Zum Hauptinhalt springen
xMedica

NCT05174169ClinicalTrials.gov

Colon Adjuvant Chemotherapy Based on Evaluation of Residual Disease

RekrutiertNimmt laut Registereintrag derzeit Teilnehmende auf.
Diese Studie kontaktieren

Kurz gefasst

This Phase II/III trial will evaluate the what kind of chemotherapy to recommend to patients based on the presence or absences of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) after surgery for colon cancer.

Phase 2 / Phase 31.912 Teilnehmende gesucht1.077 Studienzentren3 Länder

Kategorien

In 1 Register registriert

Eine Studie kann in mehreren Registern registriert sein. Wir zeigen sie einmal und verlinken jeden Eintrag, den wir haben.

Die Studieninformationen werden so angezeigt, wie sie vom Register veröffentlicht wurden, in ihrer Originalsprache.

Interesse an dieser Studie?

Anmelden oder ein Konto erstellen um Ihr Interesse zu bekunden und diese Studie zu verfolgen.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2021-12-30; recorded start 2022-07-08
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 49 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (NRG Oncology)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 1 condition.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: other.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourSTRONG

A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding0/20

    Open-label

  • Control arm15/15

    Active-comparator control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 1063 sites

  • Data monitoring committee7/7

    A data monitoring committee is in place

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleLARGE

A large study, international in scope: 1,912 participants (target), run at 1,077 sites, across 3 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment33/40

    1,912 participants (target)

  • Site count25/25

    1,063 sites

  • Country count7/15

    3 countries

  • Planned duration10/10

    Planned over about 93 months

  • Sponsor scale6/10

    NRG Oncology has led 49 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Zusammenfassung

This Phase II/III trial will evaluate the what kind of chemotherapy to recommend to patients based on the presence or absences of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) after surgery for colon cancer.

Currently, there are no biomarkers validated prospectively in randomized studies for resected colon cancer to determine need for adjuvant chemotherapy. However, circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) shed into the bloodstream represents a highly specific and sensitive approach (especially with serial monitoring) for identifying microscopic or residual tumor cells in colon cancer patients and may outperform traditional clinical and pathological features in prognosticating risk for recurrence. Colon cancer patients who do not have detectable ctDNA (ctDNA-) are at a much lower risk of recurrence and may not need adjuvant chemotherapy. Furthermore, for colon cancer pts with detectable ctDNA (ctDNA+) who are at a very high risk of recurrence, the optimal adjuvant chemotherapy regimen has not been established. We hypothesize that for pts whose colon cancer has been resected, ctDNA status may be used to risk stratify for making decisions about adjuvant chemotherapy.

Erkrankungen

  • Stage III Colon Cancer

Eignung

Eignung
GeschlechtAlle
Alter18 YearsKein Höchstalter
Gesunde FreiwilligeNein

Eignung im Wortlaut des Registers

Inclusion Criteria: The patient must have an ECOG performance status of 0 or 1. Patients must have histologically/pathologically confirmed Stage IIB, IIC, or Stage III colon adenocarcinoma with R0 resection according to AJCC 8th edition criteria. No radiographic evidence of overt metastatic disease within 45 days prior to Step 1/Study entry (CT with IV contrast or MRI imaging is acceptable and must include chest, abdomen, and pelvis). The distal extent of the tumor must be greater than or equal to 12 cm from the anal verge on colonoscopy or above the peritoneal reflection as documented during surgery or on pathology specimen (i.e., excluding rectal adenocarcinomas warranting treatment with chemoradiation). The patient must have had an en bloc complete gross resection of tumor (curative resection). Patients who have had a two-stage surgical procedure, to first provide a decompressive colostomy and then in a later procedure to have the definitive surgical resection, are eligible. The resected tumor specimen and a blood specimen from patients with Stage IIB, IIC, or Stage III colon cancer must have central testing for ctDNA using the Signatera™ assay by Natera (after Step 1/Study entry and before Step2/Randomization). Patient must have sufficient tissue to meet protocol requirements. This blood specimen for the Signatera assay must be collected after surgery (and recommended at least 14 days post surgery). Tumor must be documented as microsatellite stable or have intact mismatch repair proteins through CLIA-approved laboratory testing. Patients whose tumors are MSI-H or dMMR are excluded. The treating investigator must deem the patient a candidate for all potential agents used in this trial (5FU, LV, oxaliplatin and irinotecan). The interval between surgery (post-operative Day 7) and Step 1/Study entry must be no more than 60 days. NOTE: Step 1/Study Entry may occur as early as post operative Day 7, but it cannot occur beyond 60 days from the actual date of the patient's surgery. Availability and provision of adequate surgical tumor tissue for molecular diagnostics and confirmatory profiling. Adequate hematologic function within 28 days before Step 1/Study entry defined as follows: * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) must be greater than or equal to 1500/mm3; * Participants with benign ethnic neutropenia (BEN): ANC less than 1300 mm3 are eligible. * BEN (also known as constitutional neutropenia) is an inherited cause of mild or moderate neutropenia that is not associated with any increased risk for infections or other clinical manifestations. BEN is referred to as ethnic neutropenia because of its increased prevalence in people of African descent and other specific ethnic groups. * Platelet count must be greater than or equal to 100,000/mm3; and * Hemoglobin must be greater than or equal to 9 g/dL. Adequate hepatic function within 28 days before Step 1/Study entry defined as follows: * total bilirubin must be less than or equal to ULN (upper limit of normal) for the lab and * alkaline phosphatase must be less than 2.5 x ULN for the lab; and * AST and ALT must be less than 2.5 x ULN for the lab. Adequate renal function within 28 days before Step 1/Study entry defined as serum creatinine less than or equal to 1.5 x ULN for the lab or measured or calculated creatinine clearance greater than or equal to 50 mL/min using the Cockroft-Gault formula for patients with creatinine levels greater than 1.5 x ULN for the lab. For Women Creatinine Clearance (mL/min) = (140 - age) x weight (kg) x 0.85 72 x serum creatinine (mg/dL) For Men Creatinine Clearance (mL/min) = (140 - age) x weight (kg) 72 x serum creatinine (mg/dL) NOTE: Adjusted body weight (AdjBW) should be used for patients that have BMI greater than or equal to 28 (less than or equal to 30% above IBW). HIV-infected patients on effective anti-retroviral therapy with undetectable viral load within 6 months are eligible for this trial. Pregnancy test (urine or serum according to institutional standard) done within 14 days before Step 1/Study entry must be negative (for women of childbearing potential only). Patients receiving a coumarin-derivative anticoagulant must agree to weekly monitoring of INR if they are randomized to Arm 1 or Arm 3 and receive capecitabine. Eligibility Criteria for Cohort A Arm-2 patients on Second Randomization Patient must have developed a ctDNA +ve assay during serial monitoring. Patient's willingness to be re-randomized affirmed. The patient must continue to have an ECOG performance status of 0 or 1. No radiographic evidence of overt metastatic disease. Pregnancy test (urine or serum according to institutional standard) done within 14 days before second randomization must be negative (for women of childbearing potential only). Adequate hematologic function within 28 days before second randomization defined as follows: * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) must be greater than or equal to 1500/mm3; * Participants with benign ethnic neutropenia (BEN): ANC less than 1300 mm3 are eligible. * BEN (also known as constitutional neutropenia) is an inherited cause of mild or moderate neutropenia that is not associated with any increased risk for infections or other clinical manifestations. BEN is referred to as ethnic neutropenia because of its increased prevalence in people of African descent and other specific ethnic groups. * Platelet count must be greater than or equal to 100,000/mm3; and * Hemoglobin must be greater than or equal to 9 g/dL. Adequate hepatic function within 28 days before second randomization defined as follows: * total bilirubin must be less than or equal to ULN (upper limit of normal) for the lab and * alkaline phosphatase must be less than 2.5 x ULN for the lab; and * AST and ALT must be less than 2.5 x ULN for the lab. Adequate renal function within 28 days before second randomization defined as serum creatinine less than or equal to 1.5 x ULN for the lab or measured or calculated creatinine clearance greater than or equal to 50 mL/min using the Cockroft-Gault formula for patients with creatinine levels greater than 1.5 x ULN for the lab. For Women Creatinine Clearance (mL/min) = (140 - age) x weight (kg) x 0.85 72 x serum creatinine (mg/dL) For Men Creatinine Clearance (mL/min) = (140 - age) x weight (kg) 72 x serum creatinine (mg/dL) Exclusion Criteria: Colon cancer histology other than adenocarcinoma (i.e., neuroendocrine carcinoma, sarcoma, lymphoma, squamous cell carcinoma, etc.). Pathologic, clinical, or radiologic overt evidence of metastatic disease. This includes isolated, distant, or non-contiguous intra-abdominal metastases, even if resected. Tumor-related bowel perforation. History of prior invasive colon malignancy, regardless of disease-free interval. History of bone marrow or solid organ transplantation (regardless of current immunosuppressive therapy needs). Bone grafts, skin grafts, corneal transplants and organ/tissue donation are not exclusionary. Any prior systemic chemotherapy, targeted therapy, or immunotherapy; or radiation therapy administered as treatment for colorectal cancer (e.g., primary colon adenocarcinomas for which treatment with neoadjuvant chemotherapy and/or radiation is warranted are not permitted). EXCEPTION: one cycle of chemotherapy (regimen per treating physicians' discretion - 5-FU or capecitabine with or without oxaliplatin) is allowed but not required after consent. The optional cycle of chemotherapy should be started greater than or equal to 4 weeks from surgery and while awaiting Step 2 randomization. Other invasive malignancy within 5 years before Step 1/Study entry. Exceptions are colonic polyps, non-melanoma skin cancer or any carcinoma-in-situ. Synchronous primary rectal and/ or colon cancers. Patients with known history or current symptoms of cardiac disease, or history of treatment with cardiotoxic agents, should have a clinical risk assessment of cardiac function using the New York Heart Association Functional Classification. To be eligible for this trial, patients should be class 2B or better. Sensory or motor neuropathy greater than or equal to grade 2, according to CTCAE v5.0. Blood transfusion within two weeks before collection of blood for central ctDNA testing. Active seizure disorder uncontrolled by medication. Active or chronic infection requiring systemic therapy. Known homozygous DPD (dihydropyrimidine dehydrogenase) deficiency. Patients known to have Gilbert's Syndrome or homozygosity for UGT1A1\*28 polymorphism. Pregnancy or lactation at the time of Step 1/Study entry. Co-morbid illnesses or other concurrent disease that would make the patient inappropriate for entry into this study (i.e., unable to tolerate 6 months of combination chemotherapy or interfere significantly with the proper assessment of safety and toxicity of the prescribed regimens or prevent required follow-up). Ineligibility Criteria for Cohort A Arm-2 patients on Second Randomization Pregnancy or lactation at the time of randomization. No longer a candidate for systemic chemotherapy (FOLFOX, CAPOX, and mFOLFIRINOX) in the opinion of the treating investigator.

Eignung in einfachen Aussagen

Die Kriterien dieses Eintrags wurden noch nicht in einzelne Aussagen aufgeschlüsselt. Der Registertext oben ist vollständig und ist die maßgebliche Fassung.

Studiendesign

Studiendesign
StudientypInterventionell
PhasePhase 2 / Phase 3
ZuteilungRandomisiert
InterventionsmodellPARALLEL
Primäres ZielTREATMENT
VerblindungNONE (0)
Teilnahme1.912 Teilnehmende gesucht

Sponsor und Mitwirkende

  • NRG Oncology Sponsor
  • Natera, Inc. Mitwirkende
  • National Cancer Institute (NCI) Mitwirkende

Studienarme und Interventionen

  • Cohort A - Arm 1 (ctDNA-ve)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR

    Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 400mg/m2 bolus + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 6-12 cycles OR Oxaliplatin 130 mg/m2 IV Day 1 every 3 weeks + Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 BID by mouth days 1-14 every 3 weeks for 4 cycles

  • Cohort A - Arm 2 (ctDNA-ve)EXPERIMENTAL

    Serial ctDNA monitoring no treatment

  • Cohort B - Arm 3 (ctDNA+ve)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR

    Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 400mg/m2 bolus + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 12 cycles OR Oxaliplatin 130 mg/m2 IV Day 1 every 3 weeks + Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 BID by mouth days 1-14 every 3 weeks for 8 cycles

  • Cohort B - Arm 4 (ctDNA+ve)EXPERIMENTAL

    Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + Irinotecan 150 mg/m2 IV continuous infusion (30-90 minutes) + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 12 cycles

Interventionen

  • Arzneimittel CAPOX 3 month

    Oxaliplatin 130 mg/m2 IV Day 1 every 3 weeks + Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 BID by mouth days 1-14 every 3 weeks for 4 cycles

  • Arzneimittel CAPOX 6 month

    Oxaliplatin 130 mg/m2 IV Day 1 every 3 weeks + Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 BID by mouth days 1-14 every 3 weeks for 8 cycles

  • Medizinprodukt Signatera test

    Central ctDNA testing for all patients

  • Arzneimittel mFOLFIRINOX

    Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + Irinotecan 150 mg/m2 IV continuous infusion (30-90 minutes) + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 12 cycles

  • Arzneimittel mFOLFOX6 3-6 month

    Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 400mg/m2 bolus + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 6-12 cycles

  • Arzneimittel mFOLFOX6 6 month

    Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 400mg/m2 bolus + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 12 cycles

Endpunkte

  1. Primärer Endpunkt

    ctDNA positive status (TTPos)

    TTPos is defined as time from randomization until ctDNA positive event: TTPos events are first ctDNA positive result after randomization for the immediate adjuvant chemo arm (Arm 1), 2nd ctDNA positive result after randomization for the delayed adjuvant chemo (Arm 2) and recurrence without a positive ctDNA result for both arms.

    Zeitrahmen Time from randomization to the first TTPos event, a maximum of 3 years

  2. Primärer Endpunkt

    Disease-Free Survival (DFS)

    Time from randomization to first disease-free survival event (recurrence, second primary colorectal cancer or death from any cause).

    Zeitrahmen Time from randomization to disease-free survival event, a maximum of 5 years]

  3. Sekundärer Endpunkt

    Baseline post-surgery ctDNA positivity rate

    percentage of patients with ctDNA positive results post-surgery at study entry.

    Zeitrahmen At time of randomization

  4. Sekundärer Endpunkt

    Overall Survival (OS)

    Time from randomization to death of any cause.

    Zeitrahmen Time from randomization to death, a maximum of 5 years.

  5. Sekundärer Endpunkt

    Recurrence

    Time from randomization to disease recurrence.

    Zeitrahmen Time from randomization to disease recurrence, a maximum of 5 years

  6. Sekundärer Endpunkt

    Compliance with adjuvant chemotherapy

    number of cycles of chemotherapy received.

    Zeitrahmen from randomization to the last cycle of chemotherapy, a maximum of 6 months.

Daten

Daten
Startdatum8. Juli 2022 (tatsächlich)
Primärer Abschluss10. März 2029 (geschätzt)
Abschluss10. März 2030 (geschätzt)
Erstveröffentlichung30. Dezember 2021 (tatsächlich)
Zuletzt aktualisiert2. September 2026
Ergebnisse veröffentlichtIm Registereintrag nicht angegeben
Status zuletzt bestätigtSeptember 2026

Tatsächlich bedeutet, dass das Ereignis eingetreten ist. Geschätzt bedeutet, dass der Sponsor es erwartet. Die beiden bedeuten Unterschiedliches.

Standorte

964 Studienzentren rekrutieren

Canada

Canada
EinrichtungStadtBundesland oder RegionStatus
Royal Victoria Regional Health CentreBarrieOntarioRekrutiert
Arthur J E Child Comprehensive Cancer CentreCalgaryAlbertaRekrutiert
Cambridge Memorial HospitalCambridgeOntarioRekrutiert
CSSS Champlain-Charles Le MoyneGreenfield ParkQuebecRekrutiert
Juravinski Cancer Centre at Hamilton Health SciencesHamiltonOntarioRekrutiert
Kingston Health Sciences CentreKingstonOntarioRekrutiert
Waterloo Regional Health NetworkKitchenerOntarioRekrutiert
London Regional Cancer ProgramLondonOntarioRekrutiert
Hotel-Dieu De LevisLévisQuebecRekrutiert
Markham Stouffville HospitalMarkhamOntarioRekrutiert
Jewish General HospitalMontrealQuebecRekrutiert
Hopital Du Sacre-Coeur de MontrealMontrealQuebecRekrutiert
CIUSSSEMTL-Hopital Maisonneuve-RosemontMontrealQuebecRekrutiert
Stronach Regional Health Centre at SouthlakeNewmarketOntarioRekrutiert
Lakeridge Health OshawaOshawaOntarioRekrutiert
Ottawa Hospital and Cancer Center-General CampusOttawaOntarioRekrutiert
BCCA-Cancer Centre for the NorthPrince GeorgeBritish ColumbiaRekrutiert
CHU de Quebec-L'Hotel-Dieu de Quebec (HDQ)QuébecQuebecRekrutiert
Allan Blair Cancer CentreReginaSaskatchewanRekrutiert
Niagara Health System-Saint Catharines GeneralSaint CatharinesOntarioRekrutiert
Atlantic Health Sciences Corporation-Saint John Regional HospitalSaint JohnNew BrunswickRekrutiert
Saskatoon Cancer CentreSaskatoonSaskatchewanRekrutiert
Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke-FleurimontSherbrookeQuebecRekrutiert
Doctor H. Bliss Murphy Cancer CentreSt. John'sNewfoundland and LabradorRekrutiert
Odette Cancer Centre- Sunnybrook Health Sciences CentreTorontoOntarioRekrutiert
Humber River HospitalTorontoOntarioRekrutiert
North York General HospitalTorontoOntarioRekrutiert
Saint Michael's HospitalTorontoOntarioRekrutiert
BCCA-Vancouver Cancer CentreVancouverBritish ColumbiaRekrutiert
BCCA-Vancouver Island Cancer CentreVictoriaBritish ColumbiaRekrutiert
Windsor Regional Cancer CentreWindsorOntarioAusgesetzt

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico
EinrichtungStadtBundesland oder RegionStatus
Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLC - CayeyCayeyRekrutiert
Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLC - DoradoDoradoRekrutiert
Doctors Cancer CenterManatiRekrutiert
Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLCSan JuanRekrutiert
Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLC - MayaguezSan JuanPRRekrutiert
Centro Comprensivo de Cancer de UPRSan JuanRekrutiert
PROncologySan JuanRekrutiert
San Juan City HospitalSan JuanRekrutiert
Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLC - CiudadelaSan JuanRekrutiert

United States

United States
EinrichtungStadtBundesland oder RegionStatus
Abbeville General HospitalAbbevilleLouisianaRekrutiert
UM Upper Chesapeake Hematology and Oncology - AberdeenAberdeenMarylandRekrutiert
Avera Cancer Institute-AberdeenAberdeenSouth DakotaRekrutiert
Cleveland Clinic Akron GeneralAkronOhioRekrutiert
Summa Health System - Akron CampusAkronOhioRekrutiert
Phoebe Putney Memorial HospitalAlbanyGeorgiaRekrutiert
University of New Mexico Cancer CenterAlbuquerqueNew MexicoRekrutiert
Presbyterian Kaseman HospitalAlbuquerqueNew MexicoRekrutiert
Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar CrestAllentownPennsylvaniaRekrutiert
Aultman Alliance Community HospitalAllianceOhioRekrutiert

1.027 weitere Studienzentren sind im Registereintrag aufgeführt.

Studiendokumente

In diesem Registereintrag sind keine Dokumente verlinkt.

Änderungen im Zeitverlauf

  1. 2. September 2026

    Studienzentrum hinzugefügt

    11 sites added (1077 total)

    10661077

  2. 4. August 2026

    Studienzentrum hinzugefügt

    3 sites added (1066 total)

    10631066