NCT06531824ClinicalTrials.gov
EASi-KIDNEY™ (The Studies of Heart & Kidney Protection With BI 690517 in Combination With Empagliflozin)
A Multicenter, International, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Clinical Trial of the Aldosterone Synthase Inhibitor BI 690517 in Combination With Empagliflozin in Patients With Chronic Kidney Disease
Kurz gefasst
This study is open to adults with chronic kidney disease at risk of progression. People with and without type 2 diabetes can take part in this study. The study is open to people who take other medicines called angiotensin converting…
Phase 311.000 Teilnehmende gesucht557 Studienzentren20 Länder
Kategorien
In 1 Register registriert
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06531824Diesen Eintrag bei ClinicalTrials.gov öffnenSynchronisiert vorgestern
Eine Studie kann in mehreren Registern registriert sein. Wir zeigen sie einmal und verlinken jeden Eintrag, den wir haben.
Die Studieninformationen werden so angezeigt, wie sie vom Register veröffentlicht wurden, in ihrer Originalsprache.
Interesse an dieser Studie?
Anmelden oder ein Konto erstellen um Ihr Interesse zu bekunden und diese Studie zu verfolgen.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-08-01; recorded start 2024-08-30
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 1218 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Boehringer Ingelheim)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 480 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A very large study, international in scope: 11,000 participants (target), run at 557 sites, across 20 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment38/40
11,000 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
480 sites
- Country count15/15
20 countries
- Planned duration9/10
Planned over about 49 months
- Sponsor scale10/10
Boehringer Ingelheim has led 1,211 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Zusammenfassung
This study is open to adults with chronic kidney disease at risk of progression. People with and without type 2 diabetes can take part in this study. The study is open to people who take other medicines called angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitors (ACEi) or angiotensin receptor blockers (ARB). People who already take empagliflozin or any other sodium-glucose cotransporter-2 inhibitor (SGLT2i) can also join. The study is also open to people who currently do not take any of these treatments. The purpose of this study is to find out whether a medicine called BI 690517 helps people with chronic kidney disease when taken in combination with a study medicine called empagliflozin. Worsening of kidney function increases the risk for kidney failure, cardiovascular disease, and heart failure hospitalisation. After a run-in period, during which participants are confirmed to be receiving clinically appropriate renin-angiotensin system blockade and are established on empagliflozin, they are randomly assigned (by chance) to 1 of 2 groups. One group receives BI 690517 tablets, and the other group receives placebo tablets. Placebo tablets look like BI 690517 but do not contain any medicine. Participants take 1 study tablet once a day, in addition to empagliflozin, for the duration of the study. The doctors document when participants experience worsening of their kidney disease, go to hospital due to heart failure, or die of cardiovascular problems during the study. The time to these events is compared between the 2 treatment groups to see whether the treatment works. The study continues until the required number of events have occurred which is about 3 to 4 years. During this time, participants visit the study site about 5 times within the first 6 months. Then they visit the study site every 6 months. At the visits, doctors regularly check participants' health, take blood and urine samples, measure blood pressure and weight, check kidney function, and take note of any unwanted effects.
Erkrankungen
- Kidney Disease, Chronic
Eignung
| Geschlecht | Alle |
|---|---|
| Alter | 18 Years – Kein Höchstalter |
| Gesunde Freiwillige | Nein |
Eignung im Wortlaut des Registers
Eignung in einfachen Aussagen
Die Kriterien dieses Eintrags wurden noch nicht in einzelne Aussagen aufgeschlüsselt. Der Registertext oben ist vollständig und ist die maßgebliche Fassung.
Studiendesign
| Studientyp | Interventionell |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Zuteilung | Randomisiert |
| Interventionsmodell | PARALLEL |
| Primäres Ziel | TREATMENT |
| Verblindung | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Teilnahme | 11.000 Teilnehmende gesucht |
Sponsor und Mitwirkende
- Boehringer Ingelheim Sponsor
Studienarme und Interventionen
- Part 1: Run-in period (all participants)OTHER
* Participant will receive empagliflozin (called Type E) together with study tablets (called Type F) prior to later randomisation to the main study treatment (Type M). * This run-in period allows empagliflozin to be established and have its effects on kidney function before randomisation, and to make sure participant can tolerate empagliflozin long-term. Participants will not routinely know whether type F treatment is active or inactive so that participants can become familiar with taking main study tablet (Type M) after randomization.
- Part 2: Randomized treatment, follow-up period, treatment groupEXPERIMENTAL
- Part 2: Follow-up period, placebo groupPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
Interventionen
- Arzneimittel BI 690517
BI 690517 (called Type M randomized treatment)
- Arzneimittel Empagliflozin
Empagliflozin (called Type E)
- Arzneimittel Placebo matching BI 690517
Placebo matching BI 690517
Endpunkte
Primärer Endpunkt
Time to first occurrence of the primary composite outcome of: (i) Kidney disease progression*; or (ii) Hospitalization for heart failure; or (iii) Cardiovascular death.
Kidney disease progression is defined as kidney failure or a sustained decline of ≥40% in estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (eGFR) from randomization
Zeitrahmen up to 4 years
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Key secondary outcome: Time to first event of kidney failure, hospitalization for heart failure or cardiovascular death
Zeitrahmen up to 4 years
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Key secondary outcome: Time to first event of hospitalization for heart failure or cardiovascular death
Zeitrahmen up to 4 years
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Key secondary outcome: Occurrences of hospitalizations from any cause (first and any subsequent, combined) or death from any cause
Zeitrahmen up to 4 years
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Key secondary outcome: Time to death from any cause
Zeitrahmen up to 4 years
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Key secondary outcome: Annual rate of change in eGFR from 1 month until last scheduled visit (i.e. chronic eGFR slope)
Zeitrahmen up to 4 years
Sekundärer Endpunkt
Time to first event of kidney disease progression or cardiovascular death
Zeitrahmen up to 4 years
Daten
| Startdatum | 30. August 2024 (tatsächlich) |
|---|---|
| Primärer Abschluss | 30. August 2028 (geschätzt) |
| Abschluss | 30. August 2028 (geschätzt) |
| Erstveröffentlichung | 1. August 2024 (tatsächlich) |
| Zuletzt aktualisiert | 17. September 2026 |
| Ergebnisse veröffentlicht | Im Registereintrag nicht angegeben |
| Status zuletzt bestätigt | September 2026 |
Tatsächlich bedeutet, dass das Ereignis eingetreten ist. Geschätzt bedeutet, dass der Sponsor es erwartet. Die beiden bedeuten Unterschiedliches.
Standorte
557 Studienzentren rekrutieren
Argentina
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fundacion INTECNUS | Bariloche | Rekrutiert | |
| Terapia Renal Domiciliaria | Buenos Aires | Rekrutiert | |
| Centro de Salud Renal Junin SRL | Buenos Aires | Rekrutiert | |
| Dres. Iribarren & Asoc. Consultario | Buenos Aires | Rekrutiert | |
| Glenny Corp - Centro Medico Saavedra | Buenos Aires | Rekrutiert | |
| CPSIC SRL - Cardiologia Palermo | CABA | Rekrutiert | |
| Sanatorio Pasteur S.A | Catamarca | Rekrutiert | |
| CEMIC | Ciudad Autonoma Buenos Aires | Rekrutiert | |
| CIMEL Chahin - Chahin S.A. | Lanús Este | Rekrutiert | |
| Centro Nefrologico del Mar | Mar del Plata | Rekrutiert | |
| Mains Bleues | Rafaela | Rekrutiert | |
| Sanatorio Parque S.A. | Rosario | Rekrutiert | |
| Hospital Privado de Rosario | Rosario | Rekrutiert | |
| Instituto de Nefrourologia y Nutricion de Salta | Salta | Rekrutiert | |
| Clinica El Castaño | San Juan | Rekrutiert | |
| Centro de Investigaciones Medicas Tucuman | San Miguel de Tucumán | Rekrutiert | |
| Centro Integral de Medicina Respiratoria - CIMER | San Miguel de Tucumán | Rekrutiert | |
| Instituto de Investigaciones Clinicas de Rosario | Santa Fe | Rekrutiert | |
| CEREHA S.A.- Centro de Estudios Renales e Hipertension Arterial | Villa Domínico | Rekrutiert |
Australia
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flinders Medical Centre | Bedford Park | South Australia | Rekrutiert |
| Eastern Health-Box Hill Hospital | Box Hill | Victoria | Rekrutiert |
| Renal Research, Gosford | Gosford | New South Wales | Rekrutiert |
| Austin Health | Heidelberg Heights | Victoria | Rekrutiert |
| St George Hospital | Kogarah | New South Wales | Rekrutiert |
| Liverpool Hospital | Liverpool | New South Wales | Rekrutiert |
| The Alfred Hospital | Melbourne | Victoria | Rekrutiert |
| St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne | Melbourne | Victoria | Rekrutiert |
| Macquarie University | New South Wales | Rekrutiert | |
| Westmead Hospital | New South Wales | Rekrutiert | |
| Hervey Bay Hospital | Pialba | Queensland | Rekrutiert |
| Port Macquarie Base Hospital (PMBH) | Port Macquarie | New South Wales | Rekrutiert |
| Griffith University | Southport | Queensland | Rekrutiert |
| Sunshine Hospital | St Albans | Victoria | Rekrutiert |
| Toowoomba Hospital | Toowoomba | Queensland | Rekrutiert |
Belgium
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| AZ Sint-Jan Brugge | Bruges | Rekrutiert | |
| Ziekenhuis Oost-Limburg | Genk | Rekrutiert | |
| UZ Brussel | Jette | Rekrutiert | |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Liège | Liège | Rekrutiert |
Brazil
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centro de Pesquisa Clínica do Coração | Aracaju | Rekrutiert | |
| Santa Casa de Belo Horizonte | Belo Horizonte | Rekrutiert | |
| Centro de Pesquisa do Hospital Evangelico de Belo Horizonte | Belo Horizonte | Rekrutiert | |
| Universidade Estadual Paulista "Julio De Mesquita Filho" | Botucatu | Rekrutiert | |
| Hospital Universitário São Francisco na Providência de Deus | Bragança Paulista | Rekrutiert | |
| CEG - Centro de Endocrinologia Geloneze | Campinas | Rekrutiert | |
| Instituto Cardiovascular de Linhares Ltda | Centro Linhares | Rekrutiert | |
| PUC Trials - Núcleo de Pesquisa Clínica da Escola de Medicina da PUC-PR | Curitiba | Rekrutiert | |
| Hospital Universitário Walter Cantídio - UFC | Fortaleza | Rekrutiert | |
| Centro de Pesquisas em Diabetes e Doencas Metabolicas | Fortaleza | Rekrutiert | |
| Hospital Ruy Azeredo | Goiânia | Rekrutiert | |
| Clínica CENDI Endocrinologia e Diabetes | Goiânia | Rekrutiert |
507 weitere Studienzentren sind im Registereintrag aufgeführt.
Studiendokumente
In diesem Registereintrag sind keine Dokumente verlinkt.
Änderungen im Zeitverlauf
- 17. September 2026
Studienzentrum hinzugefügt
37 sites added (557 total)
520557
- 2. September 2026
Studienzentrum hinzugefügt
5 sites added (520 total)
515520
- 21. August 2026
Studienzentrum hinzugefügt
18 sites added (515 total)
497515
- 10. August 2026
Studienzentrum hinzugefügt
17 sites added (497 total)
480497