NCT03866382ClinicalTrials.gov
Testing the Effectiveness of Two Immunotherapy Drugs (Nivolumab and Ipilimumab) With One Anti-cancer Targeted Drug (Cabozantinib) for Rare Genitourinary Tumors
A Phase II Study of Ipilimumab, Cabozantinib, and Nivolumab in Rare Genitourinary Cancers (ICONIC)
In brief
This phase II trial studies how well cabozantinib works in combination with nivolumab and ipilimumab in treating patients with rare genitourinary (GU) tumors that has spread from where it first started (primary site) to other places in the body. Cabozantinib…
Phase 2314 participants sought581 sites2 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT03866382Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 5 days ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2019-03-07; recorded start 2019-05-13
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Not stated: Participants are not randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as non-randomised
- Not stated: A comparison group is not stated in the registry recordThe record describes a single study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 1548 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (National Cancer Institute (NCI))
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 45 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: US National Institutes of Health.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
An exploratory-stage design for a phase 2 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation0/20
Allocation not stated in the record
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 582 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 314 participants (target), run at 581 sites, across 2 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment24/40
314 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
582 sites
- Country count7/15
2 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 95 months
- Sponsor scale10/10
National Cancer Institute (NCI) has led 1,534 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This phase II trial studies how well cabozantinib works in combination with nivolumab and ipilimumab in treating patients with rare genitourinary (GU) tumors that has spread from where it first started (primary site) to other places in the body. Cabozantinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Immunotherapy with monoclonal antibodies, such as nivolumab and ipilimumab, may help the body's immune system attack the cancer, and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Giving cabozantinib, nivolumab, and ipilimumab may work better in treating patients with genitourinary tumors that have no treatment options compared to giving cabozantinib, nivolumab, or ipilimumab alone.
Conditions
- Bladder Adenocarcinoma
- Bladder Clear Cell Adenocarcinoma
- Bladder Mixed Adenocarcinoma
- Bladder Neuroendocrine Carcinoma
- Bladder Small Cell Neuroendocrine Carcinoma
- Bladder Squamous Cell Carcinoma
- Chromophobe Renal Cell Carcinoma
- Collecting Duct Carcinoma
- Invasive Bladder Giant Cell Urothelial Carcinoma
- Invasive Bladder Lymphoepithelioma-Like Carcinoma
- Invasive Bladder Nested Urothelial Carcinoma
- Invasive Bladder Plasmacytoid Urothelial Carcinoma
- Invasive Bladder Sarcomatoid Urothelial Carcinoma
- Invasive Bladder Urothelial Carcinoma
- Kidney Medullary Carcinoma
- Large Cell Neuroendocrine Carcinoma
- Malignant Testicular Leydig Cell Tumor
- Malignant Testicular Sertoli Cell Tumor
- Metastatic Bladder Carcinoma
- Metastatic Bladder Clear Cell (Glycogen-Rich) Urothelial Carcinoma
- Metastatic Bladder Giant Cell Urothelial Carcinoma
- Metastatic Bladder Large Cell Neuroendocrine Carcinoma
- Metastatic Bladder Lipid-Rich Urothelial Carcinoma
- Metastatic Bladder Micropapillary Urothelial Carcinoma
- Metastatic Bladder Plasmacytoid Urothelial Carcinoma
- Metastatic Bladder Sarcomatoid Urothelial Carcinoma
- Metastatic Bladder Small Cell Neuroendocrine Carcinoma
- Metastatic Bladder Squamous Cell Carcinoma
- Metastatic Chromophobe Renal Cell Carcinoma
- Metastatic Kidney Medullary Carcinoma
- Metastatic Malignant Genitourinary System Neoplasm
- Metastatic Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma
- Metastatic Penile Carcinoma
- Metastatic Prostate Small Cell Neuroendocrine Carcinoma
- Metastatic Sarcomatoid Renal Cell Carcinoma
- Metastatic Urethral Carcinoma
- Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma
- Sarcomatoid Renal Cell Carcinoma
- Stage IV Bladder Cancer AJCC v8
- Stage IV Penile Cancer AJCC v8
- Stage IV Renal Cell Cancer AJCC v8
- Stage IV Urethral Cancer AJCC v8
- Stage IVB Prostate Cancer AJCC v8
- Urachal Adenocarcinoma
- Urethral Clear Cell Adenocarcinoma
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 2 |
| Allocation | Not applicable |
| Intervention model | SINGLE_GROUP |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 314 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI) Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Treatment (cabozantinib, nivolumab, ipilimumab)EXPERIMENTAL
Patients receive cabozantinib PO QD on days 1-21 of cycles 1-4 and on days 1-28 of subsequent cycles. Patients also receive nivolumab IV over 30 minutes on day 1 and ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1 of cycles 1-4. Patients then receive nivolumab IV over 30 minutes on day 1 of subsequent cycles. Treatment repeats every 21 days for cycles 1-4 and every 28 days for subsequent cycles for 2 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients may undergo echocardiography during screening and undergo CT or MRI, bone scan and blood and urine sample collection throughout the trial and may undergo PET/CT throughout the trial.
Interventions
- Procedure Biospecimen Collection
Undergo blood and urine sample collection
- Procedure Bone Scan
Undergo bone scan
- Drug Cabozantinib S-malate
Given PO
- Procedure Computed Tomography
Undergo CT and/or PET/CT scan
- Procedure Echocardiography Test
Undergo echocardiography
- Biological Ipilimumab
Given IV
- Procedure Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Undergo MRI
- Biological Nivolumab
Given IV
- Procedure Positron Emission Tomography
Undergo PET/CT scan
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Objective response rate (ORR)
An objective response is defined as a confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) as assessed by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1. A confirmed tumor response is defined to be either a CR or PR noted as the objective status on 2 consecutive evaluations at least 4 weeks apart. Will be estimated by the number of confirmed objective responses divided by the total number of evaluable patients. Confidence intervals for the true ORR will be calculated.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Duration of response
Defined for all evaluable patients who have achieved an objective response as the date at which the patient's earliest best objective status is first noted to be either a CR or PR to the earliest date progression is documented.
Time frame From time measurement criteria are met for CR or PR (whichever is first recorded) until the first date that recurrent or progressive disease is objectively documented, assessed up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Progression-free survival (PFS)
The median its 95% confidence interval will be determined and will be summarized using the Kaplan-Meier estimator.
Time frame From start of treatment to time of progression or death, whichever occurs first, assessed up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Overall survival
The median its 95% confidence interval will be determined and will be summarized using the Kaplan-Meier estimator.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Clinical benefit rate (CBR)
A confirmed clinical benefit is defined to be either a CR or PR noted as the objective status on 2 consecutive evaluations at least 4 weeks apart or a confirmed stable disease at two consecutive tumor assessments at least 3 months apart. The CBR will be estimated by the number of patients with confirmed clinical benefit divided by the total number of evaluable patients. Confidence intervals for the true CBR will be calculated using exact binomial confidence intervals.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Incidence of adverse events (AE)
Will be assessed using Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0. The maximum of a particular AE will be determined for each patient. Tables will summarize the number and relative frequency of patients observing an AE as well as the number and relative frequency of patients experiencing any AE of grade 3 or greater.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Effects of treatment in patients with bone-only disease
The bone-only tumor patients will be evaluated in an exploratory fashion (if no RECIST measurements are available). A maximum of 15 patients with bone-only disease will be enrolled and evaluated using PFS for a descriptive analysis of the effect of treatment.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Dates
| Start date | May 13, 2019 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | February 28, 2027 (estimated) |
| Completion | February 28, 2027 (estimated) |
| First posted | March 7, 2019 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 16, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | August 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
219 sites are recruiting
Puerto Rico
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pan American Center for Oncology Trials LLC | San Juan | Active, not recruiting |
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Providence Regional Cancer System-Aberdeen | Aberdeen | Washington | Suspended |
| Riverwood Healthcare Center | Aitkin | Minnesota | Suspended |
| University Cancer Specialists - Alcoa | Alcoa | Tennessee | Active, not recruiting |
| Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar Crest | Allentown | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| OSF Saint Anthony's Health Center | Alton | Illinois | Suspended |
| McFarland Clinic - Ames | Ames | Iowa | Recruiting |
| Mary Greeley Medical Center | Ames | Iowa | Recruiting |
| Community Hospital of Anaconda | Anaconda | Montana | Recruiting |
| Anchorage Associates in Radiation Medicine | Anchorage | Alaska | Suspended |
| Anchorage Oncology Centre | Anchorage | Alaska | Suspended |
| Alaska Women's Cancer Care | Anchorage | Alaska | Suspended |
| Alaska Oncology and Hematology LLC | Anchorage | Alaska | Suspended |
| Alaska Breast Care and Surgery LLC | Anchorage | Alaska | Suspended |
| Anchorage Radiation Therapy Center | Anchorage | Alaska | Suspended |
| Providence Alaska Medical Center | Anchorage | Alaska | Suspended |
| Katmai Oncology Group | Anchorage | Alaska | Suspended |
| UI Health Care Mission Cancer and Blood - Ankeny Clinic | Ankeny | Iowa | Recruiting |
| Trinity Health Saint Joseph Mercy Hospital Ann Arbor | Ann Arbor | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Mission Hope Medical Oncology - Arroyo Grande | Arroyo Grande | California | Active, not recruiting |
| PCR Oncology | Arroyo Grande | California | Suspended |
| Northwest Wisconsin Cancer Center | Ashland | Wisconsin | Suspended |
| Duluth Clinic Ashland | Ashland | Wisconsin | Recruiting |
| Emory University Hospital Midtown | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital | Atlanta | Georgia | Suspended |
| Emory University Hospital/Winship Cancer Institute | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Rush-Copley Medical Center | Aurora | Illinois | Suspended |
| Mount Sinai Comprehensive Cancer Center at Aventura | Aventura | Florida | Active, not recruiting |
| Saint Alphonsus Cancer Care Center-Baker City | Baker City | Oregon | Suspended |
| Mercy Oncology and Hematology - Clayton-Clarkson | Ballwin | Missouri | Suspended |
| Greater Baltimore Medical Center | Baltimore | Maryland | Suspended |
| CommonSpirit Saint Joseph Hospital - Bardstown | Bardstown | Kentucky | Active, not recruiting |
| Memorial Sloan Kettering Basking Ridge | Basking Ridge | New Jersey | Recruiting |
| Ochsner High Grove | Baton Rouge | Louisiana | Active, not recruiting |
| Louisiana Hematology Oncology Associates LLC | Baton Rouge | Louisiana | Recruiting |
| Hematology/Oncology Clinic PLLC | Baton Rouge | Louisiana | Suspended |
| Indu and Raj Soin Medical Center | Beavercreek | Ohio | Suspended |
| Nebraska Medicine-Bellevue | Bellevue | Nebraska | Recruiting |
| Overlake Medical Center | Bellevue | Washington | Suspended |
| PeaceHealth Saint Joseph Medical Center | Bellingham | Washington | Suspended |
| Strecker Cancer Center-Belpre | Belpre | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Saint Charles Health System | Bend | Oregon | Suspended |
| National Institutes of Health Clinical Center | Bethesda | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Lehigh Valley Hospital - Muhlenberg | Bethlehem | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| University of Iowa Healthcare Cancer Services Quad Cities | Bettendorf | Iowa | Recruiting |
| Billings Clinic Cancer Center | Billings | Montana | Recruiting |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham Cancer Center | Birmingham | Alabama | Active, not recruiting |
| Illinois CancerCare-Bloomington | Bloomington | Illinois | Suspended |
| Saint Elizabeth Boardman Hospital | Boardman | Ohio | Suspended |
| Saint Alphonsus Cancer Care Center-Boise | Boise | Idaho | Recruiting |
531 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- August 5, 2026
Site removed
1 site removed (581 total)
582581