NCT07037459ClinicalTrials.gov
Maridebart Cafraglutide in Heart Failure With Preserved or Mildly Reduced Ejection Fraction and Obesity
A Phase 3 Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Maridebart Cafraglutide on Mortality and Morbidity in Participants Living With Heart Failure With Preserved or Mildly Reduced Ejection Fraction and Obesity (MARITIME-HF)
In brief
This trial will examine if maridebart cafraglutide as an adjunct to standard of care will lead to a reduction in heart failure (HF) events such as HF hospitalizations and urgent HF visits, cardiovascular (CV) deaths and improvement in HF symptoms…
Phase 35,056 participants sought657 sites34 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07037459Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 5 days ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2025-06-25; recorded start 2025-06-25
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 303 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Amgen)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 3 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding13/20
Double-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 628 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 5,056 participants (target), run at 657 sites, across 34 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment36/40
5,056 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
628 sites
- Country count15/15
34 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 64 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Amgen has led 300 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This trial will examine if maridebart cafraglutide as an adjunct to standard of care will lead to a reduction in heart failure (HF) events such as HF hospitalizations and urgent HF visits, cardiovascular (CV) deaths and improvement in HF symptoms in participants with HF with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF) and HF with mildly reduced ejection fraction (HFmrEF) who are obese. This is a phase 3, global, multicenter, 2-part trial with a double-blind period and an open-label extension (OLE). The trial is event-driven, and Part 1 will conclude when approximately 850 primary endpoint events have occurred.
Conditions
- Heart Failure With Preserved Ejection Fraction
- Heart Failure With Mildly Reduced Ejection Fraction
- Obesity
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – 99 Years |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | DOUBLE (2) |
| Enrolment | 5,056 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Amgen Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Maridebart CafraglutideEXPERIMENTAL
Participants will receive maridebart cafraglutide subcutaneously (SC)
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
Participants will receive placebo SC
Interventions
- Drug Maridebart cafraglutide
Maridebart cafraglutide will be administered SC.
- Drug Placebo
Placebo will be administered SC.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Time to First Occurrence of a Composite Endpoint Consisting of: CV Death or HF Events
Heart Failure events include: hospitalization for HF or urgent HF visits.
Time frame Up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Percent Change from Baseline in Non-high-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (non-HDL-C)
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Percent Change from Baseline in Low-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C), HDL-C, Triglycerides (TG), Very Low-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (VLDL-C)
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Total All-cause Hospitalizations (First and Recurrent Time to Event)
Time frame Up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants Achieving ≥ 5-point Change in KCCQ-CSS Score from Baseline for Participants with Baseline KCCQ-CSS Score ≤ 80
The KCCQ is a 23-item disease-specific measure for participants with HF, measuring the participant's perception of their health status. The KCCQ-CSS assesses symptoms and physical limitations, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life.
Time frame Baseline and Week 48
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants Achieving ≥ 10-point Change in KCCQ-CSS Score from Baseline for Participants with Baseline KCCQ-CSS Score ≤ 80
The KCCQ is a 23-item disease-specific measure for participants with HF, measuring the participant's perception of their health status. The KCCQ-CSS assesses symptoms and physical limitations, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life.
Time frame Baseline and Week 48
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants Achieving an Anchor-based Change in KCCQ-CSS Score From Baseline for Participants with Baseline KCCQ-CSS Score ≤ 80
The KCCQ is a 23-item disease-specific measure for participants with HF, measuring the participant's perception of their health status. The KCCQ-CSS assesses symptoms and physical limitations, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life. The Patient Global Impression of Severity (PGI-S) and Patient Global Impression of Change (PGI-C) can be used as anchors to estimate within-patient change in the KCCQ-CSS score.
Time frame Baseline and Week 48
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants Achieving ≥ 5-point Change in KCCQ-TSS Score from Baseline for Participants with Baseline KCCQ-CSS Score ≤ 80
The KCCQ is a 23-item disease-specific measure for participants with HF, measuring the participant's perception of their health status. The KCCQ-TSS assesses symptom frequency and burden, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life. The KCCQ-CSS assesses symptoms and physical limitations, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life.
Time frame Baseline and Week 48
Secondary outcome
Change from Baseline in the Systolic Blood Pressure (SBP) and Diastolic Blood Pressure (DBP)
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Change from Baseline in Body Mass Index (BMI) (kg/m^2)
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Change from Baseline in the Waist Circumference (cm)
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Change from Baseline in the Urine Albumin-to-creatinine Ratio (uACR)
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Change from Baseline in the Hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c [%, mmol/mol]) and fasting plasma glucose (mg/dL)
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Percent Change from Baseline in the High-sensitivity C Reactive Protein (hs-CRP)
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Percent Change from Baseline in the Body Weight (kg)
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Percent Change from Baseline in Total Cholesterol
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Time to Onset of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus (T2DM) in Participants with Prediabetes
Time frame Up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Time to the First HF Event
Time frame Up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Time to First Event of a Composite Nephropathy Endpoint
The composite nephropathy endpoint consists of: persistent macroalbuminuria, persistent ≥ 40% reduction in estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR), onset of persistent eGFR \< 15 mL/min/1.73 m\^2, initiation of chronic renal replacement therapy (dialysis or transplantation), CV or renal death.
Time frame Up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire (KCCQ) Clinical Summary Score (CSS) for Participants with Baseline KCCQ-CSS Score ≤ 80
The KCCQ is a 23-item disease-specific measure for participants with HF, measuring the participant's perception of their health status. The KCCQ-CSS assesses symptoms and physical limitations, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life.
Time frame Baseline and Week 48
Secondary outcome
Change from Baseline in the KCCQ Total Symptom Score (TSS) for Participants with Baseline KCCQ-CSS Score ≤ 80
The KCCQ is a 23-item disease-specific measure for participants with HF, measuring the participant's perception of their health status. The KCCQ-TSS assesses symptom frequency and burden, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life.
Time frame Baseline and Week 48
Secondary outcome
Total Number of HF Events Including First and Recurrent HF Events
Time frame Up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Time to First Occurrence of a Composite Endpoint Consisting of: Myocardial Infarction (MI), Ischemic Stroke, CV Death (Major Adverse Cardiac Events [MACE]), or HF Events
Time frame Up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Change in eGFR Slope (Total)
Time frame Baseline up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Change in eGFR Slope (Chronic)
Time frame From 4 months up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants Achieving ≥ 10-point Change in KCCQ-TSS Score from Baseline for Participants with Baseline KCCQ-CSS Score ≤ 80
The KCCQ is a 23-item disease-specific measure for participants with HF, measuring the participant's perception of their health status. The KCCQ-TSS assesses symptom frequency and burden, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life. The KCCQ-CSS assesses symptoms and physical limitations, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life.
Time frame Baseline and Week 48
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants Achieving an Anchor-based Change in KCCQ-TSS Score from Baseline for Participants with Baseline KCCQ-CSS Score ≤ 80
The KCCQ is a 23-item disease-specific measure for participants with HF, measuring the participant's perception of their health status. The KCCQ-TSS assesses symptom frequency and burden, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life. The KCCQ-CSS assesses symptoms and physical limitations, ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better functioning and quality of life. The PGI-S and PGI-C can be used as anchors to estimate within-patient change in the KCCQ-CSS score.
Time frame Baseline and Week 48
Secondary outcome
Time to All-cause Death
Time frame Up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Time to CV Death
Time frame Up to Approximately 35 Months
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants with Treatment-emergent Adverse Events and Serious Adverse Events
Time frame Up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Plasma Concentration of Maridebart Cafraglutide
Time frame Week 72
Secondary outcome
Change from Baseline in N-terminal Pro B Type Natriuretic Peptide (NT-proBNP)
Time frame Baseline and Week 72
Secondary outcome
Time to New Onset of Atrial Fibrillation (AF) or Atrial Flutter (AFL) in Participants Without a History of AF or AFL at Baseline
Time frame Baseline and up to approximately 35 months
Secondary outcome
Time to First Event of a Composite Nephropathy Endpoint
The composite nephropathy endpoint consisting of persistent ≥ 40% reduction in estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR), onset of persistent eGFR \< 15 mL/min/1.73 m\^2, initiation of chronic renal replacement therapy (dialysis or transplantation), or CV death.
Time frame Up to approximately 35 months
Dates
| Start date | June 25, 2025 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | June 30, 2028 (estimated) |
| Completion | September 29, 2030 (estimated) |
| First posted | June 25, 2025 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 16, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | September 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
637 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centro Medico Dra Laura Maffei Investigacion Clinica Aplicada | CABA | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Centro de Investigaciones Metabolicas Cinme | CABA | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Imoba Investigaciones medicas | CABA | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Fundacion Respirar - Consultorios Medicos Dr Doreski | CABA | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Cemic - Centro de Educacion Medica e Investigaciones Clinicas Norberto Quirno | CABA | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Cemedic Centro de Especialidades Medicas | CABA | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Cardiología Palermo | Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Ciprec Centro de Investigacion y Prevencion Cardiovascular | Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Mautalen Salud e Investigacion Expertia SA-Osteo | Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Instituto Medico Damic | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Ciad - Consultorio Integral de Atencion al Diabetico | Morón | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Dim Clinica Privada | Ramos Meija | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Instituto de Investigaciones Clínicas Rosario-Sanatorio Delta | Rosario | Santa Fe Province | Recruiting |
| INECO Neurociencias Oronio | Rosario | Recruiting | |
| Instituto CAICI - Centro de Asistencia e Investigacion Clinica Integral | Rosario | Santa Fe Province | Recruiting |
| Centro Modelo de Cardiologia | San Miguel de Tucumán | Tucumán Province | Recruiting |
| Investigaciones Clinicas Tucuman | San Miguel de Tucumán | Tucumán Province | Recruiting |
| Instituto de Investigaciones Clinicas de San Nicolas | San Nicolás de los Arroyos | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Go Centro Medico San Nicolas | San Nicolás de los Arroyos | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Hospital Dr Jose Maria Cullen | Santa Fe | Recruiting | |
| Centro de Investigaciones Clinicas del Litoral | Santa Fe | Recruiting | |
| Clinica Fusavim Privada SRL | Villa María | Córdoba Province | Recruiting |
| Instituto de Investigaciones Clinicas Zarate | Zárate | Recruiting |
Australia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Advara HeartCare Wesley | Auchenflower | Queensland | Terminated |
| Flinders Medical Centre | Bedford Park | South Australia | Recruiting |
| Sunshine Coast University Hospital | Birtinya | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Victorian Heart Hospital | Clayton | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Canberra Hospital | Garran | Australian Capital Territory | Recruiting |
| Royal Brisbane and Womens Hospital | Herston | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Advara HeartCare Joondalup | Joondalup | Western Australia | Recruiting |
| Advara HeartCare Leabrook | Leabrook | South Australia | Recruiting |
| Sydney Cardiometabolic Centre | Liverpool | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| The Alfred Hospital | Melbourne | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Core Research Group Pty Ltd | Milton | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Advara HeartCare Mulgrave | Mulgrave | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Fiona Stanley Hospital | Murdoch | Western Australia | Recruiting |
| Gold Coast Hospital and Health Service | Southport | Queensland | Terminated |
| Royal North Shore Hospital | St Leonards | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Dr Heart Pty Ltd | Woolloongabba | Queensland | Terminated |
Austria
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krankenhaus Sankt Josef Braunau | Braunau am Inn | Recruiting | |
| Pro Kompetenzzentrum fuer Gesundheit | Graz | Recruiting | |
| Medizinische Universitaet Graz | Graz | Recruiting | |
| Klinikum Klagenfurt am Woerthersee | Klagenfurt | Recruiting | |
| Ordensklinikum Linz Elisabethinen | Linz | Recruiting | |
| Landeskrankenhaus Salzburg | Salzburg | Recruiting | |
| Imed Sankt Poelten | Sankt Pölten | Recruiting | |
| Universitaetsklinikum Sankt Poelten | Sankt Pölten | Terminated | |
| Universitaetsklinikum Allgemeines Krankenhaus Wien | Vienna | Recruiting | |
| Herz Zentrum Waehring | Vienna | Recruiting | |
| Ordinationszentrum imedneunzehn privat | Vienna | Recruiting |
607 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- September 16, 2026
Site added
29 sites added (657 total)
628657