NCT06393374ClinicalTrials.gov
Sacituzumab Tirumotecan (MK-2870) Plus Pembrolizumab Versus TPC in TNBC Who Did Not Achieve pCR (MK-2870-012)
A Phase 3, Randomized, Open-label, Study to Compare the Efficacy and Safety of Adjuvant MK-2870 in Combination With Pembrolizumab (MK-3475) Versus Treatment of Physician's Choice (TPC) in Participants With Triple-Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC) Who Received Neoadjuvant Therapy and Did Not Achieve a Pathological Complete Response (pCR) at Surgery
In brief
This is a randomized, open-label study comparing the efficacy and safety of adjuvant sacituzumab tirumotecan (MK-2870) in combination with pembrolizumab compared to treatment of physician's choice (TPC) in participants with triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) who received neoadjuvant therapy and did…
Phase 31,530 participants sought311 sites31 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06393374Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 days ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-05-01; recorded start 2024-06-24
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 661 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 305 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 1,530 participants (target), run at 311 sites, across 31 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment32/40
1,530 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
305 sites
- Country count15/15
31 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 164 months
- Sponsor scale10/10
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC has led 648 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This is a randomized, open-label study comparing the efficacy and safety of adjuvant sacituzumab tirumotecan (MK-2870) in combination with pembrolizumab compared to treatment of physician's choice (TPC) in participants with triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) who received neoadjuvant therapy and did not achieve a pathological complete response (pCR) at surgery. The primary objective is to compare sacituzumab tirumotecan plus pembrolizumab to TPC (pembrolizumab or pembrolizumab plus capecitabine) with respect to invasive disease-free survival (iDFS) per investigator assessment. It is hypothesized that sacituzumab tirumotecan plus pembrolizumab is superior to TPC with respect to iDFS per investigator assessment.
Conditions
- Triple-Negative Breast Cancer
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 1,530 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Pembrolizumab + sacituzumab tirumotecanEXPERIMENTAL
Participants receive pembrolizumab every 6 weeks (q6w) in combination with sacituzumab tirumotecan every 2 weeks (q2w) for 24 weeks. In addition, participants receive an antihistamine, an H2 antagonist of investigator's choice, acetaminophen (or equivalent), and dexamethasone (or equivalent) per each drug's product label prior to sacituzumab tirumotecan infusions.
- Treatment of Physician's ChoiceACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Participants receive pembrolizumab q6w or pembrolizumab q6w in combination with capecitabine (twice daily \[BID\] on Days 1 to 14 and 22 to 35 every 42 days x 4 \[2 weeks 1, 1 week off\]) for 24 weeks.
Interventions
- Drug Capecitabine
Capecitabine 1000 mg/m\^2 to 1250 mg/m\^2 by mouth BID
- Biological Pembrolizumab
Pembrolizumab 400 mg intravenous (IV) infusion q6w
- Biological Sacituzumab tirumotecan
Sacituzumab tirumotecan 4 mg/kg IV infusion q2w
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Invasive Disease-Free Survival (iDFS)
iDFS is the time from randomization to invasive local, regional, or distant recurrence, invasive contralateral breast cancer, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.
Time frame Up to ~77 months
Secondary outcome
Overall Survival (OS)
OS is the time from randomization to death due to any cause.
Time frame Up to ~101 months
Secondary outcome
Distant recurrence-free survival (DRFS)
DRFS is the time from randomization to distant recurrence or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.
Time frame Up to ~101 months
Secondary outcome
Change from baseline in European Organization for the Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire Core 30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) Global Health Status (Item 29) and Quality of Life (Item 30) Combined Score
EORTC QLQ-C30 is a 30-item scale to assess the overall quality of life in cancer patients. The overall functioning score is based on participant responses that are scored on a 7-point scale (1 = "Very poor" to 7 = "Excellent"). Higher scores indicate better overall health status.
Time frame Baseline and up to ~60 months
Secondary outcome
Change from baseline in EORTC QLQ-C30 Physical Functioning (Items 1-5) Combined Score
EORTC QLQ-C30 is a 30-item scale to assess the overall quality of life of cancer patients. The physical functioning score is based on participant responses to questions that scored on a 4-point scale (1 = 'Not at All' to 4 = 'Very Much'). Higher scores indicate better physical functioning.
Time frame Baseline and up to ~60 months
Secondary outcome
Change from baseline in EORTC QLQ-C30 Role Functioning (Items 6 and 7) Combined Score
EORTC QLQ-C30 is a 30-item scale to assess the overall quality of life of cancer patients. The role functioning score is based on participant responses to questions that scored on a 4-point scale (1 = 'Not at All' to 4 = 'Very Much'). Higher scores indicate better role functioning.
Time frame Baseline and up to ~60 months
Secondary outcome
Change from baseline in EORTC QLQ-C30 Fatigue (Items 10, 12, and 18) Combined Score
EORTC QLQ-C30 is a 30-item scale to assess the overall quality of life of cancer patients. Participant responses to questions about their fatigue are scored on a 4-point scale (1 = "Not at All" to 4 = "Very Much"). Lower scores indicate a better level of fatigue.
Time frame Baseline and up to ~60 months
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who experience one or more adverse events (AEs)
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention.
Time frame Up to ~42 weeks
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who discontinue study intervention due to an AE
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention.
Time frame Up to 24 weeks
Dates
| Start date | June 24, 2024 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | December 16, 2030 (estimated) |
| Completion | December 14, 2037 (estimated) |
| First posted | May 1, 2024 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 17, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | September 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
298 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centro de Educación Médica e Investigaciones clínicas "Dr. Norberto Quirno" (CEMIC) ( Site 0508) | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Instituto de Oncología Angel H. Roffo ( Site 0503) | Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires F.D. | Recruiting |
| Instituto Alexander Fleming-Alexander Fleming ( Site 0509) | Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires F.D. | Recruiting |
| Sanatorio Finochietto ( Site 0513) | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Hospital Aleman-Oncology ( Site 0501) | Capital Federal | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Hospital Británico de Buenos Aires-Oncology ( Site 0502) | Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Sanatorio Parque ( Site 0512) | Rosario | Santa Fe Province | Recruiting |
Australia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital-Medical Oncology Clinical Trials Unit, Cancer Care Services ( Site 2701) | Brisbane | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Frankston Hospital-Oncology and Haematology ( Site 2704) | Frankston | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Macquarie University-MQ Health Clinical Trials Unit ( Site 2703) | Macquarie University | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Westmead Hospital ( Site 2700) | Westmead | New South Wales | Recruiting |
Austria
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medizinische Universitaet Innsbruck ( Site 1200) | Innsbruck | Tyrol | Recruiting |
| Kepler Universitätsklinikum-Department for Oncology and Hematology ( Site 1206) | Linz | Upper Austria | Recruiting |
| Uniklinikum Salzburg-Universitätsklinik für Innere Medizin III der PMU mit Hämatologie, internistis ( Site 1202) | Salzburg | Recruiting | |
| Medizinische Universität Wien-Universitätsklinik für Innere Medizin I, Klinische Abteilung für Onko ( Site 1201) | Vienna | Recruiting | |
| Klinikum Wels-Grieskirchen ( Site 1205) | Wels | Upper Austria | Recruiting |
Belgium
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc-Medical Oncology ( Site 0901) | Brussels | Bruxelles-Capitale, Region de | Recruiting |
| AZ Maria Middelares-IKG ( Site 0903) | Ghent | Oost-Vlaanderen | Recruiting |
| Université Catholique de Louvain-Namur - Centre Hospitalier -Oncology ( Site 0902) | Namur | Recruiting |
Brazil
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| PRONUTRIR-CLINICAL RESEARCH ( Site 0609) | Fortaleza | Ceará | Recruiting |
| ANIMI - Unidade de Tratamento Oncologico ( Site 0616) | Lages | Santa Catarina | Recruiting |
| Hospital do Câncer Mãe de Deus ( Site 0604) | Porto Alegre | Rio Grande do Sul | Recruiting |
| Instituto de Oncologia Saint Gallen ( Site 0614) | Santa Cruz do Sul | Rio Grande do Sul | Recruiting |
| IBCC - Núcleo de Pesquisa e Ensino ( Site 0601) | São Paulo | Recruiting | |
| Instituto do Câncer Brasil - Unidade Taubaté ( Site 0608) | Taubaté | São Paulo | Recruiting |
| Oncoclínica Oncologistas Associados-Clinical Research ( Site 0607) | Teresina | Piauí | Recruiting |
| Hospital Santa Rita de Cassia ( Site 0617) | Vitória | Espírito Santo | Recruiting |
Canada
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cross Cancer Institute ( Site 0407) | Edmonton | Alberta | Recruiting |
| Centre Intégré de Santé et de Services Sociaux de la Montérégie-Centre ( Site 0417) | Greenfield Park | Quebec | Recruiting |
| QEII Health Sciences Centre - Victoria General Site ( Site 0418) | Halifax | Nova Scotia | Recruiting |
| Kingston Health Sciences Centre-Kingston General Hospital Site ( Site 0422) | Kingston | Ontario | Recruiting |
| The Moncton Hospital ( Site 0401) | Moncton | New Brunswick | Recruiting |
| Jewish General Hospital ( Site 0416) | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal ( Site 0403) | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| CIUSSS de l'Est-de-l'Île-de-Montréal ( Site 0419) | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Southlake Health ( Site 0413) | Newmarket | Ontario | Completed |
| The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus ( Site 0414) | Ottawa | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux du Bas Saint-Laurent- Hôpital régional de Rimouski ( Site 0409) | Rimouski | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Princess Margaret Cancer Centre ( Site 0400) | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| North York General Hospital ( Site 0415) | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Centre integre universitaire de sante et de services sociaux de la Mauricie-et-du-centre-du-quebec ( Site 0406) | Trois-Rivières | Quebec | Recruiting |
| BC Cancer Vancouver ( Site 0404) | Vancouver | British Columbia | Recruiting |
| CancerCare Manitoba ( Site 0411) | Winnipeg | Manitoba | Recruiting |
Colombia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instituto Nacional De Cancerologia ( Site 3701) | Bogotá | Bogota D.C. | Recruiting |
| FUNDACION CTIC CENTRO DE TRATAMIENTO E INVESTIGACION SOBRE CANCER LUIS CARLOS SARMIENTO ANGULO ( Site 3700) | Bogotá | Bogota D.C. | Recruiting |
| Clinica Somer ( Site 3704) | Rionegro | Antioquia | Recruiting |
| Sociedad de Oncología Y Hematología del Cesar S.A.S. ( Site 3705) | Valledupar | Cesar Department | Recruiting |
Czechia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Masarykuv onkologicky ustav ( Site 1005) | Brno | Brno-mesto | Recruiting |
| Fakultni nemocnice Olomouc-Onkologicka klinika ( Site 1006) | Olomouc | Olomouc Region | Recruiting |
| Fakultni Thomayerova nemocnice - Onkologicka klinika 1. LF UK a FTN ( Site 1008) | Prague | Praha 4 | Recruiting |
261 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- September 17, 2026
Site added
1 site added (311 total)
310311
- September 3, 2026
Site added
1 site added (310 total)
309310
- August 28, 2026
Site added
1 site added (309 total)
308309
- August 7, 2026
Site added
1 site added (308 total)
307308
- August 3, 2026
Site added
1 site added (307 total)
306307
- July 27, 2026
Site added
1 site added (306 total)
305306