NCT07284901ClinicalTrials.gov
Efficacy and Safety of Ribupatide Administered Once Weekly in Participants Living With Obesity or Overweight and Diabetes
A Phase 3, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of KAI-9531 Administered Once Weekly in Participants Living With Obesity or Overweight and Diabetes
In brief
The primary objective of this study is to demonstrate that ribupatide (KAI-9531) subcutaneous (SC) injection once weekly is superior to placebo on: * Percent change in body weight * Change in hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c)
Phase 31,156 participants sought167 sites11 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07284901Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 weeks ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2025-12-16; recorded start 2026-01-12
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 7 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Kailera)
- Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 2 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding13/20
Double-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 116 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 1,156 participants (target), run at 167 sites, across 11 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment30/40
1,156 participants (target)
- Site count23/25
116 sites
- Country count12/15
11 countries
- Planned duration7/10
Planned over about 28 months
- Sponsor scale3/10
Kailera has led 7 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
The primary objective of this study is to demonstrate that ribupatide (KAI-9531) subcutaneous (SC) injection once weekly is superior to placebo on: * Percent change in body weight * Change in hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c)
Conditions
- Obesity With Diabetes
- Overweight With Diabetes
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | DOUBLE (2) |
| Enrolment | 1,156 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Kailera Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Ribupatide: Dose 1EXPERIMENTAL
Participants will receive Dose 1 of ribupatide once weekly.
- Ribupatide: Dose 2EXPERIMENTAL
Participants will receive Dose 2 of ribupatide once weekly.
- Ribupatide: Dose 3EXPERIMENTAL
Participants will receive Dose 3 of ribupatide once weekly.
- Ribupatide: Dose 4EXPERIMENTAL
Participants will receive Dose 4 of ribupatide once weekly.
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
Participants will receive placebo matched to ribupatide once weekly.
Interventions
- Drug Placebo
SC Injection
- Drug Ribupatide
SC Injection
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Doses 3 and 4 of Ribupatide Versus Placebo: Percent Change From Baseline in Body Weight at Week 76
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Primary outcome
Doses 3 and 4 of Ribupatide Versus Placebo: Change From Baseline in HbA1c at Week 76
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Doses 1 and 2 of Ribupatide Versus Placebo: Percent Change From Baseline in Body Weight at Week 76
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Doses 1 and 2 of Ribupatide Versus Placebo: Change From Baseline in HbA1c at Week 76
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with ≥5%, ≥10%, ≥15%, ≥20% and ≥25% Reduction in Body Weight
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in Waist Circumference
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in Absolute Body Weight
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with HbA1c <7% and ≤6.5%
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in Fasting Blood Glucose
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in Systolic Blood Pressure (SBP)
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percent Change From Baseline in Fasting Triglycerides
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percent Change From Baseline in Fasting High-density Lipoprotein (HDL)-cholesterol
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percent Change From Baseline in Fasting Non-HDL-cholesterol
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in Impact of Weight on Quality of Life-Lite Clinical Trials Version (IWQOL-Lite-CT) Physical Function Composite Score
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Participants with Body Mass Index (BMI) ≥35 Kilograms per Square Meter (kg/m^2): Percent Change From Baseline in Body Weight
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with ≥30% Reduction in Body Weight
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in BMI
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with HbA1c <5.7%
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in Diastolic Blood Pressure (DBP)
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percent Change From Baseline in Fasting Total Cholesterol
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percent Change From Baseline in Fasting Low-density Lipoprotein (LDL)-cholesterol
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percent Change From Baseline in Very Low-density Lipoprotein (VLDL)-cholesterol
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Percent Change From Baseline in Fasting Insulin
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in Control of Eating Questionnaire (CoEQ) Craving Control Score
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in CoEQ Positive Mood Score
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in CoEQ Craving for Sweets Score
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in CoEQ Craving for Savory Food Score
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in CoEQ Hunger Score
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in CoEQ Satiety Score
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in CoEQ Combined Score
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in Food Noise Questionnaire (FNQ) Score
Time frame Baseline, Week 76
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)
Time frame Day 1 up to Week 80
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants With Anti-drug Antibodies (ADAs)
Time frame Up to Week 80
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants With Neutralizing Antibodies (Nabs)
Time frame Up to Week 80
Secondary outcome
Plasma Concentrations of Ribupatide
Time frame Up to Week 76
Dates
| Start date | January 12, 2026 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | March 27, 2028 (estimated) |
| Completion | April 24, 2028 (estimated) |
| First posted | December 16, 2025 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 3, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | September 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
165 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kailera Clinical Site | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Godoy Cruz | Mendoza Province | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | La Plata | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Mar del Plata | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Rosario | Santa Fe Province | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Rosario | Sante Fe | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | San Nicolás de los Arroyos | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Zárate | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
Australia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kailera Clinical Site | Blacktown | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Bruce | Australian Capital Territory | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Camberwell | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Charlestown | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Herston | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Kanwal | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Leichhardt | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Melbourne | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Morayfield | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Penrith | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | South Brisbane | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Sydney | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Sydney | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Wollongong | New South Wales | Recruiting |
Bulgaria
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kailera Clinical Site | Kyustendil | Kyustendil Province | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Montana | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Pleven | Pleven Province | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Plovdiv | Plovdiv Province | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Rousse | Ruse Province | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Sofia | Sofia | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Sofia | Sofia | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Sofia | Sofia | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Stara Zagora | Stara Zagora Province | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Varna | Varna Province | Recruiting |
Czechia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kailera Clinical Site | Bohnice | Prague | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Brandýs nad Labem | Central Bohemia | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Brno | South Moravian | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Hodonín | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Holešov | Zlín | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Náchod | Hradec Králové Region | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Olomouc | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Pardubice | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Prague | Recruiting | |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Prague | Prague | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Trutnov | Hradec Králové Region | Recruiting |
| Kailera Clinical Site | Uherské Hradiště | Recruiting |
117 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- September 3, 2026
Site added
4 sites added (167 total)
163167
- September 1, 2026
Site added
47 sites added (163 total)
116163