NCT07609108ClinicalTrials.gov
Pridopidine Phase 3 Study in Huntington's Disease
A Phase 3, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Pridopidine in Participants With Huntington's Disease (HD)
In breve
The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if pridopidine can slow the clinical decline of Huntington's Disease (HD) in adult participants. It will also inform about the safety of pridopidine. The main questions the study aims to answer…
Fase 3400 partecipanti ricercati66 centri12 paesi
Categorie
Registrato in 1 registro
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07609108Apri questa scheda su ClinicalTrials.govSincronizzato 3 giorni fa
Uno studio può essere registrato in più registri. Lo mostriamo una volta sola e colleghiamo ogni scheda in nostro possesso.
Le informazioni sulla sperimentazione sono mostrate così come pubblicate dal registro, nella lingua originale.
Ti interessa questo studio?
Accedi oppure crea un account per registrare il tuo interesse e seguire questo studio.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-05-27; recorded start 2026-07-01
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 2 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Prilenia)
- Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre0/8
Single site, or site count not stated
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 400 participants (target), run at 66 sites, across 12 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment25/40
400 participants (target)
- Site count0/25
Site count not stated in the record
- Country count0/15
Country count not stated in the record
- Planned duration9/10
Planned over about 49 months
- Sponsor scale1/10
Prilenia has led 3 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Sintesi
The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if pridopidine can slow the clinical decline of Huntington's Disease (HD) in adult participants. It will also inform about the safety of pridopidine. The main questions the study aims to answer are: Does pridopidine slow the overall worsening of HD over 1 year? Does pridopidine slow the worsening of specific aspects of HD over 1 year, namely the clinical progression, the ability to perform daily life activities (functional capacity), the mind's ability to process information (cognition), working of the muscles (motor function), and quality of life? Researchers will compare the drug pridopidine to a placebo (a look-alike substance that contains no drug) to see if pridopidine works better than placebo to treat HD. During the first year of the study, participants will have the same chance to receive either pridopidine or placebo. Participants will: Take 1 pridopidine or placebo capsule twice daily for 12 months. Visit the clinic 6 times within 1 year for checkups and tests. All participants who complete this 1-year placebo-controlled study period will roll over into an additional 2-year study period during which all participants will receive pridopidine treatment, including participants who had received placebo during the first year. During this additional 2-year treatment period participants will visit the clinic a total of 6 times for checkups and tests.
Patologie
- Huntington Disease
Idoneità
| Sesso | Tutti |
|---|---|
| Età | 23 Years – 65 Years |
| Volontari sani | No |
Idoneità come riportata nel registro
Idoneità in frasi semplici
I criteri di questa scheda non sono ancora stati suddivisi in affermazioni distinte. Il testo del registro qui sopra è completo ed è la versione autorevole.
Disegno dello studio
| Tipo di studio | Interventistico |
|---|---|
| Fase | Fase 3 |
| Assegnazione | Randomizzata |
| Modello di intervento | PARALLEL |
| Finalità principale | TREATMENT |
| Mascheramento | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Arruolamento | 400 partecipanti ricercati |
Sponsor e collaboratori
- Prilenia Sponsor
- Ferrer Internacional S.A. Collaboratori
Bracci e interventi
- PridopidineEXPERIMENTAL
During the titration period (2 weeks), pridopidine 45 mg capsules will be taken orally once daily (in the morning) for 2 weeks. Afterwards, pridopidine 45 mg capsules will be taken orally twice daily (in the morning and in the afternoon; 7-10 hours apart) for 50 weeks.
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
During the titration period (2 weeks), matched placebo hard gelatin capsules will be taken once daily (in the morning) for 2 weeks. Afterwards, placebo capsules will be taken twice daily (in the morning and in the afternoon; 7-10 hours apart) for 50 weeks.
Interventi
- Farmaco Placebo
Matched placebo hard gelatin capsule
- Farmaco Pridopidine
Pridopidine hard gelatin capsule
Esiti misurati
Esito primario
Change in Composite Unified Huntington's Disease Rating Scale (cUHDRS)
cUHDRS is a combined score to assess disease progression in HD. It includes TFC, TMS, SDMT, and SWR: Total Functional Capacity (TFC) tests the capacity to maintain daily living, finances, care level, occupation. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=13. Worst score=0. Total Motor Score (TMS) assesses motor features (oculomotor, dysarthria, chorea, dystonia, gait, postural stability). Higher score = worse outcome. Best score=0. Worst score= 124. Stroop Word Reading (SWR) measures attention and mental flexibility. Participant reads names of colors printed in black ink. Scores reflect correct responses in 45 sec. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=100. Worst score=0. Symbol Digit Modalities Test (SDMT) tests psychomotor speed and working memory. Participant has 90 sec to match numbers with symbols. Scores = correct answers in 90 sec. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=120. Worst score=0. Total integrated cUHDRS scale range: -7.6 to 24.8. The higher, the better.
Orizzonte temporale Change from Baseline to Week 52
Esito secondario
Change in Total Functional Capacity (TFC) score
Total Functional Capacity (TFC) tests the capacity to maintain domestic chores, activities of daily living, finances, care level, and occupation. Scores from 0 - 13. Higher score = better outcome.
Orizzonte temporale Change from Baseline to Week 52
Esito secondario
Change in Quantitative Motor (Q-Motor) Finger Tapping Inter-Onset Interval (FT-IOI) mean
Quantitative (Q)-motor is a clinical assessment of fine motor skills that are crucial for daily activities. It is based on the application of pre-calibrated and temperature-controlled force transducers and 3-dimensional position sensors. Higher score = worse outcome.
Orizzonte temporale Change from Baseline to Week 52
Esito secondario
Change in Stroop Word Reading (SWR) score
Stroop Word Reading (SWR) measures attention and mental flexibility. Participant reads names of colors printed in black ink. Scores reflect correct responses in 45 sec. Higher score = better outcome.
Orizzonte temporale Change from Baseline to Week 52
Date
| Data di inizio | 1 luglio 2026 (effettiva) |
|---|---|
| Conclusione primaria | 1 giugno 2028 (stimata) |
| Conclusione | 1 giugno 2030 (stimata) |
| Prima pubblicazione | 27 maggio 2026 (effettiva) |
| Ultimo aggiornamento | 17 settembre 2026 |
| Risultati pubblicati | Non indicato nella scheda del registro |
| Stato verificato l'ultima volta | maggio 2026 |
«Effettiva» significa che l'evento è avvenuto. «Stimata» significa che lo sponsor lo prevede. Le due cose non sono equivalenti.
Centri
5 centri stanno reclutando
Belgium
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hopital Erasme | Anderlecht | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc | Woluwe-Saint-Lambert | Non ancora in reclutamento |
Canada
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Calgary | Calgary | Alberta | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| University of Alberta | Edmonton | Alberta | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| Centre Hospitalier de l'Universite de Montreal (CHUM) | Montreal | Quebec | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| North York General Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| University of British Columbia | Vancouver | British Columbia | Non ancora in reclutamento |
Czechia
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vseobecna Fakultni Nemocnice V Praze | Prague | Non ancora in reclutamento |
France
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire D'Angers | Angers | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| CHU Henri Mondor (APHP) | Créteil | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Grenoble Alpes | La Tronche | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Centre Hospitalier Regional De Marseille | Marseille | Non ancora in reclutamento |
Germany
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Universitaetsklinikum Aachen AöR | Aachen | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Katholisches Klinikum Bochum gGmbH | Bochum | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Universitätsklinikum Erlangen | Erlangen | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| George-Huntington-Institut GmbH | Münster | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Isar Amper Klinikum | Taufkirchen | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Universitaetsklinikum Ulm AöR | Ulm | Non ancora in reclutamento |
Italy
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Azienda Unita Sanitaria Locale Di Bologna | Bologna | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| IRCCS Istituto Auxologico Italiano | Milan | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Federico II Di Napoli | Naples | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Azienda Ospedale Università di Padova | Padova | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS | Roma | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Casa Sollievo Della Sofferenza | San Giovanni Rotondo | Non ancora in reclutamento |
Netherlands
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leids Universitair Medisch Centrum (LUMC) | Leiden | Non ancora in reclutamento |
Poland
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krakowska Akademia Neurologii Sp. z o.o. | Krakow | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Wojskowy Instytut Medycyny Lotniczej | Warsaw | Non ancora in reclutamento |
Portugal
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unidade Local De Saude De Coimbra E.P.E | Coimbra | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Unidade Local De Saude De Santa Maria E.P.E. | Lisbon | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Unidade Local De Saude De Santo Antonio E.P.E. | Porto | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| CNS Saude Lda. | Torres Vedras | Non ancora in reclutamento |
Spain
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital Universitario De Cruces | Barakaldo | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Hospital De La Santa Creu I Sant Pau | Barcelona | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Hospital Universitario Ramon Y Cajal | Madrid | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Hospital Universitario Central De Asturias | Oviedo | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Hospital Universitario Virgen del Rocío | Seville | Non ancora in reclutamento |
United Kingdom
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| NHS Grampian | Aberdeen | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation NHS Trust | Birmingham | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| Cardiff University | Cardiff | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust | Liverpool | Non ancora in reclutamento | |
| CNTW NHS Foundation Trust | Newcastle upon Tyne | Non ancora in reclutamento |
United States
| Struttura | Città | Stato o regione | Stato |
|---|---|---|---|
| Johns Hopkins University | Baltimore | Maryland | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| The University of Alabama at Birmingham | Birmingham | Alabama | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| University of Miami-U Health Boca Raton | Boca Raton | Florida | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| University of Vermont Medical Center | Burlington | Vermont | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| Massachusetts General Hospital | Charlestown | Massachusetts | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| Rush University Medical Center | Chicago | Illinois | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| Northwestern University | Chicago | Illinois | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| University of Cincinnati | Cincinnati | Ohio | Non ancora in reclutamento |
| Cleveland Clinic | Cleveland | Ohio | Non ancora in reclutamento |
Nella scheda del registro sono indicati altri 16 centri.
Documenti dello studio
In questa scheda del registro non sono collegati documenti.
Modifiche nel tempo
- 7 agosto 2026
Stato modificato
Status changed from Not yet recruiting to Recruiting
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- 7 agosto 2026
Reclutamento aperto
Recruitment opened
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- 7 agosto 2026
Centro aggiunto
66 sites added (66 total)
066