NCT07282665ClinicalTrials.gov
A Study to Learn About a Clostridioides Difficile Vaccine in People 65 Years of Age and Older
A PHASE 3, PLACEBO-CONTROLLED, DOUBLE-BLINDED, RANDOMIZED STUDY TO EVALUATE THE EFFICACY, SAFETY, AND TOLERABILITY OF A CLOSTRIDIOIDES DIFFICILE VACCINE IN ADULTS 65 YEARS OF AGE AND OLDER
In brief
The purpose of the study is to learn about how effective, safe, and tolerable the Clostridioides difficile (C. difficile) vaccine is in decreasing the number of C. difficile infections (pCDI) in adults 65 years of age or older. The participants…
Phase 332,500 participants sought185 sites4 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07282665Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 weeks ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Not stated: Registered after enrolment began (about 5 days after the recorded start)First posted 2025-12-15; recorded start 2025-12-10
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 606 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Pfizer)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding16/20
Triple-blind
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 174 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A very large study, international in scope: 32,500 participants (target), run at 185 sites, across 4 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment40/40
32,000 participants (target)
- Site count24/25
174 sites
- Country count7/15
4 countries
- Planned duration8/10
Planned over about 43 months
- Sponsor scale10/10
Pfizer has led 584 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
The purpose of the study is to learn about how effective, safe, and tolerable the Clostridioides difficile (C. difficile) vaccine is in decreasing the number of C. difficile infections (pCDI) in adults 65 years of age or older. The participants will receive either the C. difficile vaccine or placebo (saline). A placebo does not contain any active ingredients. The vaccines will be given as a shot into the upper arm muscle. This study looks at the number of diarrhea (loose stools) events related to a C. difficile infection, so the length of the study can change. If these events happen quickly, the study may finish sooner; if they happen slowly, it could take longer. Sometimes, the study might stop early if the vaccine clearly does not work. Participants will stay in the study until enough events have occurred to answer the main question. On average, each person is expected to take part for up to about three and a half years. During this time, participants will have 3 planned clinic visits and 3 planned phone visits. After these visits, more scheduled clinic visits will happen every year until the end of study. Besides the scheduled study visits, if at any time during the study a participant has 3 or more loose stools in 24 hours, they will be asked to save the next one (the fourth or later) and contact the study site. The study site will check to see if it could be a C. difficile infection. This check may happen at the clinic or through a phone or video call.
Conditions
- Clostridoides Difficile Associated Disease
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 65 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | Yes |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | PREVENTION |
| Masking | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Enrolment | 32,500 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Pfizer Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- C.difficile vaccineEXPERIMENTAL
Novel vaccine formulation
- Saline PlaceboOTHER
Interventions
- Biological C.difficile vaccine
C.difficile vaccine given as an intramuscular injection
- Other Saline Placebo
0.9% sodium chloride solution given as a intramuscular injection
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
The percentage of participants reporting local reactions
Injection site pain, redness, and swelling as self-reported in electronic diaries
Time frame For 7 days after each vaccination
Primary outcome
The percentage of participants reporting systemic events
Fever, vomiting, fatigue, headache, muscle pain, and joint pain as self-reported in electronic diaries
Time frame For 7 days after each vaccination
Primary outcome
Percentage of participants reporting adverse events
As elicited by investigator site staff
Time frame From each vaccination through 1 month after each vaccination
Primary outcome
Percentage of participants reporting serious adverse events
As elicited by investigator site staff
Time frame From Vaccination 1 (Day 1) through 12 months after Vaccination 2 (last dose) (18 months)
Primary outcome
The incidence of the first episode of medically attended and clinically meaningful primary Clostridioides difficile infection (CDI)
First episode of medically attended and clinically meaningful primary CDI incidence per 1000 person- years of follow- up
Time frame from 14 days after Vaccination 2 to the end of the surveillance period (up to approximately 3.5 years)
Primary outcome
The incidence of the first episode of medically attended primary CDI
First episode of medically attended primary CDI incidence per 1000 person- years of follow- up
Time frame from 14 days after Vaccination 2 to the end of the surveillance period (up to approximately 3.5 years)
Primary outcome
The incidence of the first episode of clinically meaningful primary CDI
First episode of clinically meaningful primary CDI incidence per 1000 person- years of follow- up
Time frame from 14 days after Vaccination 2 to the end of the surveillance period (up to approximately 3.5 years)
Secondary outcome
The incidence of antibiotic use in the treatment of a first episode of the primary CDI
First episode of primary CDI with antibiotic use incidence per 1000 person- years of follow- up
Time frame from 14 days after Vaccination 2 to the end of the surveillance period (up to approximately 3.5 years)
Secondary outcome
The incidence of severe or fulminant primary CDI
First episode of severe or fulminant primary CDI incidence per 1000 person- years of follow- up
Time frame from 14 days after Vaccination 2 to the end of the surveillance period (up to approximately 3.5 years)
Secondary outcome
The incidence of a first episode of primary CDI (any severity)
First episode of primary CDI incidence per 1000 person- years of follow- up
Time frame from 14 days after Vaccination 2 to the end of the surveillance period (up to approximately 3.5 years)
Secondary outcome
The incidence of all CDI (primary and recurrent)
Occurence of all C.difficile infection cases
Time frame from 14 days after Vaccination 2 to the end of the surveillance period (up to approximately 3.5 years)
Dates
| Start date | December 10, 2025 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | December 11, 2028 (estimated) |
| Completion | June 7, 2029 (estimated) |
| First posted | December 15, 2025 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 9, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | September 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
180 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equipo Ciencia | Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires F.D. | Recruiting |
| Centro Medico Barrio Parque | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Sanatorio Sagrado Corazón | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Fundación Huésped | Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires F.D. | Recruiting |
| Clinica Privada del Sol S.A | Córdoba | Córdoba Province | Recruiting |
| Instituto Médico Platense (IMP) | La Plata | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| CDC Centro Médico | Lujan de Cuyo | Mendoza Province | Recruiting |
| Clinica Del Niño Y La Madre | Mar del Plata | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Investigaciones Clínicas Salta (ICSAL) | Salta | Recruiting | |
| Clinica Mayo de Urgencias Médicas Cruz Blanca S.R.L | San Miguel de Tucumán | Tucumán Province | Not yet recruiting |
| Hospital de Clinicas Presidente Nicolas Avellaneda | San Miguel de Tucumán | Tucumán Province | Not yet recruiting |
Japan
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tokyo-Eki Center-building Clinic | Chuo-ku | Tokyo | Recruiting |
| Nozaki Tokushukai Hospital | Daitō | Osaka | Recruiting |
| Aso Iizuka Hospital | Iizuka-shi | Fukuoka | Recruiting |
| Seishinkai Inoue Hospital | Itoshima | Fukuoka | Recruiting |
| Japan Community Healthcare Organization Kyushu Hospital | Kitakyushu-shi | Fukuoka | Recruiting |
| Koga General Hospital | Koga | Ibaraki | Recruiting |
| Japanese Red Cross Kumamoto Hospital | Kumamoto | Kumamoto | Recruiting |
| Kojunkai Daido Clinic | Nagoya | Aichi-ken | Recruiting |
| Kamiiida daiichi General Hospital | Nagoya | Aichi-ken | Recruiting |
| Fukuoka Shinmizumaki Hospital | Onga-gun | Fukuoka | Recruiting |
| Saga University Hospital | Saga | Saga-ken | Recruiting |
| Nanbu Tokushukai Hospital | Shimajiri | Okinawa | Recruiting |
| National Center for Global Health and Medicine | Shinjuku | Tokyo | Recruiting |
| National Hospital Organization Nagasaki Medical Center | Ōmura | Nagasaki | Recruiting |
United Kingdom
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ormeau Clinical Trials | Belfast | Northern Ireland | Recruiting |
| Synexus Midlands Clinical Research Centre | Birmingham | Recruiting | |
| Layton Medical Centre | Blackpool | Lancashire | Recruiting |
| Cheadle Community Hospital | Cheadle | Staffordshire | Recruiting |
| Lakeside Surgery | Corby | Northamptonshire | Recruiting |
| Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital | Exeter | Devon | Recruiting |
| Synexus Scotland Clinical Research Centre | Glasgow | Glasgow CITY | Not yet recruiting |
| Panthera Biopartners - Glasgow | Glasgow | Recruiting | |
| Manchester Royal Infirmary | Manchester | Recruiting | |
| Synexus Manchester Clinical Research Centre | Manchester | Recruiting | |
| Newquay Health Centre | Newquay | Cornwall | Recruiting |
| Knowle House Surgery | Plymouth | Devon | Recruiting |
| Panthera Biopartners - Preston | Preston | England | Recruiting |
| Panthera Biopartners - Manchester | Rochdale | Manchester | Recruiting |
| Panthera Biopartners - Sheffield | Sheffield | Recruiting | |
| Southampton General Hospital | Southampton | Hampshire | Recruiting |
| Brunel Medical Practice (St Marychurch) | Torquay | Devon | Recruiting |
| North Wales Clinical Research Facility | Wrexham | Wrexham [wrecsam Gb-wrc] | Not yet recruiting |
| Panthera Clinic - York | York | North Yorkshire | Recruiting |
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Albuquerque Clinical Trials, Inc. | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Recruiting |
| Accellacare - McFarland | Ames | Iowa | Recruiting |
| McFarland Clinic, PC | Ames | Iowa | Recruiting |
| North Alabama Research Center | Athens | Alabama | Recruiting |
| Emory Steiner Building Research Center | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Emory University Woodruff Extension Building (WEB) | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
135 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- September 9, 2026
Site added
2 sites added (185 total)
183185
- August 14, 2026
Enrolment target changed
Enrollment target revised up from 32000 to 32500
3200032500
- August 14, 2026
Site added
9 sites added (183 total)
174183