Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT04566328ClinicalTrials.gov

Testing the Use of Combination Therapy in Adult Patients With Newly Diagnosed Multiple Myeloma, the EQUATE Trial

Effective Quadruplet Utilization After Treatment Evaluation (EQUATE): A Randomized Phase 3 Trial for Newly Diagnosed Multiple Myeloma Not Intended for Early Autologous Transplantation

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

This phase III trial compares the combination of four drugs (daratumumab, bortezomib, lenalidomide and dexamethasone) to the use of a three drug combination (daratumumab, lenalidomide and dexamethasone). Bortezomib may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the…

Phase 31,450 participants sought647 sites2 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2020-09-28; recorded start 2021-02-24
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 53 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 3 conditions.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: research network.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourSTRONG

A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding0/20

    Open-label

  • Control arm15/15

    Active-comparator control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type10/10

    Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 649 sites

  • Data monitoring committee7/7

    A data monitoring committee is in place

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleLARGE

A large study, international in scope: 1,450 participants (target), run at 647 sites, across 2 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment31/40

    1,450 participants (target)

  • Site count25/25

    649 sites

  • Country count7/15

    2 countries

  • Planned duration10/10

    Planned over about 83 months

  • Sponsor scale6/10

    ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group has led 51 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

This phase III trial compares the combination of four drugs (daratumumab, bortezomib, lenalidomide and dexamethasone) to the use of a three drug combination (daratumumab, lenalidomide and dexamethasone). Bortezomib may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Chemotherapy drugs, such as lenalidomide, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Daratumumab is a monoclonal antibody that may interfere with the ability of cancer cells to grow and spread. Anti-inflammatory drugs, such as dexamethasone lower the body's immune response and are used with other drugs in the treatment of some types of cancer. Adding bortezomib to daratumumab, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone may be more effective in shrinking the cancer or preventing it from returning, compared to continuing on daratumumab, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone.

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE: I. To determine if bortezomib, daratumumab and hyaluronidase-fihj (daratumumab), lenalidomide and dexamethasone (Btz-DRd) consolidation followed by daratumumab and lenalidomide (DR) maintenance after standard induction therapy with daratumumab, lenalidomide and dexamethasone (DRd) results in superior overall survival compared to DRd consolidation followed by DR maintenance, in minimal residual disease (MRD) positive patients. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To determine if Btz-DRd consolidation followed by DR maintenance after standard induction therapy with DRd results in superior overall survival compared to DRd consolidation followed by DR maintenance in MRD negative patients. II. To determine if Btz-DRd consolidation followed by DR maintenance after standard induction therapy with DRd results in superior progression-free survival compared to DRd consolidation followed by DR maintenance in both MRD positive and MRD negative patients. III. To describe and compare the incidence of toxicities during consolidation between Btz-DRd and DRd arms. IV. To assess the improvement in MRD negative rate with consolidation among patients who are MRD positive after induction. V. To assess the sustained MRD negative rate among patients who are MRD negative after induction. PATIENT REPORTED OUTCOMES (PRO) OBJECTIVES: I. To quantify the extent to which the addition of bortezomib to DRd over consolidation treatment contributes to neuropathy and associated physical and functional impairments. (Primary PRO Objective) II. To evaluate the rate of resolution of neurotoxicity and associated physical and functional impairments following completion of consolidation therapy. (Secondary PRO Objective) III. To investigate the relationship between MRD status and patient reported health-related quality of life outcomes. (Exploratory PRO Objective) IV. To evaluate attributes of select patient reported treatment-emergent symptomatic adverse events (PRO- Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events \[CTCAE\]) longitudinally and compare responses with provider-reported adverse events. (Exploratory PRO Objective) V. To tabulate PRO compliance and completion rates. (Exploratory PRO Objective) IMAGING OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate the association between post-induction fludeoxyglucose F-18 (18F-FDG) positron emission tomography (PET)/computed tomography (CT) and patient outcomes (overall survival \[OS\] and progression-free survival \[PFS\]). (Primary Imaging Objective) II. To evaluate the association between baseline 18F-FDG PET/CT and patient outcomes (PFS and OS). (Secondary Imaging Objective) III. To compare overall survival with the addition of Bortezomib to consolidation DRd therapy among 18F-FDG PET/CT-positive and 18F-FDG PET/CT-negative subgroups. (Secondary Imaging Objective) IV. To evaluate the ability of baseline 18F-FDG PET/CT to predict post-induction depth of response as measured by MRD assessment. (Secondary Imaging Objective) V. To evaluate the ability of post-induction 18F-FDG PET/CT to predict MRD conversion post-consolidation. (Secondary Imaging Objective) VI. To utilize 18F-FDG PET/CT, standard risk factors and clinical data to identify distinct subgroups with differing patient outcomes (PFS and OS). (Exploratory Imaging Objective) VII. To compare the various qualitative 18F-FDG PET/CT criteria to determine which criteria yields superior risk stratification. (Exploratory Imaging Objective) OUTLINE: ARM A (INDUCTION): All patients receive standard induction therapy comprising the following: daratumumab subcutaneously (SC) on days 1, 8, 15, and 22 of cycles 1-2, days 1 and 15 of cycles 3-6, and day 1 of cycles 7-9, lenalidomide orally (PO) daily on days 1-21, and dexamethasone PO on days 1, 8, 15, and 22. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 9 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of standard induction therapy, patients are randomized to 1 of 2 arms. ARM B: CONSOLIDATION: Patients receive bortezomib SC on days 1, 8, and 15, daratumumab SC on day 1, lenalidomide PO daily on days 1-21, and dexamethasone PO on days 1, 8, 15, and 22. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 9 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. MAINTENANCE: Patients receive lenalidomide PO daily on days 1-21 and daratumumab SC on day 1. Cycles repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. ARM C: CONSOLIDATION: Patients receive daratumumab SC on day 1, lenalidomide PO daily on days 1-21, and dexamethasone PO on days 1, 8, 15, and 22. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 9 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. MAINTENANCE: Patients receive lenalidomide PO daily on days 1-21, and daratumumab SC on day 1. Cycles repeats every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 3 months if less than 2 years from study entry, every 6 months if 2-5 years from study entry, then annually for up to 15 years from study entry.

Conditions

  • Plasma Cell Myeloma
  • RISS Stage I Plasma Cell Myeloma
  • RISS Stage II Plasma Cell Myeloma

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 YearsNo maximum
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria: * STEP 0 - Patient must have an Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status (PS) of 0-2 (PS 3 allowed if secondary to pain) * STEP 0 - Patient must have newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (MM) by International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) criteria * STEP 0 - Patient must agree to register to the mandatory REVLIMID Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategy (RevREMS) program and be willing and able to comply with the requirements of RevREMS * STEP 0 - Patient must be able to undergo diagnostic bone marrow aspirate following preregistration. * NOTE: Bone marrow aspirate specimen must be submitted to Adaptive Biotechnologies for clonoSEQ Assay * NOTE: Adaptive Biotechnologies will release results to the diagnostic Portal from the Clonality (ID) test within fourteen (14) days of receipt and reconciliation of fresh bone marrow specimen to the submitting institution * STEP 1 - Patient must meet all eligibility criteria in STEP 0 with exception of allergy requirement * STEP 1 - Institution must have received the Clonality (ID) test results from Adaptive Biotechnologies and dominant sequences were identified * STEP 1 - Patient must have standard risk MM as defined by the Revised International Staging System (RISS) stage I or II * NOTE: R-ISS stage is based on serum beta2 microglobulin, albumin and lactate dehydrogenase (LDH) levels along with presence of chromosomal abnormalities (CA) detected by interphase fluorescent in situ hybridization (iFISH). Presence of del(17p), t(4;14), and/or t(14;16) is considered high risk and absence of these, including any other findings, are standard risk * R-ISS stage * Stage I: ISS stage I \[beta2 macroglobulin \< 3.5 mg/L, albumin \> 3.5 g/dL\] AND standard-risk CA AND normal LDH * Stage II: Not R-ISS stage I or III * Stage III: ISS stage III \[beta2 macroglobulin \> 5.5 mg/L\] AND high-risk CA OR high LDH (\> upper limit of normal) \[patients with stage III are ineligible\] * STEP 1 - Patient must have measurable or evaluable disease as defined by having one or more of the following, obtained within 28 days prior to registration: * \>= 1 g/dL monoclonal protein (M-protein) on serum protein electrophoresis * \>= 200 mg/24 hours of monoclonal protein on a 24-hour urine protein electrophoresis * Involved free light chain \>= 10 mg/dL or \>= 100 mg/L AND abnormal serum immunoglobulin kappa to lambda free light chain ratio (\< 0.26 or \> 1.65) * Monoclonal bone marrow plasmacytosis \>= 30% (evaluable disease) * STEP 1 - Patients must have a serum protein electrophoresis (SPEP), urine protein electrophoresis (UPEP), and serum free light chain (FLC) assay performed within 28 days prior to registration. In addition, a bone marrow biopsy and/or aspirate is required within 28 days if bone marrow is being followed for response * NOTE: UPEP (on a 24-hour collection) is required, no substitute method is acceptable. Urine must be followed monthly if the baseline urine M-spike is \>= 200 mg/24 hr. Please note that if both serum and urine M-components are present, both must be followed in order to evaluate response * NOTE: The serum free light chain test is required to be done if the patient does not have measurable disease in the serum or urine. Measurable disease in the serum is defined as having a serum M-spike \>= 1 g/dL. Measurable disease in the urine is defined as having a urine M-spike \>= 200 mg/24 hr * STEP 1 - Calculated creatinine clearance \> 30 mL/min (obtained =\< 14 days prior to Step 1 registration) * STEP 1 - Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1000/mm\^3 (obtained =\< 14 days prior to Step 1 registration) * STEP 1 - Untransfused platelet count \>= 75,000/mm\^3 (obtained =\< 14 days prior to Step 1 registration) * STEP 1 - Hemoglobin \>= 8.0 g/dL (obtained =\< 14 days prior to Step 1 registration) * STEP 1 - Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x ULN (institutional upper limit of normal) (obtained =\< 14 days prior to Step 1 registration) * STEP 1 - Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) and aspartate aminotransferase (AST) =\< 3 x ULN (obtained =\< 14 days prior to Step 1 registration) * STEP 1 - Patient must have received no more than one cycle (28 days or less) of prior chemotherapy and no more than 160 mg of prior dexamethasone (or equivalent dose of prednisone) for treatment of symptomatic myeloma. Patient must not have been exposed to daratumumab for treatment of symptomatic myeloma. Prior radiation therapy to symptomatic lesions is allowed provided there are no residual toxicity related to radiation and blood counts meet the study requirements. Radiation treatment must be completed at least 14 days prior to Step 1 registration * STEP 1 - Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-infected patients on effective anti-retroviral therapy with undetectable viral load within 6 months of randomization are eligible for this trial * STEP 1 - For patients with evidence of chronic hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection, the HBV viral load must be undetectable on suppressive therapy, if indicated * STEP 1 - Patients with a history of hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection must have been treated and cured. For patients with HCV infection who are currently on treatment, they are eligible if they have an undetectable HCV viral load * STEP 1 - Patients with a prior or concurrent malignancy whose natural history or treatment does not have the potential to interfere with the safety or efficacy assessment of the investigational regimen are eligible for this trial * STEP 1 - Patients with known history or current symptoms of cardiac disease, or history of treatment with cardiotoxic agents, should have a clinical risk assessment of cardiac function using the New York Heart Association Functional Classification. To be eligible for this trial, patients should be class 2B or better. Patients must not have evidence of current uncontrolled cardiovascular conditions, including hypertension, cardiac arrhythmias, congestive heart failure, unstable angina, or myocardial infarction within 6 months prior to Step 1 registration * STEP 1 - Patient may have a history of current or previous deep vein thrombosis (DVT) or pulmonary embolism (PE) but must be willing to take some form of anti-coagulation as prophylaxis if they are not currently on full-dose anticoagulation * STEP 1 - Patients with a history of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) must have FEV1 testing done within 28 days prior to Step 1 registration and the forced expiratory volume in 1 second (FEV1) must be \> 50% of predicted normal * STEP 2 - Institution must have received Tracking (MRD) test results from Adaptive Biotechnologies * STEP 2 - Patient must have completed the Step 1 Induction phase of this protocol without experiencing progression * STEP 2 - Patient must be registered to Step 2 within 8 weeks of completing Step 1 Induction Treatment, counting from last day of completion of last cycle * STEP 2 - Patient must have an ECOG performance status (PS) of 0-2 (PS 3 allowed if secondary to pain) * STEP 2 - Any adverse event(s) related to Step 1 Induction Treatment must have resolved to grade 2 or less * STEP 2 - Hemoglobin \>= 8 g/dL (obtained within 14 days prior to Step 2 randomization) * STEP 2 - Platelet count \>= 50,000/mm\^3 (obtained within 14 days prior to Step 2 randomization) * STEP 2 - Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1000/mm\^3 (obtained within 14 days prior to Step 2 randomization) * STEP 2 - Calculated creatinine clearance \>= 30 mL/min (obtained within 14 days prior to Step 2 randomization) * STEP 2 - Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x ULN (Institutional upper limit of normal) (obtained within 14 days prior to Step 2 randomization) * STEP 2 - ALT and AST \< 3 x ULN (obtained within 14 days prior to Step 2 randomization) Exclusion Criteria: * STEP 0 - Patient must not have any known allergies, hypersensitivity, or intolerance to corticosteroids, monoclonal antibodies or human proteins, or their excipients (refer to respective package inserts or Investigator's Brochure), or known sensitivity to mammalian-derived products * STEP 1 - Women must not be pregnant or breast-feeding due to the potential harm and teratogenic effects to an unborn fetus and possible risk for adverse events in nursing infants with the treatment regimens being used. All females of childbearing potential must have a blood test or urine study with a sensitivity of at least 25 mIU/mL within 10-14 days prior to Step 1 registration to rule out pregnancy and again within 24 hours prior to the first dose of lenalidomide. Females of childbearing potential must also agree to ongoing pregnancy testing while on protocol treatment. A female of childbearing potential is defined as any woman, regardless of sexual orientation or whether they have undergone tubal ligation, who meets the following criteria: * Has achieved menarche at some point, * Has not undergone a hysterectomy or bilateral oophorectomy; or * Has not been naturally postmenopausal (amenorrhea following cancer therapy does not rule out childbearing potential) for at least 24 consecutive months (i.e., has had menses at any time in the preceding 24 consecutive months) * STEP 1 - Women of childbearing potential must not expect to conceive children by using accepted and effective method(s) of contraception (for this protocol defined as the use of TWO acceptable methods of birth control, one highly effective method and one additional effective method AT THE SAME TIME for 1) at least 28 days before starting protocol treatment; 2) while participating in the study; 3) during dose interruptions; and 4) for at least 3 months days after the last dose of protocol treatment) OR by practicing true abstinence from sexual intercourse for the duration of their participation in the study (periodic abstinence \[e.g., calendar, ovulation, symptothermal, post-ovulation methods\] and withdrawal are not acceptable methods of contraception). Men must not expect to father children by practicing true abstinence from sexual intercourse for the duration of their participation in the study (periodic abstinence \[e.g., calendar, ovulation, symptothermal, post-ovulation methods\] and withdrawal are not acceptable methods of contraception) OR use a latex condom during sexual contact with a female of child bearing potential while participating in the study and for at least 3 months after the last dose of protocol treatment even if they have had a successful vasectomy. Men must also agree to abstain from donating sperm while on study treatment and for 3 months after the last dose of protocol treatment even if they have had a successful vasectomy. Both women and men must both agree to abstain from donating blood during study participation and for at least 28 days after the last dose of protocol treatment * STEP 1 - Patient must not have peripheral neuropathy \>= grade 2 on clinical examination or grade 1 with pain at time of Step 1 registration * STEP 1 - Patient must not have any serious medical or psychiatric illness that could, in the investigator's opinion, potentially interfere with the completion of treatment according to this protocol * STEP 1 - Patient must not have moderate or severe persistent asthma within the past 2 years, or uncontrolled asthma of any classification * NOTE: Patients who currently have controlled intermittent asthma or controlled mild persistent asthma are allowed to register * STEP 1 - Patient must not receive any other concurrent chemotherapy, or any ancillary therapy considered investigational while on this protocol * NOTE: Bisphosphonates are considered to be supportive care rather than therapy, and are thus allowed while on protocol treatment * STEP 2 - Patient must not have received any non-protocol therapy outside of the assigned Step 1 Induction treatment including stem cell transplant * STEP 2 - Women must not be pregnant or breast-feeding due to the potential harm and teratogenic effects to an unborn fetus and possible risk for adverse events in nursing infants with the treatment regimens being used. All females of childbearing potential must have a blood test or urine study with a sensitivity of at least 25 mIU/mL within 10-14 days prior to Step 2 randomization to rule out pregnancy and again within 24 hours prior to the first dose of lenalidomide. Females of childbearing potential must also agree to ongoing pregnancy testing while on protocol treatment. A female of childbearing potential is defined as any woman, regardless of sexual orientation or whether they have undergone tubal ligation, who meets the following criteria: * Has achieved menarche at some point, * Has not undergone a hysterectomy or bilateral oophorectomy; or * Has not been naturally postmenopausal (amenorrhea following cancer therapy does not rule out childbearing potential) for at least 24 consecutive months (i.e., has had menses at any time in the preceding 24 consecutive months). * STEP 2 - Women of childbearing potential must not expect to conceive children by using accepted and effective method(s) of contraception (for this protocol defined as the use of TWO acceptable methods of birth control, one highly effective method and one additional effective method AT THE SAME TIME for 1) at least 28 days before starting protocol treatment; 2) while participating in the study; 3) during dose interruptions; and 4) for at least 3 months days after the last dose of protocol treatment) OR by practicing true abstinence from sexual intercourse for the duration of their participation in the study (periodic abstinence \[e.g., calendar, ovulation, symptothermal, post-ovulation methods\] and withdrawal are not acceptable methods of contraception). Men must not expect to father children by practicing true abstinence from sexual intercourse for the duration of their participation in the study (periodic abstinence \[e.g., calendar, ovulation, symptothermal, post-ovulation methods\] and withdrawal are not acceptable methods of contraception) OR use a latex condom during sexual contact with a female of child bearing potential while participating in the study and for at least 3 months after the last dose of protocol treatment even if they have had a successful vasectomy. Men must also agree to abstain from donating sperm while on study treatment and for 3 months after the last dose of protocol treatment even if they have had a successful vasectomy. Both women and men must both agree to abstain from donating blood during study participation and for at least 28 days after the last dose of protocol treatment

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelSEQUENTIAL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingNONE (0)
Enrolment1,450 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group Sponsor
  • National Cancer Institute (NCI) Collaborators

Arms and interventions

  • Arm A (daratumumab, lenalidomide, dexamethasone)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR

    INDUCTION: All patients receive standard induction therapy comprising the following: daratumumab subcutaneously (SC) on days 1, 8, 15, and 22 of cycles 1-2, days 1 and 15 of cycles 3-6, and day 1 of cycles 7-9, lenalidomide orally (PO) daily on days 1-21, and dexamethasone PO on days 1, 8, 15, and 22. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 9 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

  • Arm B (bortezomib, daratumumab, lenalidomide, dexamethasone)EXPERIMENTAL

    CONSOLIDATION: Patients receive bortezomib SC on days 1, 8, and 15, daratumumab SC on day 1, lenalidomide PO daily on days 1-21, and dexamethasone PO on days 1, 8, 15, and 22. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 9 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. MAINTENANCE: Patients receive lenalidomide PO daily on days 1-21 and daratumumab SC on day 1. Cycles repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

  • Arm C (daratumumab, lenalidomide, dexamethasone)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR

    CONSOLIDATION: Patients receive daratumumab SC on day 1, lenalidomide PO daily on days 1-21, and dexamethasone PO on days 1, 8, 15, and 22. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 9 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. MAINTENANCE: Patients receive lenalidomide PO daily on days 1-21, and daratumumab SC on day 1. Cycles repeats every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Interventions

  • Drug Bortezomib

    Given SC

  • Biological Daratumumab and Hyaluronidase-fihj

    Given SC

  • Drug Dexamethasone

    Given PO

  • Drug Lenalidomide

    Given PO

  • Other Quality-of-Life Assessment

    Ancillary studies

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Consolidation overall survival

    Will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier (KM) method and compared using a stratified log-rank test. Stratified cox proportional hazards regression will produce treatment hazard ratio (bortezomib, daratumumab and hyaluronidase-fihj (daratumumab), lenalidomide and dexamethasone \[Btz-DRd\] then daratumumab, lenalidomide and dexamethasone \[DRd\] then daratumumab and lenalidomide \[DR\]).

    Time frame Time from Step 2 randomization at the start of consolidation to death or to the date last known alive, assessed up to 15 years

  2. Secondary outcome

    Consolidation progression-free survival

    Patients alive without disease progression will be censored at date of last disease evaluation. Only deaths that occur within 3 months of the last disease evaluation are considered events.

    Time frame Time from Step 2 randomization at the start of consolidation until the earlier of progression or death due to any cause, assessed up to 15 years

  3. Secondary outcome

    Incidence of adverse events

    Time frame During induction, consolidation, and maintenance; a period of up to 42 months (9 months of induction, 9 months of consolidation, and up to 2 years of maintenance).

  4. Secondary outcome

    Incidence of grade 3 or higher non-hematologic adverse events

    Time frame During induction, consolidation, and maintenance; a period of up to 42 months (9 months of induction, 9 months of consolidation, and up to 2 years of maintenance).

  5. Secondary outcome

    Incidence of grade 3 or higher adverse events

    Time frame During induction, consolidation, and maintenance; a period of up to 42 months (9 months of induction, 9 months of consolidation, and up to 2 years of maintenance).

  6. Secondary outcome

    Best response

    Time frame During induction, consolidation, and maintenance; a period of up to 42 months (9 months of induction, 9 months of consolidation, and up to 2 years of maintenance).

  7. Secondary outcome

    FACT-Ntx TOI recovery rate (Patient reported outcome [PRO])

    Defined as the proportion of patients with the FACT-Ntx TOI score returning to baseline level reached at consolidation randomization after experiencing a MID decrease while on up to 1 year of maintenance.

    Time frame From end of induction through consolidation up to 1 year of maintenance, up to 21 weeks

  8. Other outcome

    Change in Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Neurotoxicity Trial Outcome Index (FACT-Ntx TOI) score (Patient reported outcome)

    Calculated as the difference after completion of 9 cycles of consolidation therapy from end of induction. Scores can range from a minimum of 0 and a maximum of 44. A higher score on this assessment means a worse outcome.

    Time frame From end of induction to after completion of 9 cycles of consolidation, a period of approximately 36 weeks (9 months)

  9. Other outcome

    Levels and changes of FACT-General (G) (physical well-being [PWB] + functional well-being [FWB]) score (PRO)

    The FACT-G is a single outcome measure made up of the PWB and FWB components. Scores range from a minimum of 0 and a maximum of 56. For this assessment, a higher score means a better outcome.

    Time frame From the end of induction through 1 year of maintenance, 21 weeks

  10. Other outcome

    Presence, frequency, interference, amount and/or severity of select PRO- Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAEs) (PRO)

    Presence, frequency, interference, amount and/or severity of select PRO-CTCAEs tabulated at each measurement.

    Time frame Up to 15 years

  11. Other outcome

    Comparison of selected PRO-CTCAEs with provider obtained assessment of same CTCAE items (PRO)

    Time frame Up to 15 years

  12. Other outcome

    PRO compliance rate

    Defined as the proportion of patients who submit the given PRO instrument among those eligible at each time point which excludes those missing by design (due to death or disease progression, early treatment discontinuation).

    Time frame Up to 15 years

  13. Other outcome

    PRO completion rate

    Defined as the proportion of patients who complete given PRO instrument based on the instrument's scoring system among those eligible at each time point.

    Time frame Up to 15 years

Dates

Dates
Start dateFebruary 24, 2021 (actual)
Primary completionDecember 31, 2027 (estimated)
CompletionDecember 31, 2027 (estimated)
First postedSeptember 28, 2020 (actual)
Last updatedAugust 19, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedJune 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

303 sites are recruiting

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Puerto Rico Hematology Oncology GroupBayamónSuspended
Cancer Center-Metro Medical Center BayamonBayamónSuspended
Doctors Cancer CenterManatiSuspended
PROncologySan JuanSuspended
San Juan Community Oncology GroupSan JuanSuspended
San Juan City HospitalSan JuanSuspended
Centro Comprensivo de Cancer de UPRSan JuanSuspended

United States

United States
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Providence Regional Cancer System-AberdeenAberdeenWashingtonSuspended
Hickman Cancer CenterAdrianMichiganSuspended
University of New Mexico Cancer CenterAlbuquerqueNew MexicoSuspended
Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar CrestAllentownPennsylvaniaRecruiting
MyMichigan Medical Center GratiotAlmaMichiganRecruiting
MyMichigan Medical Center AlpenaAlpenaMichiganRecruiting
OSF Saint Anthony's Health CenterAltonIllinoisRecruiting
Mary Greeley Medical CenterAmesIowaRecruiting
McFarland Clinic - AmesAmesIowaRecruiting
Community Hospital of AnacondaAnacondaMontanaSuspended
Providence Alaska Medical CenterAnchorageAlaskaSuspended
Anchorage Oncology CentreAnchorageAlaskaSuspended
Alaska Women's Cancer CareAnchorageAlaskaSuspended
Katmai Oncology GroupAnchorageAlaskaSuspended
Anchorage Radiation Therapy CenterAnchorageAlaskaSuspended
Alaska Oncology and Hematology LLCAnchorageAlaskaSuspended
Alaska Breast Care and Surgery LLCAnchorageAlaskaSuspended
Anchorage Associates in Radiation MedicineAnchorageAlaskaSuspended
UI Health Care Mission Cancer and Blood - Ankeny ClinicAnkenyIowaRecruiting
Trinity Health Saint Joseph Mercy Hospital Ann ArborAnn ArborMichiganRecruiting
Ascension Northeast Wisconsin-Saint Elizabeth Cancer Center-AppletonAppletonWisconsinRecruiting
ThedaCare Regional Cancer CenterAppletonWisconsinRecruiting
Mission Hope Medical Oncology - Arroyo GrandeArroyo GrandeCaliforniaRecruiting
OhioHealth O'Bleness HospitalAthensOhioRecruiting
Sutter Cancer Centers Radiation Oncology Services-AuburnAuburnCaliforniaSuspended
Hematology Oncology Associates of Central New York-AuburnAuburnNew YorkSuspended
Sutter Auburn Faith HospitalAuburnCaliforniaSuspended
Rush-Copley Medical CenterAuroraIllinoisSuspended
Advocate Outpatient Center - AuroraAuroraIllinoisRecruiting
Saint Alphonsus Cancer Care Center-Baker CityBaker CityOregonRecruiting
Mercy Oncology and Hematology - Clayton-ClarksonBallwinMissouriRecruiting
SSM Health Dean Medical Group - BarabooBarabooWisconsinActive, not recruiting
CommonSpirit Saint Joseph Hospital - BardstownBardstownKentuckyRecruiting
Advocate Good Shepherd HospitalBarringtonIllinoisRecruiting
Our Lady of the Lake Physician GroupBaton RougeLouisianaSuspended
LSU Health Baton Rouge-North ClinicBaton RougeLouisianaSuspended
Bronson Battle CreekBattle CreekMichiganSuspended
UHHS-Chagrin Highlands Medical CenterBeachwoodOhioActive, not recruiting
Indu and Raj Soin Medical CenterBeavercreekOhioSuspended
PeaceHealth Saint Joseph Medical CenterBellinghamWashingtonSuspended
Strecker Cancer Center-BelpreBelpreOhioSuspended
Sanford Joe Lueken Cancer CenterBemidjiMinnesotaSuspended
Saint Charles Health SystemBendOregonSuspended

597 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. August 19, 2026

    Site removed

    2 sites removed (647 total)

    649647