NCT05946213ClinicalTrials.gov
Testing Shorter Duration Radiation Therapy Versus the Usual Radiation Therapy in Patients With High Risk Prostate Cancer
The Phase III 'High Five Trial' Five Fraction Radiation For High-Risk Prostate Cancer
In brief
This phase III trial compares stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT), (five treatments over two weeks using a higher dose per treatment) to usual radiation therapy (20 to 45 treatments over 4 to 9 weeks) for the treatment of high-risk prostate…
Phase 31,209 participants sought413 sites4 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT05946213Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 weeks ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2023-07-14; recorded start 2023-12-14
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 49 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (NRG Oncology)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 3 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: other.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 413 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 1,209 participants (target), run at 413 sites, across 4 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment31/40
1,209 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
413 sites
- Country count7/15
4 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 150 months
- Sponsor scale6/10
NRG Oncology has led 49 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This phase III trial compares stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT), (five treatments over two weeks using a higher dose per treatment) to usual radiation therapy (20 to 45 treatments over 4 to 9 weeks) for the treatment of high-risk prostate cancer. SBRT uses special equipment to position a patient and deliver radiation to tumors with high precision. This method may kill tumor cells with fewer doses over a shorter period of time. This trial is evaluating if shorter duration radiation prevents cancer from coming back as well as the usual radiation treatment.
Conditions
- Prostate Adenocarcinoma
- Stage III Prostate Cancer AJCC v8
- Stage IVA Prostate Cancer AJCC v8
Eligibility
| Sex | Male |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 1,209 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- NRG Oncology Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Arm I (SBRT)EXPERIMENTAL
Patients undergo SBRT for a total of 5 treatments over 2 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo bone scan and/or CT, MRI, or PET/CT during screening and CT and/or MRI on study. Additionally, patients may optionally undergo blood and urine sample collection on study.
- Arm II (EBRT)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Patients undergo EBRT for 20 to 45 treatments over 4 to 9 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo bone scan and/or CT, MRI, or PET/CT during screening and CT and/or MRI on study. Additionally, patients may optionally undergo blood and urine sample collection on study.
Interventions
- Procedure Biospecimen Collection
Undergo blood and urine sample collection
- Procedure Bone Scan
Undergo bone scan
- Procedure Computed Tomography
Undergo CT or PET/CT
- Radiation External Beam Radiation Therapy
Undergo EBRT
- Procedure Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Undergo MRI
- Procedure Positron Emission Tomography
Undergo PET/CT
- Other Quality-of-Life Assessment
Ancillary studies
- Other Questionnaire Administration
Ancillary studies
- Radiation Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy
Undergo SBRT
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Metastasis-free survival (MFS)
Based on conventional imaging. Median MFS time comparing the curves.
Time frame From randomization to the date of distant metastasis, or death from any cause, assessed up to 15 years
Secondary outcome
Failure-free survival
Median failure-free survival time comparing the curves.
Time frame From randomization to the date of distant metastasis, or death from any cause, assessed up to 15 years
Secondary outcome
Overall survival
Median survival time comparing the curves.
Time frame From the date of randomization to the date of death or last known follow-up date, with patients alive at the last known follow-up time treated as censored, assessed up to 15 years
Secondary outcome
MFS
Median MFS time comparing the curves.
Time frame From randomization to the date of distant metastasis, or death from any cause, assessed up to 15 years
Secondary outcome
Incidence of adverse events (AEs)
AEs will be graded using National Cancer Institute's (NCI's) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version (v)5. Counts of all AEs by grade will be provided by treatment arm.
Time frame Up to 15 years
Secondary outcome
Urinary incontinence
Proportion of patients with a decline, as measured by the urinary incontinence domain of the Expanded Prostate Cancer Index Composite (EPIC-26).
Time frame Up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Urinary irritative/obstructive
Proportion of patients with a decline, as measured by the urinary irritative/obstructive domain of the Expanded Prostate Cancer Index Composite (EPIC-26).
Time frame Up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Bowel function
Proportion of patients with a decline, as measured by the bowel domain of the Expanded Prostate Cancer Index Composite (EPIC-26).
Time frame Up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Fatigue
Proportion of patients with a decline, as measured by the Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System-Fatigue.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Patient-reported outcomes
The EPIC-26 sexual domain will be assessed as an exploratory endpoint but following the analysis plan specified for the EPIC-26 urinary and bowel domains.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Cost
Measured by the Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-COST.
Time frame Up to 1 year
Other outcome
Estimate of treatment effect by sex
Will estimate the primary outcome treatment effect and the corresponding 95% confidence intervals (CIs) by sex.
Time frame Up to 15 years
Other outcome
Estimate of treatment effect by race
Will estimate the primary outcome treatment effect and the corresponding 95% CIs by race.
Time frame Up to 15 years
Other outcome
Estimate of treatment effect by ethnicity
Will estimate the primary outcome treatment effect and the corresponding 95% CIs by ethnicity.
Time frame Up to 15 years
Dates
| Start date | December 14, 2023 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | March 31, 2036 (estimated) |
| Completion | March 31, 2041 (estimated) |
| First posted | July 14, 2023 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 10, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | September 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
409 sites are recruiting
Canada
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| CHUM - Centre Hospitalier de l'Universite de Montreal | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| The Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| CIUSSSEMTL-Hopital Maisonneuve-Rosemont | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Ottawa Hospital and Cancer Center-General Campus | Ottawa | Ontario | Recruiting |
| CHU de Quebec-L'Hotel-Dieu de Quebec (HDQ) | Québec | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Atlantic Health Sciences Corporation-Saint John Regional Hospital | Saint John | New Brunswick | Recruiting |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke-Fleurimont | Sherbrooke | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Odette Cancer Centre- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| University Health Network-Princess Margaret Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
Hong Kong
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pamela Youde Nethersole Eastern Hospital | Chai Wan | Suspended |
Switzerland
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kantonsspital Aarau | Aarau | Recruiting |
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cleveland Clinic Akron General | Akron | Ohio | Recruiting |
| University of New Mexico Cancer Center | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Recruiting |
| Alton Memorial Hospital | Alton | Illinois | Recruiting |
| American Fork Hospital / Huntsman Intermountain Cancer Center | American Fork | Utah | Recruiting |
| McFarland Clinic - Ames | Ames | Iowa | Recruiting |
| University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center | Ann Arbor | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Trinity Health Saint Joseph Mercy Hospital Ann Arbor | Ann Arbor | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Langlade Hospital and Cancer Center | Antigo | Wisconsin | Recruiting |
| Kaiser Permanente-Deer Valley Medical Center | Antioch | California | Recruiting |
| Northwest Wisconsin Cancer Center | Ashland | Wisconsin | Recruiting |
| Duluth Clinic Ashland | Ashland | Wisconsin | Recruiting |
| Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Emory University Hospital/Winship Cancer Institute | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Emory Proton Therapy Center | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Emory University Hospital Midtown | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Grady Health System | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Advocate Outpatient Center - Aurora | Aurora | Illinois | Recruiting |
| UCHealth University of Colorado Hospital | Aurora | Colorado | Recruiting |
| Mount Sinai Comprehensive Cancer Center at Aventura | Aventura | Florida | Recruiting |
| UH Seidman Cancer Center at UH Avon Health Center | Avon | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Johns Hopkins University/Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center | Baltimore | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Veterans Administration Medical Center-Baltimore | Baltimore | Maryland | Recruiting |
| University of Maryland/Greenebaum Cancer Center | Baltimore | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Maryland Proton Treatment Center | Baltimore | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Advocate Good Shepherd Hospital | Barrington | Illinois | Recruiting |
| MaineHealth Coastal Cancer Treatment Center | Bath | Maine | Recruiting |
| Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center | Baton Rouge | Louisiana | Recruiting |
| Bay Pines VA Healthcare System | Bay Pines | Florida | Recruiting |
| Northwell Health Imbert Cancer Center | Bay Shore | New York | Recruiting |
| UHHS-Chagrin Highlands Medical Center | Beachwood | Ohio | Recruiting |
| UPMC-Heritage Valley Health System Beaver | Beaver | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| UM Upper Chesapeake Medical Center | Bel Air | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Nebraska Medicine-Bellevue | Bellevue | Nebraska | Recruiting |
| PeaceHealth Saint Joseph Medical Center | Bellingham | Washington | Recruiting |
| Sanford Joe Lueken Cancer Center | Bemidji | Minnesota | Recruiting |
| Saint Charles Health System | Bend | Oregon | Recruiting |
| Central Vermont Medical Center/National Life Cancer Treatment | Berlin Corners | Vermont | Recruiting |
| Tower Cancer Research Foundation | Beverly Hills | California | Recruiting |
| Billings Clinic Cancer Center | Billings | Montana | Recruiting |
363 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.