NCT05174169ClinicalTrials.gov
Colon Adjuvant Chemotherapy Based on Evaluation of Residual Disease
In brief
This Phase II/III trial will evaluate the what kind of chemotherapy to recommend to patients based on the presence or absences of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) after surgery for colon cancer.
Phase 2 / Phase 31,912 participants sought1,077 sites3 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT05174169Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 weeks ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2021-12-30; recorded start 2022-07-08
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 49 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (NRG Oncology)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: other.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 1063 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 1,912 participants (target), run at 1,077 sites, across 3 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment33/40
1,912 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
1,063 sites
- Country count7/15
3 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 93 months
- Sponsor scale6/10
NRG Oncology has led 49 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This Phase II/III trial will evaluate the what kind of chemotherapy to recommend to patients based on the presence or absences of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) after surgery for colon cancer.
Conditions
- Stage III Colon Cancer
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 2 / Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 1,912 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- NRG Oncology Sponsor
- Natera, Inc. Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI) Collaborators
Arms and interventions
- Cohort A - Arm 1 (ctDNA-ve)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 400mg/m2 bolus + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 6-12 cycles OR Oxaliplatin 130 mg/m2 IV Day 1 every 3 weeks + Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 BID by mouth days 1-14 every 3 weeks for 4 cycles
- Cohort A - Arm 2 (ctDNA-ve)EXPERIMENTAL
Serial ctDNA monitoring no treatment
- Cohort B - Arm 3 (ctDNA+ve)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 400mg/m2 bolus + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 12 cycles OR Oxaliplatin 130 mg/m2 IV Day 1 every 3 weeks + Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 BID by mouth days 1-14 every 3 weeks for 8 cycles
- Cohort B - Arm 4 (ctDNA+ve)EXPERIMENTAL
Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + Irinotecan 150 mg/m2 IV continuous infusion (30-90 minutes) + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 12 cycles
Interventions
- Drug CAPOX 3 month
Oxaliplatin 130 mg/m2 IV Day 1 every 3 weeks + Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 BID by mouth days 1-14 every 3 weeks for 4 cycles
- Drug CAPOX 6 month
Oxaliplatin 130 mg/m2 IV Day 1 every 3 weeks + Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 BID by mouth days 1-14 every 3 weeks for 8 cycles
- Device Signatera test
Central ctDNA testing for all patients
- Drug mFOLFIRINOX
Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + Irinotecan 150 mg/m2 IV continuous infusion (30-90 minutes) + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 12 cycles
- Drug mFOLFOX6 3-6 month
Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 400mg/m2 bolus + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 6-12 cycles
- Drug mFOLFOX6 6 month
Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV + Leucovorin 400mg/m2 IV + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 400mg/m2 bolus + 5-Fluorouracil (5-FU) 2400mg/m2 IV continuous infusion over 46-48 hours (total dose) Day1 every 2 weeks for 12 cycles
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
ctDNA positive status (TTPos)
TTPos is defined as time from randomization until ctDNA positive event: TTPos events are first ctDNA positive result after randomization for the immediate adjuvant chemo arm (Arm 1), 2nd ctDNA positive result after randomization for the delayed adjuvant chemo (Arm 2) and recurrence without a positive ctDNA result for both arms.
Time frame Time from randomization to the first TTPos event, a maximum of 3 years
Primary outcome
Disease-Free Survival (DFS)
Time from randomization to first disease-free survival event (recurrence, second primary colorectal cancer or death from any cause).
Time frame Time from randomization to disease-free survival event, a maximum of 5 years]
Secondary outcome
Baseline post-surgery ctDNA positivity rate
percentage of patients with ctDNA positive results post-surgery at study entry.
Time frame At time of randomization
Secondary outcome
Overall Survival (OS)
Time from randomization to death of any cause.
Time frame Time from randomization to death, a maximum of 5 years.
Secondary outcome
Recurrence
Time from randomization to disease recurrence.
Time frame Time from randomization to disease recurrence, a maximum of 5 years
Secondary outcome
Compliance with adjuvant chemotherapy
number of cycles of chemotherapy received.
Time frame from randomization to the last cycle of chemotherapy, a maximum of 6 months.
Dates
| Start date | July 8, 2022 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | March 10, 2029 (estimated) |
| Completion | March 10, 2030 (estimated) |
| First posted | December 30, 2021 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 2, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | September 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
964 sites are recruiting
Canada
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre | Barrie | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Arthur J E Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre | Calgary | Alberta | Recruiting |
| Cambridge Memorial Hospital | Cambridge | Ontario | Recruiting |
| CSSS Champlain-Charles Le Moyne | Greenfield Park | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Juravinski Cancer Centre at Hamilton Health Sciences | Hamilton | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Kingston Health Sciences Centre | Kingston | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Waterloo Regional Health Network | Kitchener | Ontario | Recruiting |
| London Regional Cancer Program | London | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Hotel-Dieu De Levis | Lévis | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Markham Stouffville Hospital | Markham | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Jewish General Hospital | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Hopital Du Sacre-Coeur de Montreal | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| CIUSSSEMTL-Hopital Maisonneuve-Rosemont | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Stronach Regional Health Centre at Southlake | Newmarket | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Lakeridge Health Oshawa | Oshawa | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Ottawa Hospital and Cancer Center-General Campus | Ottawa | Ontario | Recruiting |
| BCCA-Cancer Centre for the North | Prince George | British Columbia | Recruiting |
| CHU de Quebec-L'Hotel-Dieu de Quebec (HDQ) | Québec | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Allan Blair Cancer Centre | Regina | Saskatchewan | Recruiting |
| Niagara Health System-Saint Catharines General | Saint Catharines | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Atlantic Health Sciences Corporation-Saint John Regional Hospital | Saint John | New Brunswick | Recruiting |
| Saskatoon Cancer Centre | Saskatoon | Saskatchewan | Recruiting |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke-Fleurimont | Sherbrooke | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Doctor H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Centre | St. John's | Newfoundland and Labrador | Recruiting |
| Odette Cancer Centre- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Humber River Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| North York General Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Saint Michael's Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| BCCA-Vancouver Cancer Centre | Vancouver | British Columbia | Recruiting |
| BCCA-Vancouver Island Cancer Centre | Victoria | British Columbia | Recruiting |
| Windsor Regional Cancer Centre | Windsor | Ontario | Suspended |
Puerto Rico
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLC - Cayey | Cayey | Recruiting | |
| Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLC - Dorado | Dorado | Recruiting | |
| Doctors Cancer Center | Manati | Recruiting | |
| Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLC | San Juan | Recruiting | |
| Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLC - Mayaguez | San Juan | PR | Recruiting |
| Centro Comprensivo de Cancer de UPR | San Juan | Recruiting | |
| PROncology | San Juan | Recruiting | |
| San Juan City Hospital | San Juan | Recruiting | |
| Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLC - Ciudadela | San Juan | Recruiting |
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Abbeville General Hospital | Abbeville | Louisiana | Recruiting |
| UM Upper Chesapeake Hematology and Oncology - Aberdeen | Aberdeen | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Avera Cancer Institute-Aberdeen | Aberdeen | South Dakota | Recruiting |
| Cleveland Clinic Akron General | Akron | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Summa Health System - Akron Campus | Akron | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital | Albany | Georgia | Recruiting |
| University of New Mexico Cancer Center | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Recruiting |
| Presbyterian Kaseman Hospital | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Recruiting |
| Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar Crest | Allentown | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| Aultman Alliance Community Hospital | Alliance | Ohio | Recruiting |
1,027 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- September 2, 2026
Site added
11 sites added (1077 total)
10661077
- August 4, 2026
Site added
3 sites added (1066 total)
10631066