Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT07181109ClinicalTrials.gov

Zilebesiran in Patients With Hypertension Not Adequately Controlled and With Either Established Cardiovascular Disease or High Risk for Cardiovascular Disease

ZENITH: A Phase 3 Global, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Zilebesiran in Addition to Standard of Care in Reducing Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events in Adult Patients With Hypertension Not Adequately Controlled and With Either Established Cardiovascular Disease or High Risk for Cardiovascular Disease

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

The purpose of this study is to evaluate whether zilebesiran versus placebo reduces the risk of cardiovascular (CV) death, nonfatal myocardial infarction (MI), nonfatal stroke, or heart failure (HF) events. This is an event-driven study that will continue until the…

Phase 311,000 participants sought1,153 sites35 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2025-09-18; recorded start 2025-09-22
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 50 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Alnylam Pharmaceuticals)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 3 conditions.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourDEFINITIVE

A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding20/20

    Quadruple-blind

  • Control arm13/15

    Placebo / sham control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type10/10

    Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 995 sites

  • Data monitoring committee7/7

    A data monitoring committee is in place

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleMEGA

A very large study, international in scope: 11,000 participants (target), run at 1,153 sites, across 35 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment38/40

    11,000 participants (target)

  • Site count25/25

    995 sites

  • Country count15/15

    34 countries

  • Planned duration10/10

    Planned over about 61 months

  • Sponsor scale6/10

    Alnylam Pharmaceuticals has led 53 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate whether zilebesiran versus placebo reduces the risk of cardiovascular (CV) death, nonfatal myocardial infarction (MI), nonfatal stroke, or heart failure (HF) events. This is an event-driven study that will continue until the targeted number of positively adjudicated primary endpoint clinical outcome events (COEs) have been reached.

Conditions

  • High Risk Cardiovascular Disease
  • Hypertension
  • High Cardiovascular Risk

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 YearsNo maximum
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria: * Is 18 years or older for patients with established cardiovascular disease (CVD) * Is 55 years or older for patients with high risk for CVD * Has established CVD (defined as coronary, cerebrovascular, or peripheral artery disease) or high risk for CVD * Has treated hypertension on stable therapy with at least 2 standard of care antihypertensive medications, one of which must be a thiazide, thiazide-like, or loop diuretic Exclusion Criteria: * Has known history of secondary hypertension * Has symptomatic orthostatic hypotension * Has alanine aminotransferase (ALT) or aspartate aminotransferase (AST) \>3×upper limit of normal (ULN) * Has total serum bilirubin \>1.5×ULN * Has international normalized ratio (INR) \>1.5 * Has serum potassium \>4.8 mEq/L * Has estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) \<30 mL/min/1.73m\^2

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingQUADRUPLE (4)
Enrolment11,000 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • Alnylam Pharmaceuticals Sponsor
  • Hoffmann-La Roche Collaborators

Arms and interventions

  • Zilebesiran 300 mgEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants will be administered 300 mg zilebesiran subcutaneously (SC) once every 6 months as add-on therapy to their standard of care antihypertensive medications.

  • PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR

    Participants will be administered placebo SC once every 6 months as add-on therapy to their standard of care antihypertensive medications.

Interventions

  • Drug Placebo

    Placebo will be administered SC

  • Drug Zilebesiran

    Zilebesiran will be administered SC

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Time to First Occurrence of a Composite Endpoint of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Nonfatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), Nonfatal Stroke, or Heart Failure (HF) Event (Hospitalization for HF or Urgent HF Visit)

    Time frame Up to approximately 5 years

  2. Secondary outcome

    Change from Baseline in Mean Seated Office Systolic Blood Pressure (SBP) at Month 6

    Time frame Baseline and Month 6

  3. Secondary outcome

    Time to First Occurrence of a Composite Endpoint of CV Death, Nonfatal MI, or Nonfatal Stroke

    Time frame Up to approximately 5 years

  4. Secondary outcome

    Composite Endpoint of CV Death and Total (First and Subsequent) HF Events (Hospitalization for HF or Urgent HF Visit)

    Time frame Up to approximately 5 years

  5. Secondary outcome

    Time to First Occurrence of Composite Endpoint of CV death, Nonfatal MI, Nonfatal Stroke, or Coronary Revascularization

    Time frame Up to approximately 5 years

  6. Secondary outcome

    Time to All-cause Death

    Time frame Up to approximately 5 years

Dates

Dates
Start dateSeptember 22, 2025 (actual)
Primary completionSeptember 23, 2030 (estimated)
CompletionSeptember 23, 2030 (estimated)
First postedSeptember 18, 2025 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 18, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedSeptember 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

922 sites are recruiting

Argentina

Argentina
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Clinical Trial SiteBahía BlancaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBahía BlancaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresNot yet recruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCiudadelaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCoronel SuárezRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCorrientesRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteEsperanzaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteFormosaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteGeneral San MartínRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteGranadero BaigorriaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteLanús EsteRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteMar del PlataRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteMar del PlataRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteMorónRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteQuilmesNot yet recruiting
Clinical Trial SiteRamos MejíaRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteRosarioNot yet recruiting
Clinical Trial SiteRosarioRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteRosarioRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteRosarioRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteRosarioRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteRosarioRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteRosarioRecruiting
Clinical Trial SiteRío CuartoRecruiting

1,103 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 18, 2026

    Completion date moved earlier

    Primary completion advanced 7 days

    2030-09-302030-09-23

  2. September 18, 2026

    Site added

    48 sites added (1153 total)

    11051153

  3. August 19, 2026

    Site added

    110 sites added (1105 total)

    9951105