Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT07662213ClinicalTrials.gov

A Study to Find Out if the Study Drug Elecoglipron Helps Adults With Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus by Comparing it With Semaglutide, a Medicine Already Used to Treat Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus

A Randomized, Open-label, Parallel-group Phase III Study to Evaluate the Efficacy, Safety, and Tolerability of Elecoglipron Compared With Oral Semaglutide in Adults With Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus (Eluminate-2)

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy, safety, and tolerability of elecoglipron compared with oral semaglutide in adults with T2DM and increased cardiovascular risk that is inadequately managed alone or on stable treatment with other background glucose-lowering…

Phase 31,200 participants sought209 sites15 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-06-23; recorded start 2026-07-06
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 1019 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (AstraZeneca)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 1 condition.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourSTRONG

A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding0/20

    Open-label

  • Control arm15/15

    Active-comparator control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 201 sites

  • Data monitoring committee0/7

    No data monitoring committee stated

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleLARGE

A large study, international in scope: 1,200 participants (target), run at 209 sites, across 15 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment31/40

    1,200 participants (target)

  • Site count25/25

    201 sites

  • Country count12/15

    15 countries

  • Planned duration7/10

    Planned over about 23 months

  • Sponsor scale10/10

    AstraZeneca has led 991 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy, safety, and tolerability of elecoglipron compared with oral semaglutide in adults with T2DM and increased cardiovascular risk that is inadequately managed alone or on stable treatment with other background glucose-lowering medication(s).

Conditions

  • Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 YearsNo maximum
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria: * Diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus (T2DM) for at least 90 days prior to screening * T2DM inadequately managed with lifestyle management alone or on stable treatment with other background glucose-lowering medication(s) * HbA1c value of ≥ 7% to ≤ 10.5% (53 to 91.3 mmol/mol) * Increased risk of cardiovascular (CV) events defined by ≥1 of: documented coronary heart disease, peripheral arterial disease, ischemic cerebrovascular disease, or heart failure (NYHA II-III); or ≥2 CV risk factors * Body mass index (BMI) of ≥ 23 kg/m2 at screening * Stable body weight (self-reported or documented) for 90 days prior to screening Exclusion Criteria: * Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus (T1DM), secondary forms of diabetes (including congenital forms), or history of ketoacidosis or hyperosmolar coma * Currently receiving or anticipated to receive, therapeutic intervention for diabetic retinopathy and/or macular edema * Have had more than one episode of severe hypoglycemia within 180 days prior to screening or has a history of hypoglycemia unawareness or poor recognition of hypoglycemic symptoms * Clinically significant condition affecting the upper Gastrointestinal (GI) tract or chronic use of any medication that affects gastric motility or gastric emptying * History of acute or chronic pancreatitis * Severe congestive heart failure (NYHA IV) * History/family history of medullary thyroid cancer or multiple endocrine neoplasia type 2

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingNONE (0)
Enrolment1,200 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • AstraZeneca Sponsor

Arms and interventions

  • ElecoglipronEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants will receive elecoglipron dose XX mg administered orally once daily.

  • SemaglutideACTIVE_COMPARATOR

    Participants will receive semaglutide dose XX mg administered orally once daily.

Interventions

  • Drug Elecoglipron

    Elecoglipron is administered orally once daily.

  • Drug Semaglutide

    Semaglutide is administered orally once daily.

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Change from baseline in Hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c)

    Time frame Baseline to Week 52

  2. Secondary outcome

    Percent change from baseline to Week 52 in body weight

    Time frame Baseline to Week 52

  3. Secondary outcome

    Change from baseline to Week 52 in body weight (kg)

    Time frame Baseline to Week 52

  4. Secondary outcome

    Achieved ≥ 5% weight loss from baseline at Week 52 and achieved HbA1c < 7% (53 mmol/mol) at Week 52

    Time frame Baseline to Week 52

  5. Secondary outcome

    Achieved HbA1c ≤ 6.5% (48 mmol/mol) at Week 52

    Time frame Week 52

  6. Secondary outcome

    Achieved HbA1c < 7% (53 mmol/mol) at Week 52

    Time frame Week 52

  7. Secondary outcome

    Achieved ≥ 5% weight loss from baseline at Week 52

    Time frame Baseline to Week 52

  8. Secondary outcome

    Change from baseline to Week 52 in Systolic Blood Pressure (BP) and Diastolic BP

    Time frame Baseline to Week 52

Dates

Dates
Start dateJuly 6, 2026 (actual)
Primary completionMay 23, 2028 (estimated)
CompletionMay 23, 2028 (estimated)
First postedJune 23, 2026 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 9, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedMay 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

51 sites are recruiting

Argentina

Argentina
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteBuenos AiresNot yet recruiting
Research SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Research SiteCabaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCiudad de Buenos AiresRecruiting
Research SiteRosarioNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSan NicolásNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSan VicenteRecruiting

Australia

Australia
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteBotanyRecruiting
Research SiteEast ToowoombaRecruiting
Research SiteFitzroyNot yet recruiting
Research SiteHeidelberg HeightsNot yet recruiting
Research SiteKingswoodNot yet recruiting
Research SiteMelbourneRecruiting
Research SiteParkvilleRecruiting
Research SitePenrithNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSt LeonardsRecruiting

Brazil

Brazil
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteBrasíliaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCampinasNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCuritibaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteNatalNot yet recruiting
Research SitePorto AlegreNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSão José dos CamposNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSão PauloNot yet recruiting

Bulgaria

Bulgaria
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SitePlovdivRecruiting
Research SiteSofiaRecruiting
Research SiteSofiaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSofiaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteYambolNot yet recruiting

Canada

Canada
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteGuelphOntarioNot yet recruiting
Research SiteMontrealQuebecRecruiting
Research SiteSaint-Charles-BorroméeQuebecRecruiting
Research SiteSarniaOntarioRecruiting
Research SiteScarborough VillageOntarioRecruiting
Research SiteStouffvilleOntarioRecruiting
Research SiteTorontoOntarioRecruiting
Research SiteTorontoOntarioNot yet recruiting
Research SiteTorontoOntarioRecruiting
Research SiteVancouverBritish ColumbiaRecruiting

China

China
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteChangshaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteChangshaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteHefeiNot yet recruiting
Research SiteHefeiNot yet recruiting
Research SiteHuai'anNot yet recruiting
Research SiteLangfangNot yet recruiting
Research SiteLiangyugangNot yet recruiting
Research SiteLuoyangNot yet recruiting
Research SiteNanjingNot yet recruiting
Research SiteNanyangNot yet recruiting
Research SitePingguNot yet recruiting
Research SitePingxiangNot yet recruiting

159 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 9, 2026

    Site added

    8 sites added (209 total)

    201209