Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT06819878ClinicalTrials.gov

A Study to Assess the Efficacy and Safety of Induction and Maintenance Therapy With Afimkibart (RO7790121) in Participants With Moderately to Severely Active Crohn's Disease

A Phase III, Multicenter, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Treat-Through Study to Assess the Efficacy and Safety of Induction and Maintenance Therapy With RO7790121 in Patients With Moderately to Severely Active Crohn's Disease

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

This Phase III, multicenter, double-blind, placebo-controlled treat-through study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of induction and maintenance therapy with Afimkibart (also known as RO7790121) in participants with moderately to severely active Crohn's disease (CD).

Phase 3600 participants sought374 sites38 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2025-02-11; recorded start 2025-03-17
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 534 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Hoffmann-La Roche)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 1 condition.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourSTRONG

A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding13/20

    Double-blind

  • Control arm13/15

    Placebo / sham control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 372 sites

  • Data monitoring committee7/7

    A data monitoring committee is in place

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleMEDIUM

A medium-sized study, international in scope: 600 participants (target), run at 374 sites, across 38 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment27/40

    600 participants (target)

  • Site count25/25

    372 sites

  • Country count15/15

    38 countries

  • Planned duration10/10

    Planned over about 107 months

  • Sponsor scale10/10

    Hoffmann-La Roche has led 529 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

This Phase III, multicenter, double-blind, placebo-controlled treat-through study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of induction and maintenance therapy with Afimkibart (also known as RO7790121) in participants with moderately to severely active Crohn's disease (CD).

Conditions

  • Moderately to Severely Active Crohns Disease

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages16 Years80 Years
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria: * Confirmed diagnosis of CD * Moderately to severely active CD * Bodyweight \>= 40 kilogram (kg) * Demonstrated inadequate response, loss of response and/or intolerance to at least one protocol-specified conventional or advanced CD therapy * Males and females of childbearing potential must meet protocol criteria for contraception requirements Exclusion Criteria: * Current diagnosis of ulcerative colitis (UC) or indeterminate colitis, ischemic colitis, infectious colitis, radiation colitis, microscopic colitis * Participant with a history of \>= 3 bowel resections (\> 2 missing segments of the 5 following segments: terminal ilelium, right colon, transverse colon, sigmoid and left colon, and rectum) * Diagnosis of short gut or short bowel syndrome * Presence of an ileostomy, colostomy or ileoanal pouch * Participants with symptomatic bowel strictures, fulminant colitis, or toxic megacolon * Presence of abdominal or perianal abscess * Presence of rectovaginal, enterovaginal, high output enterocutaneous fistula, enterovesical fistulas or perianal fistulas with \>3 openings * Current diagnosis or suspicion of primary sclerosing cholangitis * Pregnancy or breastfeeding, or intention of becoming pregnant during the study * Any past or current evidence of cancer of gastrointestinal tract, definite low-grade or high-grade colonic dysplasia * History of non-gastrointestinal cancer, with the exception of adequately treated non-metastatic basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or in situ cervical cancer * Evidence of infection with Clostridioides difficile (C. difficile; formerly known as Clostridium difficile), cytomegalovirus (CMV), human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), Hepatitis B (HBV), Hepatitis C (HCV) during screening * Has evidence of active tuberculosis (TB), latent TB not successfully treated (per local guidance) or inadequately treated TB * Has received protocol-specified prohibited medicines, including known exposure to any type of anti-TL1A therapy

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingDOUBLE (2)
Enrolment600 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • Hoffmann-La Roche Sponsor
  • Chugai Pharmaceutical Collaborators

Arms and interventions

  • Arm 2: AfimkibartEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants will receive afimkibart IV followed by afimkibart SC injection.

  • Arm 3: PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR

    Participants will receive placebo IV followed by placebo SC.

  • Arm 1: AfimkibartEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants will receive afimkibart intravenously (IV) followed by afimkibart subcutaneous (SC) injection.

Interventions

  • Drug Afimkibart

    Afimkibart will be administered as IV infusion. Afimkibart will be administered as SC injection.

  • Drug Placebo

    Placebo matching IV afimkibart. Placebo matching SC afimkibart.

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Clinical Remission per Crohn's Disease Activity Index (CDAI) Score

    Percentage of participants achieving a CDAI score of \<150. The index is a weighted sum of scores on eight components: number of liquid or soft stools (stool frequency), abdominal pain, general well-being, number of complications, use of anti-diarrheal medication, presence of an abdominal mass, hematocrit, and percentage deviation from standard body weight. CDAI generally ranges from 0 to roughly 600, with higher values indicating greater activity.

    Time frame At Week 52

  2. Primary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Endoscopic Response

    Percentage of participants achieving a decrease in Simple Endoscopic Score for Crohn's Disease (SES-CD) of \>50% from baseline. The SES-CD is a composite of four features of endoscopic activity (presence and size of ulcers, extent of ulcerated surface, extent of affected and presence and type of narrowings or stenosis) in up to five ileocolonic segments (terminal ileum, right colon, transverse colon, sigmoid and left colon, and rectum). Each feature is scored on a scale from 0 to 3, giving segment subscores of 0 to 12 points and a total SES-CD range of 0-60, with a higher value indicating greater severity.

    Time frame At Week 52

  3. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Clinical Remission

    Percentage of participants achieving a CDAI score of \<150. The index is a weighted sum of scores on eight components: number of liquid or soft stools (stool frequency), abdominal pain, general well-being, number of complications, use of anti-diarrheal medication, presence of an abdominal mass, hematocrit, and percentage deviation from standard body weight. CDAI generally ranges from 0 to roughly 600, with higher values indicating greater activity.

    Time frame At Week 12

  4. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Endoscopic Response

    Percentage of participants achieving a decrease in SES-CD of \>50% from baseline. The SES-CD is a composite of four features of endoscopic activity (presence and size of ulcers, extent of ulcerated surface, extent of affected and presence and type of narrowings or stenosis) in up to five ileocolonic segments (terminal ileum, right colon, transverse colon, sigmoid and left colon, and rectum). Each feature is scored on a scale from 0 to 3, giving segment subscores of 0 to 12 points and a total SES-CD range of 0-60, with a higher value indicating greater severity.

    Time frame At Week 12

  5. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Symptomatic Remission

    Percentage of participants with the daily number of liquid or very soft stools \<=2.8 and the average of daily abdominal pain scores in the past week \<=1, with neither being greater than baseline.

    Time frame At Week 12

  6. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Endoscopic Remission

    Percentage of participants with an SES-CD of 0 to 4 with a decrease from baseline \>=2 and no subscore \>1.

    Time frame At Week 12

  7. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Ulcer-free Endoscopy

    Percentage of participants with an SES-CD ulcerated surface subscore of 0.

    Time frame At Week 12

  8. Secondary outcome

    Average of Daily Number of Liquid or Very Soft Stools in the Past Week (SF)

    Daily average number of liquid or very soft stools over 7 days.

    Time frame Baseline through Week 12

  9. Secondary outcome

    Average of Daily Abdominal Pain Scores in the Past Week (APS)

    The average daily rating of abdominal pain in the past 7 days. The pain is assessed on a scale of 0-3 with 0 indicating no pain and 3 indicating severe pain.

    Time frame Baseline through Week 12

  10. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Endoscopic Remission

    Percentage of participants with SES-CD=0 to 4 with decrease from baseline \>=2 and no subscore \>1 .

    Time frame At Week 52

  11. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Symptomatic Remission

    Percentage of participants with the daily number of liquid or very soft stools \<=2.8 and the average of daily abdominal pain scores in the past week \<=1, with neither being greater than baseline.

    Time frame At Week 52

  12. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Corticosteroid-free Clinical Remission

    Percentage of participants with clinical remission at Week 52 and no use of corticosteroids for CD at least 8 weeks prior to Week 52.

    Time frame At Week 52

  13. Secondary outcome

    Maintenance of Clinical Remission

    Percentage of participants with clinical remission at both Weeks 12 and 52.

    Time frame At Weeks 12 and 52

  14. Secondary outcome

    Maintenance of Endoscopic Response

    Percentage of participants with endoscopic response at both Weeks 12 and 52.

    Time frame At Weeks 12 and 52

  15. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Clinical Remission and Endoscopic Remission at Week 52

    Percentage of participants achieving a CDAI score of \<150 and SES-CD of 0 to 4 with a decrease from baseline \>=2 and no subscore \>1 at Week 52.

    Time frame At Week 52

  16. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Ulcer-free Endoscopy

    Percentage of participants with an SES-CD ulcerated surface subscore of 0.

    Time frame At Week 52

  17. Secondary outcome

    Bowel Urgency

    Bowel urgency from baseline through week 12 and week 52. Bowel urgency is a single-item self-reported assessment of sudden or immediate need to have a bowel movement in the past 24 hours. The item response is reported on a 4-point Likert scale, from "None" to "Severe."

    Time frame Baseline through Week 12 and Week 52

  18. Secondary outcome

    Fatigue

    Fatigue, as measured by the Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-F), from baseline to Week 12 and Week 52. FACIT-F is a 13-item self-reported assessment of fatigue. Each item response option indicates the degree to which a given statement describing the level or impact of fatigue applies in the past 7 days. Response options are graded on a 5-point Likert-type scale, from "Not at all" to "Very much."

    Time frame Baseline to Week 12 and Week 52

  19. Secondary outcome

    Inflammatory Bowel Disease Questionnaire (IBDQ) Score

    Change in IBDQ score from baseline to week 12 and 52. The IBDQ is a 32-item questionnaire that measures four domains: bowel symptoms (10 questions); systemic symptoms (5 questions); emotional function (12 questions); and social function (5 questions). The total score ranges from 32-224, with a higher score indicating a better quality of life.

    Time frame Baseline to Week 12 and Week 52

  20. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Clinical Remission: Among Biomarker-Defined Subgroups of Participants

    Percentage of participants achieving a CDAI score of \<150 at Week 12 in biomarker-defined subgroups. The index is a weighted sum of scores on eight components: number of liquid or soft stools (stool frequency), abdominal pain, general well-being, number of complications, use of anti-diarrheal medication, presence of an abdominal mass, hematocrit, and percentage deviation from standard body weight. CDAI generally ranges from 0 to roughly 600, with higher values indicating greater activity.

    Time frame At Week 12

  21. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Clinical Remission: Among Biomarker-Defined Subgroups of Participants

    Percentage of participants achieving a CDAI score of \<150 at Week 52 in biomarker-defined subgroups. The index is a weighted sum of scores on eight components: number of liquid or soft stools (stool frequency), abdominal pain, general well-being, number of complications, use of anti-diarrheal medication, presence of an abdominal mass, hematocrit, and percentage deviation from standard body weight. CDAI generally ranges from 0 to roughly 600, with higher values indicating greater activity.

    Time frame At Week 52

  22. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Endoscopic Response: Among Biomarker-Defined Subgroups of Participants

    Percentage of participants achieving a decrease in SES-CD of \>50% from baseline. The SES-CD is a composite of four features of endoscopic activity (presence and size of ulcers, extent of ulcerated surface, extent of affected and presence and type of narrowings or stenosis) in up to five ileocolonic segments (terminal ileum, right colon, transverse colon, sigmoid and left colon, and rectum). Each feature is scored on a scale from 0 to 3, giving segment subscores of 0 to 12 points and a total SES-CD range of 0-60, with a higher value indicating greater severity.

    Time frame At Week 12

  23. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Endoscopic Response: Among Biomarker-Defined Subgroups of Participants

    Percentage of participants achieving a decrease in SES-CD of \>50% from baseline. The SES-CD is a composite of four features of endoscopic activity (presence and size of ulcers, extent of ulcerated surface, extent of affected and presence and type of narrowings or stenosis) in up to five ileocolonic segments (terminal ileum, right colon, transverse colon, sigmoid and left colon, and rectum). Each feature is scored on a scale from 0 to 3, giving segment subscores of 0 to 12 points and a total SES-CD range of 0-60, with a higher value indicating greater severity.

    Time frame At Week 52

  24. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Clinical Response

    Percentage of participants with a decrease \>=100 in CDAI from baseline.

    Time frame At Week 12

  25. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with Symptomatic Response

    Percentage of participants with a decrease \>=30% in both SF and APS, with neither being greater than baseline.

    Time frame At Week 12

  26. Secondary outcome

    Overall Change in CD Symptoms

    Overall change in CD symptoms, as measured by the Patient Global Impression of Change (PGIC) from baseline to Weeks 2, 6, 12 and 52. PGIC measures overall change in Crohn's disease symptoms from "Much better" to "Much worse".

    Time frame Baseline to Weeks 2, 6, 12 and 52

  27. Secondary outcome

    Overall Severity in CD Symptoms

    Overall severity in CD symptoms, as measured by the Patient Global Impression of Severity (PGIS) from baseline to Weeks 2, 6, 12 and 52. PGIS measures severity of Crohn's disease symptoms from "None" to "Very severe".

    Time frame Baseline to Weeks 2, 6, 12 and 52

  28. Secondary outcome

    Change in General Well-being

    The average daily rating of general well-being in the past 7 days. Well-being is assessed on a scale of 0-4 with 0 indicating generally well and 4 indicating terrible.

    Time frame Baseline through Week 52

  29. Secondary outcome

    Incidence and Severity of Adverse Events (AEs)

    Incidence and severity of AEs, including serious AEs, AEs leading to treatment discontinuation and AEs of special interest.

    Time frame Up to 70 Weeks after Baseline

  30. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants with a Presence of Draining Fistulas

    Fistulas will be assessed for draining or closed status, where closed fistulas will be assessed by the investigator as no longer draining.

    Time frame Baseline through Week 12 and Week 52

Dates

Dates
Start dateMarch 17, 2025 (actual)
Primary completionDecember 31, 2028 (estimated)
CompletionDecember 31, 2033 (estimated)
First postedFebruary 11, 2025 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 16, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedSeptember 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

360 sites are recruiting

Argentina

Argentina
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Hospital BritanicoCiudad Autonoma Bs AsRecruiting
Hospital Provincial del CentenarioRosarioRecruiting

Australia

Australia
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Flinders Medical CenterAdelaideSouth AustraliaRecruiting
Lyell McEwin HospitalAdelaideSouth AustraliaRecruiting
Northern HospitalEppingVictoriaRecruiting
The Canberra HospitalGarranAustralian Capital TerritoryRecruiting
Royal Brisbane and Women's HospitalHerstonQueenslandRecruiting
Fiona Stanley HospitalMurdochWestern AustraliaRecruiting
Royal Perth HospitalPerthWestern AustraliaRecruiting
Mater Misericordiae LimitedSouth BrisbaneQueenslandRecruiting
Royal Prince Alfred HospitalSydneyNew South WalesRecruiting
Princess Alexandra HospitalWoolloongabbaQueenslandRecruiting

Austria

Austria
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Medizinische Universität InnsbruckInnsbruckRecruiting
Universitätsklinikum St. PöltenSankt PöltenRecruiting
Medizinische Universität WienViennaRecruiting
Barmherzige Brüder WienViennaRecruiting

Belgium

Belgium
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
AZORG Campus Aalst-MoorselbaanAalstRecruiting
Cliniques Universitaires St-LucBrusselsWithdrawn
UZ AntwerpenEdegemRecruiting
AZ Maria MiddelaresGhentRecruiting
AZ Sint Lucas (Sint Lucas)GhentRecruiting
Jessa Zkh (Campus Virga Jesse)HasseltWithdrawn
CHC MontLégiaLiègeWithdrawn
CHU de Liège (Sart Tilman)LiègeRecruiting
CHU HELORA - Hôpital de Mons - Site KennedyMonsRecruiting
VitazSint-NiklaasRecruiting

Brazil

Brazil
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
UNESP - Faculdade de Medicina da Universidade Estadual Paulista - Campus BotucatuBotucatuSão PauloRecruiting
L2 Ip Instituto de Pesquisas Clinicas Ltda MEBrasíliaFederal DistrictRecruiting
Centro de Pesquisa São LucasCampinasSão PauloRecruiting
Centro Digestivo de CuritibaCuritibaParanáRecruiting
Hospital de Clinicas de Porto Alegre XPorto AlegreRio Grande do SulRecruiting
CLIAGEN - Clinica de Atenção em Gastroenterologia, Especialidades e NutriçãoSalvadorEstado de BahiaRecruiting
CPQuali Pesquisa Clinica LtdaSão PauloSão PauloRecruiting
BR Trials - Pesquisa ClínicaSão PauloSão PauloRecruiting

Bulgaria

Bulgaria
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
MBAL BurgasmedBurgasRecruiting
MHAT St. Ivan RilskiGorna OryahovitsaRecruiting
Futuremeds Medical CenterPlovdivRecruiting
MHAT Saint Karidad EADPlovdivRecruiting
Tokuda HospitalSofiaRecruiting

Canada

Canada
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
South Edmonton GastroenterologyEdmontonAlbertaRecruiting
C.I.C. MauricieTrois-RivièresQuebecWithdrawn
TDDA Specialty ResearchVaughanOntarioRecruiting

Chile

Chile
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Hospital Guillermo Grant BenaventeConcepciónRecruiting
MedwalSantiagoRecruiting
Clinica Universidad de Los AndesSantiagoRecruiting

China

China
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Peking University Third HospitalBeijingRecruiting
the First Hospital of Jilin UniversityChangchunRecruiting
Third Xiangya Hospital Centrel South UniversityChangshaRecruiting
West China Hospital of Sichuan UniversityChengduRecruiting
Chongqing General HospitalChongqingRecruiting

324 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 16, 2026

    Site added

    1 site added (374 total)

    373374

  2. August 20, 2026

    Site added

    1 site added (373 total)

    372373