NCT07136012ClinicalTrials.gov
OCEAN(a)-PreEvent - Olpasiran Trials of Cardiovascular Events And LipoproteiN(a) Reduction to Prevent First Major Cardiovascular Events
A Double-blind, Randomized, Placebo-controlled, Multicenter Study Assessing Olpasiran Use to Prevent First Major Cardiovascular Events in Participants With Elevated Lipoprotein(a)
En bref
The primary objective is to evaluate the effect of olpasiran, compared to placebo, on the risk for coronary heart disease death (CHD death), myocardial infarction, or urgent coronary revascularization in participants at risk for a first major cardiovascular event with…
Phase 311 000 participants recherchés252 sites3 pays
Catégories
Enregistré dans 1 registre
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07136012Ouvrir cette fiche sur ClinicalTrials.govSynchronisé il y a 4 semaines
Une même étude peut être enregistrée dans plusieurs registres. Nous l'affichons une seule fois et renvoyons vers chaque fiche que nous détenons.
Les informations de l'essai sont affichées telles que publiées par le registre, dans leur langue d'origine.
Cette étude vous intéresse ?
Se connecter ou créez un compte pour manifester votre intérêt et suivre cette étude.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2025-08-22; recorded start 2025-08-22
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 303 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Amgen)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding13/20
Double-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 249 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A very large study, international in scope: 11,000 participants (target), run at 252 sites, across 3 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment38/40
11,000 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
249 sites
- Country count7/15
3 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 75 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Amgen has led 300 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Résumé
The primary objective is to evaluate the effect of olpasiran, compared to placebo, on the risk for coronary heart disease death (CHD death), myocardial infarction, or urgent coronary revascularization in participants at risk for a first major cardiovascular event with elevated lipoprotein(a) (Lp\[a\]).
Affections
- Cardiovascular Disease
Éligibilité
| Sexe | Tous |
|---|---|
| Âges | 50 Years – 105 Years |
| Volontaires sains | Non |
Éligibilité telle qu'elle figure dans le registre
Éligibilité en énoncés simples
Les critères de cette fiche n'ont pas encore été décomposés en énoncés distincts. Le texte du registre ci-dessus est complet et fait foi.
Conception de l'étude
| Type d'étude | Interventionnelle |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Répartition | Randomisée |
| Modèle d'intervention | PARALLEL |
| Objectif principal | TREATMENT |
| Insu | DOUBLE (2) |
| Recrutement | 11 000 participants recherchés |
Promoteur et collaborateurs
- Amgen Promoteur
Groupes et interventions
- OlpasiranEXPERIMENTAL
Participants will receive subcutaneous (SC) olpasiran.
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
Participants will receive SC placebo.
Interventions
- Médicament Olpasiran
Olpasiran will be administered via SC injection.
- Médicament Placebo
Placebo will be administered via SC injection.
Critères de jugement
Critère de jugement principal
Time to CHD Death, Myocardial Infarction, or Urgent Coronary Revascularization, Whichever Occurs First
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Time to Cardiovascular Death, Myocardial Infarction, or Ischemic Stroke, Whichever Occurs First
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Time to Cardiovascular Death, Myocardial Infarction, Urgent Coronary Revascularization, or Ischemic Stroke, Whichever Occurs First
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Percent Change From Baseline to Week 48 Lp(a) Levels
Délai Baseline and Week 48
Critère de jugement secondaire
Time to Myocardial Infarction
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Time to CHD Death or Myocardial Infarction, Whichever Occurs First
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Time to Urgent Coronary Revascularization
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Time to Coronary Revascularization
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Time to CHD Death
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Time to Cardiovascular Death
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Time to Death by any Cause
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Time to Ischemic Stroke
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Critère de jugement secondaire
Serum Concentration of Olpasiran
Délai Up to Week 48
Critère de jugement secondaire
Number of Participants with Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)
Including serious adverse events and adverse events leading to discontinuation of investigational product.
Délai Up to approximately 6.2 years
Dates
| Date de début | 22 août 2025 (réelle) |
|---|---|
| Achèvement principal | 20 octobre 2031 (estimée) |
| Achèvement | 20 octobre 2031 (estimée) |
| Première publication | 22 août 2025 (réelle) |
| Dernière mise à jour | 21 août 2026 |
| Résultats publiés | Non précisé dans la fiche du registre |
| Statut vérifié pour la dernière fois | août 2026 |
Réelle signifie que l'événement a eu lieu. Estimée signifie que le promoteur s'y attend. Les deux ont un sens différent.
Lieux
240 sites sont en recrutement
Australia
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Advara HeartCare Wesley | Auchenflower | Queensland | En recrutement |
| Flinders Medical Centre | Bedford Park | South Australia | En recrutement |
| Royal Prince Alfred Hospital | Camperdown | New South Wales | En recrutement |
| Novatrials | Charlestown | New South Wales | En recrutement |
| Victorian Heart Hospital | Clayton | Victoria | En recrutement |
| Concord Repatriation General Hospital | Concord | New South Wales | En recrutement |
| Canberra Hospital | Garran | Australian Capital Territory | En recrutement |
| Clinitrials - Mandurah | Greenfields | Western Australia | En recrutement |
| Advara HeartCare Joondalup | Joondalup | Western Australia | En recrutement |
| Advara HeartCare Leabrook | Leabrook | South Australia | En recrutement |
| The Alfred Hospital | Melbourne | Victoria | En recrutement |
| Momentum Clinical Research - Sunshine | Melbourne | Victoria | En recrutement |
| Aim Research | Merewether | New South Wales | En recrutement |
| Core Research Group Pty Ltd | Milton | Queensland | En recrutement |
| Hollywood Private Hospital | Nedlands | Western Australia | En recrutement |
| Linear Clinical Research Limited | Nedlands | Western Australia | En recrutement |
| Fusion Clinical Research | Norwood | South Australia | En recrutement |
| Orange Health Service | Orange | New South Wales | En recrutement |
| Clinitrials - West Perth | Perth | Western Australia | En recrutement |
| University of The Sunshine Coast Clinical Trials, Sippy Downs | Sippy Downs | Queensland | En recrutement |
| Wollongong Hospital | Wollongong | New South Wales | En recrutement |
| Dr Heart Pty Ltd | Woolloongabba | Queensland | En recrutement |
Canada
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centricity Research Brampton | Brampton | Ontario | En recrutement |
| Circulate Cardiac & Vascular Centre | Burlington | Ontario | En recrutement |
| Centricity Research Calgary | Calgary | Alberta | En recrutement |
| Cambridge Cardiac Care Centre | Cambridge | Ontario | En recrutement |
| Ecogene-21 | Chicoutimi | Quebec | En recrutement |
| Edmonton Cardiology Consultants | Edmonton | Alberta | En recrutement |
| Premier Clinical Trial Network | Hamilton | Ontario | Terminé |
| Hamilton Health Sciences Hamilton General Hospital | Hamilton | Ontario | En recrutement |
| St Josephs Hospital | London | Ontario | En recrutement |
| Elevate Clinical Research KMH Missisauga | Mississauga | Ontario | En recrutement |
| Centre de Recherche du Centre Hospitalier de l Universite de Montreal | Montreal | Quebec | En recrutement |
| Research Institute of McGill University Health Center - Glen Site | Montreal | Quebec | En recrutement |
| Montreal Heart Institute | Montreal | Quebec | En recrutement |
| Institut de recherches cliniques de Montreal | Montreal | Quebec | En recrutement |
| Fraser Clinical Trials | New Westminster | British Columbia | En recrutement |
| Partners in Advanced Cardiac Evaluation | Newmarket | Ontario | En recrutement |
| North York Diagnostic and Cardiac Centre | North York | Ontario | En recrutement |
| Oakville Cardiovascular Research | Oakville | Ontario | En recrutement |
| Heart Health Institute Research Incorporated | Scarborough Village | Ontario | En recrutement |
| CIUSSS de l Estrie CHUS Hopital Fleurimont | Sherbrooke | Quebec | En recrutement |
| SMH Cardiology Clinical Trials Incorporated | Surrey | British Columbia | En recrutement |
| Womens College Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | En recrutement |
| ARC Biosystems Incorporated | Vancouver | British Columbia | En recrutement |
| Victoria Heart Institute Foundation | Victoria | British Columbia | En recrutement |
| Discovery Clinical Services Ltd | Victoria | British Columbia | En recrutement |
United States
| Établissement | Ville | État ou région | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Albany Medical College | Albany | New York | En recrutement |
| Advanced Cardiovascular LLC | Alexander City | Alabama | En recrutement |
| PharmaTex Research, LLC | Amarillo | Texas | En recrutement |
202 sites supplémentaires sont indiqués dans la fiche du registre.
Documents de l'étude
Aucun document n'est lié dans cette fiche du registre.
Évolution au fil du temps
- 13 août 2026
Site ajouté
1 site added (252 total)
251252
- 7 août 2026
Site ajouté
2 sites added (251 total)
249251