NCT06283966ClinicalTrials.gov
A Study Evaluating the Efficacy of Budesonide, Glycopyrronium and Formoterol Fumarate Metered Dosed Inhaler on Cardiopulmonary Outcomes in Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
A Randomized, Double-blind, Parallel Group, Multi-center, Phase III Study to Assess the Efficacy of Budesonide, Glycopyrronium, and Formoterol Fumarate Metered Dose Inhaler Relative to Glycopyrronium and Formoterol Fumarate MDI on Cardiopulmonary Outcomes in Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (THARROS)
In breve
This study will evaluate the effect of triple ICS/LAMA/LABA therapy with BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg on cardiopulmonary outcomes relative to LAMA/LABA therapy with GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg in a population with COPD and elevated cardiopulmonary risk.
Fase 35000 partecipanti ricercati921 centri37 paesi
Categorie
Registrato in 1 registro
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06283966Apri questa scheda su ClinicalTrials.govSincronizzato 4 settimane fa
Uno studio può essere registrato in più registri. Lo mostriamo una volta sola e colleghiamo ogni scheda in nostro possesso.
Le informazioni sulla sperimentazione sono mostrate così come pubblicate dal registro, nella lingua originale.
Ti interessa questo studio?
Accedi oppure crea un account per registrare il tuo interesse e seguire questo studio.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Not stated: Registered after enrolment began (about 7 days after the recorded start)First posted 2024-02-28; recorded start 2024-02-21
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 1019 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (AstraZeneca)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 921 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 5,000 participants (target), run at 921 sites, across 37 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment36/40
5,250 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
921 sites
- Country count15/15
37 countries
- Planned duration9/10
Planned over about 46 months
- Sponsor scale10/10
AstraZeneca has led 991 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Sintesi
This study will evaluate the effect of triple ICS/LAMA/LABA therapy with BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg on cardiopulmonary outcomes relative to LAMA/LABA therapy with GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg in a population with COPD and elevated cardiopulmonary risk.
Patologie
- COPD (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease)
Idoneità
| Sesso | Tutti |
|---|---|
| Età | 40 Years – 80 Years |
| Volontari sani | No |
Idoneità come riportata nel registro
Idoneità in frasi semplici
I criteri di questa scheda non sono ancora stati suddivisi in affermazioni distinte. Il testo del registro qui sopra è completo ed è la versione autorevole.
Disegno dello studio
| Tipo di studio | Interventistico |
|---|---|
| Fase | Fase 3 |
| Assegnazione | Randomizzata |
| Modello di intervento | PARALLEL |
| Finalità principale | TREATMENT |
| Mascheramento | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Arruolamento | 5000 partecipanti ricercati |
Sponsor e collaboratori
- AstraZeneca Sponsor
Bracci e interventi
- BGF armEXPERIMENTAL
BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg BID
- GFF armEXPERIMENTAL
GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg BID
Interventi
- Farmaco BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg
Budesonide, glycopyrronium, and formoterol fumarate pressurized inhalation suspension
- Farmaco GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg
Glycopyrronium and formoterol fumarate pressurized inhalation suspension
Esiti misurati
Esito primario
Time to first severe cardiac or COPD event
Evaluate the effect of combination triple therapy (BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg) compared with dual bronchodilator therapy (GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg) on cardiopulmonary outcomes.
Orizzonte temporale Up to 3 years
Esito secondario
Time to first severe COPD exacerbation event
Evaluate the effect of combination triple therapy (BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg) compared with dual bronchodilator therapy (GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg) on severe COPD exacerbations.
Orizzonte temporale Up to 3 years
Esito secondario
Time to first severe cardiac event
Evaluate the effect of combination triple therapy (BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg) compared with dual bronchodilator therapy (GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg) on severe cardiac outcomes.
Orizzonte temporale Up to 3 years
Esito secondario
Time to cardiopulmonary death
Evaluate the effect of combination triple therapy (BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg) compared with dual bronchodilator therapy (GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg) on cardiopulmonary deaths.
Orizzonte temporale Up to 3 years
Esito secondario
Moderate/severe COPD exacerbation rate
Evaluate the effect of combination triple therapy (BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg) compared with dual bronchodilator therapy (GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg) on moderate/severe COPD exacerbations.
Orizzonte temporale Over time, up 3 years
Esito secondario
Time to Myocardial Infarction (MI) hospitalization or cardiac death
Evaluate the effect of combination triple therapy (BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg) compared with dual bronchodilator therapy (GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg) on the time to MI hospitalization (or cardiac death).
Orizzonte temporale Up to 3 years
Esito secondario
Time to Heart Failure (HF) acute healthcare visit/hospitalization or cardiac death
Evaluate the effect of combination triple therapy (BGF MDI 320/14.4/9.6 μg) compared with dual bronchodilator therapy (GFF MDI 14.4/9.6 μg) on the time to HF acute healthcare visit/hospitalization (or cardiac death).
Orizzonte temporale Up to 3 years
Altro esito
Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events leading to discontinuation (DAEs), Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESIs) of pneumonia leading to hospitalization or death
To assess the safety and tolerability of BGF MDI and GFF MDI
Orizzonte temporale Up to 3 years
Date
| Data di inizio | 21 febbraio 2024 (effettiva) |
|---|---|
| Conclusione primaria | 3 dicembre 2027 (stimata) |
| Conclusione | 3 dicembre 2027 (stimata) |
| Prima pubblicazione | 28 febbraio 2024 (effettiva) |
| Ultimo aggiornamento | 26 agosto 2026 |
| Risultati pubblicati | Non indicato nella scheda del registro |
| Stato verificato l'ultima volta | agosto 2026 |
«Effettiva» significa che l'evento è avvenuto. «Stimata» significa che lo sponsor lo prevede. Le due cose non sono equivalenti.
Centri
685 centri stanno reclutando
Argentina
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Buenos Aires | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Buenos Aires | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Buenos Aires | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | CABA | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Capital Federal | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Ciudad de Buenos Aires | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Ciudad de Buenos Aires | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Florida | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Mar del Plata | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Mendoza | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Ranelagh | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Rosario | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | San Fernando | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | San Juan Bautista | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | San Miguel de Tucumán | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | San Miguel de Tucumán | In reclutamento |
Australia
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Birtinya | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Cairns | Ritirato | |
| Research Site | Chermside | Completato | |
| Research Site | Coffs Harbour | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Dubbo | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Nedlands | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Port Macquarie | Ritirato | |
| Research Site | Spearwood | Completato | |
| Research Site | St Albans | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | St Albans | Completato | |
| Research Site | Waitara | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Wangaratta | Ritirato |
Austria
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Bad Ischl | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Braunau am Inn | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Feldbach | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Graz | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Vienna | Ritirato |
Brazil
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Belo Horizonte | Ritirato | |
| Research Site | Belo Horizonte | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Belo Horizonte | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Blumenau | Completato | |
| Research Site | Brasília | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Brasília | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Brasília | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Brasília | Ritirato | |
| Research Site | Campina Grande do Sul | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Campinas | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Caxias do Sul | Ritirato | |
| Research Site | Curitiba | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Curitiba | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Curitiba | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Fortaleza | Completato | |
| Research Site | Ijuí | In reclutamento | |
| Research Site | Juiz de Fora | Completato |
Nella scheda del registro sono indicati altri 871 centri.
Documenti dello studio
In questa scheda del registro non sono collegati documenti.
Modifiche nel tempo
- 26 agosto 2026
Obiettivo di arruolamento modificato
Enrollment target revised down from 5250 to 5000
52505000