Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT06561386ClinicalTrials.gov

A Study to Compare the Efficacy of Nivolumab and Relatlimab Plus Chemotherapy vs Pembrolizumab Plus Chemotherapy for Stage IV/Recurrent Non-squamous Non-small Cell Lung Cancer With PD-L1 Expression ≥ 1%

A Phase 3, Randomized, Open-label Study of Nivolumab + Relatlimab Fixed-dose Combination With Chemotherapy Versus Pembrolizumab With Chemotherapy as First-line Treatment for Participants With Non-squamous (NSQ), Stage IV or Recurrent Non-small Cell Lung Cancer and With Tumor Cell PD-L1 Expression ≥ 1%

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

The purpose of this study is to compare the efficacy of Nivolumab and Relatlimab in combination with chemotherapy to Pembrolizumab with Chemotherapy in participants with stage IV or recurrent Non-squamous Non-small Cell Lung Cancer with PD-L1 expression ≥ 1%

Phase 31,000 participants sought326 sites31 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-08-20; recorded start 2024-10-07
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 321 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Bristol-Myers Squibb)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 1 condition.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourSTRONG

A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding0/20

    Open-label

  • Control arm15/15

    Active-comparator control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type10/10

    Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 320 sites

  • Data monitoring committee7/7

    A data monitoring committee is in place

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleLARGE

A large study, international in scope: 1,000 participants (target), run at 326 sites, across 31 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment30/40

    1,000 participants (target)

  • Site count25/25

    320 sites

  • Country count15/15

    31 countries

  • Planned duration10/10

    Planned over about 95 months

  • Sponsor scale9/10

    Bristol-Myers Squibb has led 310 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

The purpose of this study is to compare the efficacy of Nivolumab and Relatlimab in combination with chemotherapy to Pembrolizumab with Chemotherapy in participants with stage IV or recurrent Non-squamous Non-small Cell Lung Cancer with PD-L1 expression ≥ 1%

Conditions

  • Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 YearsNo maximum
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria * Participants must have histologically confirmed Stage IV or recurrent Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) of non-squamous (NSQ) histology with no prior systemic anti-cancer therapy given as primary therapy for advanced or metastatic disease. * Participants must have measurable PD-L1 ≥ 1% Tumor Cell (TC) score by the investigational PD-L1 immunohistochemistry (IHC) assay VENTANA PD-L1 (SP263) CDx Assay conducted by central laboratory during the screening period prior to randomization. * Participants must have measurable disease by computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) per RECIST v1.1 criteria. * Participants must have an Easter Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of ≤ 1 at screening. * Participants must have a life expectancy of at least 3 months at the time of randomization. Exclusion Criteria * Participants must not be pregnant and/or breastfeeding. * Participants with epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR), anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK), or ROS-1 mutations that are sensitive to available targeted inhibitor therapy. Participants with unknown EGFR, ALK, or ROS-1 status are excluded. * Participants with known BRAFV600E mutations, that are sensitive to available targeted inhibitor therapy; participants with known activating rearranged during transfection (RET) mutations or neurotrophic tyrosine receptor kinase (NTRK) fusion gene alterations are excluded. Participants with unknown or indeterminate BRAF mutation, activating RET mutations or NTRK fusion gene alterations are eligible. * Participants must not have untreated central nervous system (CNS) metastases. * Participants must not have leptomeningeal metastases (carcinomatous meningitis). * Participants must not have concurrent malignancy requiring treatment. * Participants must not have an active autoimmune disease. * Participants must not have history of interstitial lung disease or pneumonitis that required oral or intravenous (IV) glucocorticoids to assist with management. * Participants must not have a history of myocarditis. * Participants must not have had prior treatment with an anti-PD-1, anti-PD-L1, anti-PD-L2, or anti-CTLA-4 antibody, or other antibody or drug targeting T-cell co-stimulation or checkpoint pathways. * Other protocol-defined Inclusion/Exclusion criteria apply.

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingNONE (0)
Enrolment1,000 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • Bristol-Myers Squibb Sponsor

Arms and interventions

  • Arm AEXPERIMENTAL
  • Arm BACTIVE_COMPARATOR

Interventions

  • Drug Carboplatin

    Specified dose on specified days

  • Drug Cisplatin

    Specified dose on specified days

  • Drug Nivolumab

    Specified dose on specified days

  • Drug Pembrolizumab

    Specified dose on specified days

  • Drug Pemetrexed

    Specified dose on specified days

  • Drug Relatlimab

    Specified dose on specified days

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Overall survival (OS) in randomized participants with PD-L1 1% to 49%

    Time frame Up to 5 years

  2. Secondary outcome

    OS in randomized participants with PD-L1 ≥ 1%

    Time frame Up to 5 years

  3. Secondary outcome

    Progression-free survival (PFS) as assessed by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) per blinded independent central review (BICR)

    Time frame Up to 5 years

  4. Secondary outcome

    Overall response rate (ORR)

    Time frame Up to 5 years

  5. Secondary outcome

    Duration of response (DoR)

    Time frame Up to 5 years

  6. Secondary outcome

    Number of participants with adverse events (AEs)

    Time frame Up to 2.5 years

  7. Secondary outcome

    Number of participants with serious adverse events (SAEs)

    Time frame Up to 2.5 years

  8. Secondary outcome

    Number of participants with immune-mediated adverse events (IMAEs)

    Time frame Up to 2.5 years

  9. Secondary outcome

    The time until definitive deterioration based on non-small cell lung cancer - symptom assessment questionnaire (NSCLC-SAQ) total score

    Time frame Up to 2 years

Dates

Dates
Start dateOctober 7, 2024 (actual)
Primary completionJuly 30, 2030 (estimated)
CompletionAugust 4, 2032 (estimated)
First postedAugust 20, 2024 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 14, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedSeptember 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

231 sites are recruiting

Argentina

Argentina
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Hospital Italiano de Buenos AiresABBBuenos Aires F.D.Recruiting
Local Institution - 0493BarilocheRío Negro ProvinceNot yet recruiting
Hospital Británico de Buenos AiresCiudad Autónoma de Buenos AiresBuenos AiresRecruiting
Instituto Alexander FlemingCiudad Autónoma de Buenos AiresBuenos AiresRecruiting
Hospital Privado Universitario de CórdobaCórdobaRecruiting
Instituto Oncológico de CórdobaCórdobaRecruiting
Hospital Privado de ComunidadMar del PlataRecruiting
Sanatorio ParqueRosarioSanta Fe ProvinceRecruiting
Instituto Médico Río CuartoRío CuartoCórdoba ProvinceRecruiting

Australia

Australia
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Box Hill HospitalBox HillVictoriaRecruiting
The Prince Charles HospitalBrisbaneQueenslandRecruiting
Gallipoli Medical Research LtdBrisbaneQueenslandRecruiting
Local Institution - 0057Elizabeth ValeSouth AustraliaNot yet recruiting
Gosford HospitalGosfordNew South WalesRecruiting
Fiona Stanley HospitalMurdochWestern AustraliaRecruiting
St. John of God Murdoch HospitalMurdochWestern AustraliaRecruiting
GenesisCare North ShoreSt LeonardsNew South WalesRecruiting

Austria

Austria
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Universitätsklinikum KremsKremsLower AustriaRecruiting
Klinik FloridsdorfViennaRecruiting
Klinikum Wels-Grieskirchen GmbHWelsUpper AustriaRecruiting

Belgium

Belgium
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
UZ BrusselBrusselsBruxelles-Capitale, Région deRecruiting
Antwerp University HospitalEdegemAntwerpenRecruiting
Jessa ZiekenhuisHasseltLimburgRecruiting
Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Liège - Domaine Universitaire du Sart TilmanLiègeRecruiting
AZ Delta vzwRoeselareWest-VlaanderenRecruiting
Université Catholique de Louvain-Namur - Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Dinant-Godinne - Site GodinneYvoirNamurRecruiting

Brazil

Brazil
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Fundação Pio XII - Hospital de Câncer de BarretosBarretosSão PauloRecruiting
NAIC - Instituto do CâncerBauruSão PauloRecruiting
Cetus Oncologia - Unidade Belo HorizonteBelo HorizonteMinas GeraisRecruiting
CTO - Centro de Tratamento OncológicoBelémParáRecruiting
PronutrirFortalezaCearáRecruiting
Clínica de Neoplasias LitoralItajaíSanta CatarinaRecruiting
Liga Norte Riograndense Contra o CâncerNatalRio Grande do NorteRecruiting
Hospital São Lucas da PUCRSPorto AlegreRio Grande do SulRecruiting
Hospital de Clinicas de Porto AlegrePorto AlegreRio Grande do SulRecruiting
Instituto Nacional de Câncer - INCARio de JaneiroRecruiting
Centro de Oncologia - CEON+ - Unidade São Caetano do SulSão Caetano do SulSão PauloRecruiting
Icesp - Instituto Do Câncer Do Estado de São PauloSão PauloRecruiting
Local Institution - 0496São PauloNot yet recruiting
Local Institution - 0497TaubatéSão PauloNot yet recruiting
Local Institution - 0501TimbóSanta CatarinaNot yet recruiting

Canada

Canada
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Local Institution - 0494MontrealQuebecNot yet recruiting

Chile

Chile
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Local Institution - 0495SantiagoVitacuraNot yet recruiting
Orlandi OncologiaSantiagoSantiago MetropolitanRecruiting
Fundacion Arturo Lopez Perez (FALP)SantiagoSantiago MetropolitanRecruiting
Pontificia Universidad Catolica de ChileSantiagoSantiago MetropolitanRecruiting
BradfordhillSantiagoSantiago MetropolitanRecruiting
Oncocentro ApysViña del MarValparaisoRecruiting

China

China
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Beijing Cancer hospitalBeijingBeijing MunicipalityRecruiting
Hunan Cancer HospitalChangshaHunanRecruiting

276 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 14, 2026

    Site added

    4 sites added (326 total)

    322326

  2. August 17, 2026

    Site added

    2 sites added (322 total)

    320322