NCT05812807ClinicalTrials.gov
Pembrolizumab vs. Observation in People With Triple-negative Breast Cancer Who Had a Pathologic Complete Response After Chemotherapy Plus Pembrolizumab
OptimICE-PCR: De-Escalation of Therapy in Early-Stage TNBC Patients Who Achieve pCR After Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy With Checkpoint Inhibitor Therapy
In breve
This phase III trial compares the effect of continuation of treatment with pembrolizumab (usual approach) to observation only at preventing cancer from coming back in patients with early-stage triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) who achieved a pathologic complete response after preoperative…
Fase 31295 partecipanti ricercati846 centri3 paesi
Categorie
Registrato in 1 registro
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT05812807Apri questa scheda su ClinicalTrials.govSincronizzato 2 mesi fa
Uno studio può essere registrato in più registri. Lo mostriamo una volta sola e colleghiamo ogni scheda in nostro possesso.
Le informazioni sulla sperimentazione sono mostrate così come pubblicate dal registro, nella lingua originale.
Ti interessa questo studio?
Accedi oppure crea un account per registrare il tuo interesse e seguire questo studio.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2023-04-14; recorded start 2023-06-14
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Not stated: The record mentions a possible cost to participantsParsed from the study record (summary, description or eligibility text)
To compare patient out-of-pocket costs at approximately 27 weeks between patients randomized to adjuvant pembrolizumab versus observation.
- Present: Sponsor has 95 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 4 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: other.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 842 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 1,295 participants (target), run at 846 sites, across 3 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment31/40
1,295 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
842 sites
- Country count7/15
3 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 121 months
- Sponsor scale7/10
Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology has led 96 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Sintesi
This phase III trial compares the effect of continuation of treatment with pembrolizumab (usual approach) to observation only at preventing cancer from coming back in patients with early-stage triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) who achieved a pathologic complete response after preoperative chemotherapy in combination with pembrolizumab. The usual approach for patients with early-stage TNBC who receive preoperative chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab is to continue to receive pembrolizumab for up to 27 weeks after surgery. Immunotherapy with monoclonal antibodies, such as pembrolizumab, may help the body's immune system attack the cancer, and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. This trial may help researchers determine if observation is as good as receiving pembrolizumab for 27 weeks after surgery in triple-negative breast cancer patients who achieved a pathologic complete response after preoperative treatment with chemotherapy and pembrolizumab.
Patologie
- Anatomic Stage II Breast Cancer AJCC v8
- Early Stage Triple-Negative Breast Carcinoma
- Anatomic Stage IIIA Breast Cancer AJCC v8
- Anatomic Stage IIIB Breast Cancer AJCC v8
Idoneità
| Sesso | Tutti |
|---|---|
| Età | 18 Years – Nessun massimo |
| Volontari sani | No |
Idoneità come riportata nel registro
Idoneità in frasi semplici
I criteri di questa scheda non sono ancora stati suddivisi in affermazioni distinte. Il testo del registro qui sopra è completo ed è la versione autorevole.
Disegno dello studio
| Tipo di studio | Interventistico |
|---|---|
| Fase | Fase 3 |
| Assegnazione | Randomizzata |
| Modello di intervento | PARALLEL |
| Finalità principale | TREATMENT |
| Mascheramento | NONE (0) |
| Arruolamento | 1295 partecipanti ricercati |
Sponsor e collaboratori
- Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology Sponsor
- National Cancer Institute (NCI) Collaboratori
Bracci e interventi
- Arm I (pembrolizumab)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Patients receive pembrolizumab IV over 25-40 minutes Q3W or Q6W for 27 weeks. Patients also undergo tumor biopsy and collection of blood throughout the study. Patients also undergo mammography, breast ultrasound or MRI and during follow-up.
- Arm II (observation)EXPERIMENTAL
Patients undergo observation for 27 weeks. Patients also undergo tumor biopsy and collection of blood throughout the study. Patients also undergo mammography, breast ultrasound or MRI during follow-up.
Interventi
- Procedura Biopsy
Undergo biopsy
- Procedura Biospecimen Collection
Undergo collection of blood
- Altro Patient Observation
Undergo observation
- Biologico Pembrolizumab
Given IV
- Altro Quality-of-Life Assessment
Ancillary studies
- Altro Questionnaire Administration
Ancillary studies
Esiti misurati
Esito primario
Recurrence-free survival (RFS)
Defined as the time from randomization to first invasive local, regional, or distant recurrence or death due to any cause. RFS will be compared between treatment arms using the hazard ratio (with 90% confidence interval and stratified log-rank test) from a stratified Cox model.
Orizzonte temporale Up to 10 years.
Esito secondario
Incidence of adverse events (AEs)
Adverse events will be determined using the latest version of the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE). The proportions of patients with a grade 3 or higher AE will be compared between the arms using a chi-square test. A similar analysis will be done to compare the grade 3 or higher irAE rates
Orizzonte temporale Up to 27 weeks after registration
Esito secondario
Overall survival
Defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. OS will be compared between treatment arms using the hazard ratio (and stratified log-rank test) from a stratified Cox model
Orizzonte temporale Up to 10 years.
Esito secondario
Locoregional recurrence incidence
Defined as the time from randomization to first invasive local or regional recurrence. The cumulative incidence of LRR will be compared between treatment arms using a log-rank test (and estimated using Kaplan-Meier curves).
Orizzonte temporale Up to 10 years.
Esito secondario
Radiation adverse events
Radiation adverse events include pneumonitis, hypothyroidism and dermatitis. Radiation AE event rates will be determined for patients who received radiation. The numerator is the number of patients with the radiation AE and the denominator is the number of patients who received radiation. The analysis of the radiation related adverse event rates will only include patients who received radiation treatment. The radiation AE rates will be compared between the two arms using a chi-square test.
Orizzonte temporale Up to 27 weeks after registration
Date
| Data di inizio | 14 giugno 2023 (effettiva) |
|---|---|
| Conclusione primaria | 31 maggio 2033 (stimata) |
| Conclusione | 31 maggio 2033 (stimata) |
| Prima pubblicazione | 14 aprile 2023 (effettiva) |
| Ultimo aggiornamento | 5 agosto 2026 |
| Risultati pubblicati | Non indicato nella scheda del registro |
| Stato verificato l'ultima volta | agosto 2026 |
«Effettiva» significa che l'evento è avvenuto. «Stimata» significa che lo sponsor lo prevede. Le due cose non sono equivalenti.
Centri
797 centri stanno reclutando
Canada
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cambridge Memorial Hospital | Cambridge | Ontario | In reclutamento |
| BCCA-Cancer Centre for the Southern Interior | Kelowna | British Columbia | In reclutamento |
| Kingston Health Sciences Centre | Kingston | Ontario | In reclutamento |
| London Regional Cancer Program | London | Ontario | In reclutamento |
| Jewish General Hospital | Montreal | Quebec | In reclutamento |
| Ottawa Hospital and Cancer Center-General Campus | Ottawa | Ontario | In reclutamento |
| CHU de Quebec-Hopital du Saint-Sacrement (HSS) | Québec | Quebec | In reclutamento |
| Allan Blair Cancer Centre | Regina | Saskatchewan | In reclutamento |
| Atlantic Health Sciences Corporation-Saint John Regional Hospital | Saint John | New Brunswick | In reclutamento |
| Saskatoon Cancer Centre | Saskatoon | Saskatchewan | In reclutamento |
| Odette Cancer Centre- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre | Toronto | Ontario | In reclutamento |
| University Health Network-Princess Margaret Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | In reclutamento |
| Centre Hospitalier Regional de Trois-Rivieres | Trois-Rivières | Quebec | In reclutamento |
| BCCA-Vancouver Cancer Centre | Vancouver | British Columbia | In reclutamento |
Puerto Rico
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Doctors Cancer Center | Manati | In reclutamento | |
| PROncology | San Juan | In reclutamento | |
| Centro Comprensivo de Cancer de UPR | San Juan | In reclutamento | |
| San Juan City Hospital | San Juan | In reclutamento |
United States
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Avera Cancer Institute-Aberdeen | Aberdeen | South Dakota | In reclutamento |
| Summa Health System - Akron Campus | Akron | Ohio | In reclutamento |
| Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital | Albany | Georgia | Sospeso |
| Atrium Health Stanly/LCI-Albemarle | Albemarle | North Carolina | In reclutamento |
| University of New Mexico Cancer Center | Albuquerque | New Mexico | In reclutamento |
| Presbyterian Kaseman Hospital | Albuquerque | New Mexico | In reclutamento |
| Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar Crest | Allentown | Pennsylvania | In reclutamento |
| AdventHealth Altamonte | Altamonte Springs | Florida | Attivo, non in reclutamento |
| Community Hospital of Anaconda | Anaconda | Montana | In reclutamento |
| Katmai Oncology Group | Anchorage | Alaska | In reclutamento |
| UI Health Care Mission Cancer and Blood - Ankeny Clinic | Ankeny | Iowa | In reclutamento |
| University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center | Ann Arbor | Michigan | In reclutamento |
| Trinity Health Saint Joseph Mercy Hospital Ann Arbor | Ann Arbor | Michigan | In reclutamento |
| Luminis Health Anne Arundel Medical Center | Annapolis | Maryland | In reclutamento |
| Aspirus Cancer Care-Antigo-Volm Cancer Center | Antigo | Wisconsin | In reclutamento |
| ThedaCare Regional Cancer Center | Appleton | Wisconsin | In reclutamento |
| Ascension Northeast Wisconsin-Saint Elizabeth Cancer Center-Appleton | Appleton | Wisconsin | In reclutamento |
| PCR Oncology | Arroyo Grande | California | In reclutamento |
| Mission Hope Medical Oncology - Arroyo Grande | Arroyo Grande | California | In reclutamento |
| Cone Health MedCenter Asheboro | Asheboro | North Carolina | In reclutamento |
| Cone Health Cancer Center at Asheboro | Asheboro | North Carolina | Sospeso |
| Duluth Clinic Ashland | Ashland | Wisconsin | In reclutamento |
| OhioHealth O'Bleness Hospital | Athens | Ohio | In reclutamento |
| University Cancer and Blood Center LLC | Athens | Georgia | Sospeso |
| Emory University Hospital/Winship Cancer Institute | Atlanta | Georgia | In reclutamento |
| Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital | Atlanta | Georgia | In reclutamento |
| Emory University Hospital Midtown | Atlanta | Georgia | In reclutamento |
| Northside Hospital | Atlanta | Georgia | In reclutamento |
| Grady Health System | Atlanta | Georgia | In reclutamento |
| Augusta Oncology Associates PC-Wheeler | Augusta | Georgia | Sospeso |
| Augusta Oncology Associates PC-D'Antignac | Augusta | Georgia | Sospeso |
| Rush-Copley Medical Center | Aurora | Illinois | In reclutamento |
Nella scheda del registro sono indicati altri 796 centri.
Documenti dello studio
In questa scheda del registro non sono collegati documenti.
Modifiche nel tempo
- 5 agosto 2026
Centro aggiunto
4 sites added (846 total)
842846