NCT06677060ClinicalTrials.gov
Phase III Study Investigating Heart Failure and Cardiovascular Death With Baxdrostat in Combination With Dapagliflozin
A Phase III, Randomised, Placebo-controlled, Event-driven Study to Evaluate the Effect of Baxdrostat in Combination With Dapagliflozin Compared With Dapagliflozin Alone on the Risk of Incident Heart Failure and Cardiovascular Death
Kurz gefasst
Participants include men and women ≥ 40 years of age with T2DM, established CV disease, a history of HTN with an SBP of at least 130 mmHg at screening, who meet the predefined serum potassium level, and with at least…
Phase 311.300 Teilnehmende gesucht957 Studienzentren35 Länder
Kategorien
In 1 Register registriert
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06677060Diesen Eintrag bei ClinicalTrials.gov öffnenSynchronisiert vor 5 Tagen
Eine Studie kann in mehreren Registern registriert sein. Wir zeigen sie einmal und verlinken jeden Eintrag, den wir haben.
Die Studieninformationen werden so angezeigt, wie sie vom Register veröffentlicht wurden, in ihrer Originalsprache.
Interesse an dieser Studie?
Anmelden oder ein Konto erstellen um Ihr Interesse zu bekunden und diese Studie zu verfolgen.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-11-06; recorded start 2025-03-14
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 1019 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (AstraZeneca)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 942 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A very large study, international in scope: 11,300 participants (target), run at 957 sites, across 35 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment38/40
11,300 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
942 sites
- Country count15/15
35 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 58 months
- Sponsor scale10/10
AstraZeneca has led 991 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Zusammenfassung
Participants include men and women ≥ 40 years of age with T2DM, established CV disease, a history of HTN with an SBP of at least 130 mmHg at screening, who meet the predefined serum potassium level, and with at least one additional risk factor for HF. The study will include an optional pre-screening period to facilitate sites' identification of potentially eligible participants to enter the full screening assessments. Participants will not be required to visit the site and no informed consent is required for the optional pre-screening period. The pre-screening assessments do not replace the full screening tests at Visit 1. Upon entering the screening period, all consented participants (after signature of screening ICF) will be screened during an up to 14-day screening period. Participants who meet all screening inclusion/exclusion criteria but are not treated with SGLT2i or are treated for less than 4 weeks will enter a run-in period with dapagliflozin 10 mg once daily for at least 4 weeks (and not more than 6 weeks) before randomisation. Site visits will take place at approximately 2-, 4-, 8-, 16-, and 34-weeks following randomisation. Thereafter visits will occur approximately every 4 months. The study closure procedures will be initiated when the predetermined number of the first secondary endpoint events (ie, the composite of hospitalisation for HF or CV death) is predicted to have occurred i.e., the PACD. In case of premature discontinuation of the blinded study intervention, participants will remain in the study. Unless a participant meets the dapagliflozin specific discontinuation criteria, they will continue to receive open label dapagliflozin 10 mg. It is important that the scheduled study visits and data collection continue according to the study protocol.
Erkrankungen
- Heart Failure
Eignung
| Geschlecht | Alle |
|---|---|
| Alter | 40 Years – Kein Höchstalter |
| Gesunde Freiwillige | Nein |
Eignung im Wortlaut des Registers
Eignung in einfachen Aussagen
Die Kriterien dieses Eintrags wurden noch nicht in einzelne Aussagen aufgeschlüsselt. Der Registertext oben ist vollständig und ist die maßgebliche Fassung.
Studiendesign
| Studientyp | Interventionell |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Zuteilung | Randomisiert |
| Interventionsmodell | PARALLEL |
| Primäres Ziel | PREVENTION |
| Verblindung | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Teilnahme | 11.300 Teilnehmende gesucht |
Sponsor und Mitwirkende
- AstraZeneca Sponsor
Studienarme und Interventionen
- Baxdrostat/DapagliflozinEXPERIMENTAL
Participants randomised to the baxdrostat/dapagliflozin arm will initially receive a dose of baxdrostat lower dose and dapagliflozin. For participants that meet the up-titration criteria, baxdrostat may be up-titrated to higher dose.
- Placebo/DapagliflozinEXPERIMENTAL
Patients will receive a dose of dapagliflozin in combination with matching placebo
Interventionen
- Arzneimittel Baxdrostat and dapagliflozin
baxdrostat tablet and dapagliflozin tablet
- Sonstige Placebo and dapagliflozin
placebo tablet and dapagliflozin tablet
Endpunkte
Primärer Endpunkt
To determine if baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of an HF event or CV death
Time to first occurrence of any of the components of the composite of: * Hospitalisation for HF * HF without hospitalisation * CV death
Zeitrahmen Event driven; Up to 38 months
Sekundärer Endpunkt
To determine whether baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of hospitalisation for HF or CV death
Time to first occurrence of any of the components of the composite of: * Hospitalisation for HF * CV death
Zeitrahmen Event driven; Up to 38 months
Sekundärer Endpunkt
To determine whether baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of HF events
Time to first occurrence of any of the components of the composite of: * Hospitalisation for HF * HF without hospitalisation
Zeitrahmen Event driven; Up to 38 months
Sekundärer Endpunkt
To determine whether baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of CV death
Time to CV death
Zeitrahmen Event driven; Up to 38 months
Sekundärer Endpunkt
To determine whether baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of all-cause mortality
Time to all-cause death
Zeitrahmen Event driven; Up to 38 months
Sekundärer Endpunkt
To determine whether baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of 4-point MACE (CV death, MI, stroke, and hospitalisation for HF)
Time to first occurrence of any of the components of the composite of: * CV death * MI * Stroke * Hospitalisation for HF
Zeitrahmen Event driven; Up to 38 months
Daten
| Startdatum | 14. März 2025 (tatsächlich) |
|---|---|
| Primärer Abschluss | 17. Dezember 2029 (geschätzt) |
| Abschluss | 17. Dezember 2029 (geschätzt) |
| Erstveröffentlichung | 6. November 2024 (tatsächlich) |
| Zuletzt aktualisiert | 15. September 2026 |
| Ergebnisse veröffentlicht | Im Registereintrag nicht angegeben |
| Status zuletzt bestätigt | September 2026 |
Tatsächlich bedeutet, dass das Ereignis eingetreten ist. Geschätzt bedeutet, dass der Sponsor es erwartet. Die beiden bedeuten Unterschiedliches.
Standorte
830 Studienzentren rekrutieren
Argentina
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Buenos Aires | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Buenos Aires | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | CABA | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | CABA | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Caba | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Ciudad de Buenos Aires | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Córdoba | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Córdoba | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Research Site | La Plata | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Research Site | Mar del Plata | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Research Site | Mar del Plata | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Rosario | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Rosario | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | San Nicolás | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | San Nicolás de los Arroyos | Rekrutierung noch nicht begonnen | |
| Research Site | San Vicente | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Santa Fe | Rekrutiert |
Australia
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Adelaide | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Castle Hill | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Coffs Harbour | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Elizabeth Vale | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Fremantle | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Geelong | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Kingswood | Vorzeitig beendet | |
| Research Site | Leabrook | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Maroubra | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Merewether | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Milton | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Mulgrave | Zurückgezogen | |
| Research Site | Osborne Park | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Rockhampton | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Wollongong | Rekrutiert |
Brazil
| Einrichtung | Stadt | Bundesland oder Region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Belém | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Blumenau | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Bragança Paulista | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Brasília | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Campina Grande do Sul | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Campinas | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Campinas | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Curitiba | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Curitiba | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Juiz de Fora | Zurückgezogen | |
| Research Site | Natal | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Porto Alegre | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Porto Alegre | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Porto Alegre | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Porto Alegre | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | Rio de Janeiro | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | São José do Rio Preto | Rekrutiert | |
| Research Site | São José dos Campos | Rekrutiert |
907 weitere Studienzentren sind im Registereintrag aufgeführt.
Studiendokumente
In diesem Registereintrag sind keine Dokumente verlinkt.
Änderungen im Zeitverlauf
- 15. September 2026
Studienzentrum hinzugefügt
4 sites added (957 total)
953957
- 31. Juli 2026
Studienzentrum hinzugefügt
11 sites added (953 total)
942953