NCT05946213ClinicalTrials.gov
Testing Shorter Duration Radiation Therapy Versus the Usual Radiation Therapy in Patients With High Risk Prostate Cancer
The Phase III 'High Five Trial' Five Fraction Radiation For High-Risk Prostate Cancer
En bref
This phase III trial compares stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT), (five treatments over two weeks using a higher dose per treatment) to usual radiation therapy (20 to 45 treatments over 4 to 9 weeks) for the treatment of high-risk prostate…
Phase 31 209 participants recherchés413 sites4 pays
Catégories
Enregistré dans 1 registre
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT05946213Ouvrir cette fiche sur ClinicalTrials.govSynchronisé il y a 2 semaines
Une même étude peut être enregistrée dans plusieurs registres. Nous l'affichons une seule fois et renvoyons vers chaque fiche que nous détenons.
Les informations de l'essai sont affichées telles que publiées par le registre, dans leur langue d'origine.
Cette étude vous intéresse ?
Se connecter ou créez un compte pour manifester votre intérêt et suivre cette étude.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2023-07-14; recorded start 2023-12-14
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 49 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (NRG Oncology)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 3 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: other.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 413 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 1,209 participants (target), run at 413 sites, across 4 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment31/40
1,209 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
413 sites
- Country count7/15
4 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 150 months
- Sponsor scale6/10
NRG Oncology has led 49 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Résumé
This phase III trial compares stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT), (five treatments over two weeks using a higher dose per treatment) to usual radiation therapy (20 to 45 treatments over 4 to 9 weeks) for the treatment of high-risk prostate cancer. SBRT uses special equipment to position a patient and deliver radiation to tumors with high precision. This method may kill tumor cells with fewer doses over a shorter period of time. This trial is evaluating if shorter duration radiation prevents cancer from coming back as well as the usual radiation treatment.
Affections
- Prostate Adenocarcinoma
- Stage III Prostate Cancer AJCC v8
- Stage IVA Prostate Cancer AJCC v8
Éligibilité
| Sexe | Homme |
|---|---|
| Âges | 18 Years – Aucun maximum |
| Volontaires sains | Non |
Éligibilité telle qu'elle figure dans le registre
Éligibilité en énoncés simples
Les critères de cette fiche n'ont pas encore été décomposés en énoncés distincts. Le texte du registre ci-dessus est complet et fait foi.
Conception de l'étude
| Type d'étude | Interventionnelle |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Répartition | Randomisée |
| Modèle d'intervention | PARALLEL |
| Objectif principal | TREATMENT |
| Insu | NONE (0) |
| Recrutement | 1 209 participants recherchés |
Promoteur et collaborateurs
- NRG Oncology Promoteur
Groupes et interventions
- Arm I (SBRT)EXPERIMENTAL
Patients undergo SBRT for a total of 5 treatments over 2 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo bone scan and/or CT, MRI, or PET/CT during screening and CT and/or MRI on study. Additionally, patients may optionally undergo blood and urine sample collection on study.
- Arm II (EBRT)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Patients undergo EBRT for 20 to 45 treatments over 4 to 9 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo bone scan and/or CT, MRI, or PET/CT during screening and CT and/or MRI on study. Additionally, patients may optionally undergo blood and urine sample collection on study.
Interventions
- Intervention Biospecimen Collection
Undergo blood and urine sample collection
- Intervention Bone Scan
Undergo bone scan
- Intervention Computed Tomography
Undergo CT or PET/CT
- Radiothérapie External Beam Radiation Therapy
Undergo EBRT
- Intervention Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Undergo MRI
- Intervention Positron Emission Tomography
Undergo PET/CT
- Autre Quality-of-Life Assessment
Ancillary studies
- Autre Questionnaire Administration
Ancillary studies
- Radiothérapie Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy
Undergo SBRT
Critères de jugement
Critère de jugement principal
Metastasis-free survival (MFS)
Based on conventional imaging. Median MFS time comparing the curves.
Délai From randomization to the date of distant metastasis, or death from any cause, assessed up to 15 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Failure-free survival
Median failure-free survival time comparing the curves.
Délai From randomization to the date of distant metastasis, or death from any cause, assessed up to 15 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Overall survival
Median survival time comparing the curves.
Délai From the date of randomization to the date of death or last known follow-up date, with patients alive at the last known follow-up time treated as censored, assessed up to 15 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
MFS
Median MFS time comparing the curves.
Délai From randomization to the date of distant metastasis, or death from any cause, assessed up to 15 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Incidence of adverse events (AEs)
AEs will be graded using National Cancer Institute's (NCI's) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version (v)5. Counts of all AEs by grade will be provided by treatment arm.
Délai Up to 15 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Urinary incontinence
Proportion of patients with a decline, as measured by the urinary incontinence domain of the Expanded Prostate Cancer Index Composite (EPIC-26).
Délai Up to 5 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Urinary irritative/obstructive
Proportion of patients with a decline, as measured by the urinary irritative/obstructive domain of the Expanded Prostate Cancer Index Composite (EPIC-26).
Délai Up to 5 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Bowel function
Proportion of patients with a decline, as measured by the bowel domain of the Expanded Prostate Cancer Index Composite (EPIC-26).
Délai Up to 5 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Fatigue
Proportion of patients with a decline, as measured by the Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System-Fatigue.
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
Patient-reported outcomes
The EPIC-26 sexual domain will be assessed as an exploratory endpoint but following the analysis plan specified for the EPIC-26 urinary and bowel domains.
Délai Up to 5 years
Autre critère de jugement
Cost
Measured by the Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-COST.
Délai Up to 1 year
Autre critère de jugement
Estimate of treatment effect by sex
Will estimate the primary outcome treatment effect and the corresponding 95% confidence intervals (CIs) by sex.
Délai Up to 15 years
Autre critère de jugement
Estimate of treatment effect by race
Will estimate the primary outcome treatment effect and the corresponding 95% CIs by race.
Délai Up to 15 years
Autre critère de jugement
Estimate of treatment effect by ethnicity
Will estimate the primary outcome treatment effect and the corresponding 95% CIs by ethnicity.
Délai Up to 15 years
Dates
| Date de début | 14 décembre 2023 (réelle) |
|---|---|
| Achèvement principal | 31 mars 2036 (estimée) |
| Achèvement | 31 mars 2041 (estimée) |
| Première publication | 14 juillet 2023 (réelle) |
| Dernière mise à jour | 10 septembre 2026 |
| Résultats publiés | Non précisé dans la fiche du registre |
| Statut vérifié pour la dernière fois | septembre 2026 |
Réelle signifie que l'événement a eu lieu. Estimée signifie que le promoteur s'y attend. Les deux ont un sens différent.
Lieux
409 sites sont en recrutement
Canada
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| CHUM - Centre Hospitalier de l'Universite de Montreal | Montreal | Quebec | En recrutement |
| The Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) | Montreal | Quebec | En recrutement |
| CIUSSSEMTL-Hopital Maisonneuve-Rosemont | Montreal | Quebec | En recrutement |
| Ottawa Hospital and Cancer Center-General Campus | Ottawa | Ontario | En recrutement |
| CHU de Quebec-L'Hotel-Dieu de Quebec (HDQ) | Québec | Quebec | En recrutement |
| Atlantic Health Sciences Corporation-Saint John Regional Hospital | Saint John | New Brunswick | En recrutement |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke-Fleurimont | Sherbrooke | Quebec | En recrutement |
| Odette Cancer Centre- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre | Toronto | Ontario | En recrutement |
| University Health Network-Princess Margaret Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | En recrutement |
Hong Kong
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pamela Youde Nethersole Eastern Hospital | Chai Wan | Suspendu |
Switzerland
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kantonsspital Aarau | Aarau | En recrutement |
United States
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cleveland Clinic Akron General | Akron | Ohio | En recrutement |
| University of New Mexico Cancer Center | Albuquerque | New Mexico | En recrutement |
| Alton Memorial Hospital | Alton | Illinois | En recrutement |
| American Fork Hospital / Huntsman Intermountain Cancer Center | American Fork | Utah | En recrutement |
| McFarland Clinic - Ames | Ames | Iowa | En recrutement |
| University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center | Ann Arbor | Michigan | En recrutement |
| Trinity Health Saint Joseph Mercy Hospital Ann Arbor | Ann Arbor | Michigan | En recrutement |
| Langlade Hospital and Cancer Center | Antigo | Wisconsin | En recrutement |
| Kaiser Permanente-Deer Valley Medical Center | Antioch | California | En recrutement |
| Northwest Wisconsin Cancer Center | Ashland | Wisconsin | En recrutement |
| Duluth Clinic Ashland | Ashland | Wisconsin | En recrutement |
| Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital | Atlanta | Georgia | En recrutement |
| Emory University Hospital/Winship Cancer Institute | Atlanta | Georgia | En recrutement |
| Emory Proton Therapy Center | Atlanta | Georgia | En recrutement |
| Emory University Hospital Midtown | Atlanta | Georgia | En recrutement |
| Grady Health System | Atlanta | Georgia | En recrutement |
| Advocate Outpatient Center - Aurora | Aurora | Illinois | En recrutement |
| UCHealth University of Colorado Hospital | Aurora | Colorado | En recrutement |
| Mount Sinai Comprehensive Cancer Center at Aventura | Aventura | Florida | En recrutement |
| UH Seidman Cancer Center at UH Avon Health Center | Avon | Ohio | En recrutement |
| Johns Hopkins University/Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center | Baltimore | Maryland | En recrutement |
| Veterans Administration Medical Center-Baltimore | Baltimore | Maryland | En recrutement |
| University of Maryland/Greenebaum Cancer Center | Baltimore | Maryland | En recrutement |
| Maryland Proton Treatment Center | Baltimore | Maryland | En recrutement |
| Advocate Good Shepherd Hospital | Barrington | Illinois | En recrutement |
| MaineHealth Coastal Cancer Treatment Center | Bath | Maine | En recrutement |
| Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center | Baton Rouge | Louisiana | En recrutement |
| Bay Pines VA Healthcare System | Bay Pines | Florida | En recrutement |
| Northwell Health Imbert Cancer Center | Bay Shore | New York | En recrutement |
| UHHS-Chagrin Highlands Medical Center | Beachwood | Ohio | En recrutement |
| UPMC-Heritage Valley Health System Beaver | Beaver | Pennsylvania | En recrutement |
| UM Upper Chesapeake Medical Center | Bel Air | Maryland | En recrutement |
| Nebraska Medicine-Bellevue | Bellevue | Nebraska | En recrutement |
| PeaceHealth Saint Joseph Medical Center | Bellingham | Washington | En recrutement |
| Sanford Joe Lueken Cancer Center | Bemidji | Minnesota | En recrutement |
| Saint Charles Health System | Bend | Oregon | En recrutement |
| Central Vermont Medical Center/National Life Cancer Treatment | Berlin Corners | Vermont | En recrutement |
| Tower Cancer Research Foundation | Beverly Hills | California | En recrutement |
| Billings Clinic Cancer Center | Billings | Montana | En recrutement |
363 sites supplémentaires sont indiqués dans la fiche du registre.
Documents de l'étude
Aucun document n'est lié dans cette fiche du registre.
Évolution au fil du temps
Aucun changement n'a été enregistré depuis que nous avons intégré cette fiche pour la première fois.
Un changement est enregistré chaque fois que le promoteur met à jour la fiche du registre. Le statut, les dates, le recrutement et les sites apparaissent ici au fur et à mesure de leur évolution.