie que l'événement a eu lieu. Estimée signifie que le promoteur s'y attend. Les deux ont un sens différent.
Lieux
5 sites sont en recrutement
Belgium
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hopital Erasme | Anderlecht | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc | Woluwe-Saint-Lambert | Pas encore en recrutement |
Canada
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Calgary | Calgary | Alberta | Pas encore en recrutement |
| University of Alberta | Edmonton | Alberta | Pas encore en recrutement |
| Centre Hospitalier de l'Universite de Montreal (CHUM) | Montreal | Quebec | Pas encore en recrutement |
| North York General Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | Pas encore en recrutement |
| University of British Columbia | Vancouver | British Columbia | Pas encore en recrutement |
Czechia
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vseobecna Fakultni Nemocnice V Praze | Prague | Pas encore en recrutement |
France
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire D'Angers | Angers | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| CHU Henri Mondor (APHP) | Créteil | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Grenoble Alpes | La Tronche | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Centre Hospitalier Regional De Marseille | Marseille | Pas encore en recrutement |
Germany
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Universitaetsklinikum Aachen AöR | Aachen | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Katholisches Klinikum Bochum gGmbH | Bochum | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Universitätsklinikum Erlangen | Erlangen | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| George-Huntington-Institut GmbH | Münster | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Isar Amper Klinikum | Taufkirchen | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Universitaetsklinikum Ulm AöR | Ulm | Pas encore en recrutement |
Italy
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Azienda Unita Sanitaria Locale Di Bologna | Bologna | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| IRCCS Istituto Auxologico Italiano | Milan | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Federico II Di Napoli | Naples | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Azienda Ospedale Università di Padova | Padova | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS | Roma | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Casa Sollievo Della Sofferenza | San Giovanni Rotondo | Pas encore en recrutement |
Netherlands
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leids Universitair Medisch Centrum (LUMC) | Leiden | Pas encore en recrutement |
Poland
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krakowska Akademia Neurologii Sp. z o.o. | Krakow | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Wojskowy Instytut Medycyny Lotniczej | Warsaw | Pas encore en recrutement |
Portugal
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unidade Local De Saude De Coimbra E.P.E | Coimbra | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Unidade Local De Saude De Santa Maria E.P.E. | Lisbon | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Unidade Local De Saude De Santo Antonio E.P.E. | Porto | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| CNS Saude Lda. | Torres Vedras | Pas encore en recrutement |
Spain
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital Universitario De Cruces | Barakaldo | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Hospital De La Santa Creu I Sant Pau | Barcelona | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Hospital Universitario Ramon Y Cajal | Madrid | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Hospital Universitario Central De Asturias | Oviedo | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Hospital Universitario Virgen del Rocío | Seville | Pas encore en recrutement |
United Kingdom
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| NHS Grampian | Aberdeen | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation NHS Trust | Birmingham | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| Cardiff University | Cardiff | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust | Liverpool | Pas encore en recrutement | |
| CNTW NHS Foundation Trust | Newcastle upon Tyne | Pas encore en recrutement |
United States
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Johns Hopkins University | Baltimore | Maryland | Pas encore en recrutement |
| The University of Alabama at Birmingham | Birmingham | Alabama | Pas encore en recrutement |
| University of Miami-U Health Boca Raton | Boca Raton | Florida | Pas encore en recrutement |
| University of Vermont Medical Center | Burlington | Vermont | Pas encore en recrutement |
| Massachusetts General Hospital | Charlestown | Massachusetts | Pas encore en recrutement |
| Rush University Medical Center | Chicago | Illinois | Pas encore en recrutement |
| Northwestern University | Chicago | Illinois | Pas encore en recrutement |
| University of Cincinnati | Cincinnati | Ohio | Pas encore en recrutement |
| Cleveland Clinic | Cleveland | Ohio | Pas encore en recrutement |
16 sites supplémentaires sont indiqués dans la fiche du registre.
Documents de l'étude
Aucun document n'est lié dans cette fiche du registre.
Évolution au fil du temps
- 7 août 2026
Statut modifié
Status changed from Not yet recruiting to Recruiting
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- 7 août 2026
Recrutement ouvert
Recruitment opened
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- 7 août 2026
Site ajouté
66 sites added (66 total)
066